Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
42 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
September 7, 2013

more

September 7, 2013

This nonprofit is great for so many reasons. The scat-detection dogs used in their data collection are mostly rescued from animal shelters and pounds where they might have been euthanized otherwise. The method (scat- detection) is non-invasive - it has no harmful effect on the subject animals being studied. It is helping to learn the causes of decline, and the ways to save, endangered or threatened species. At the home facility they even compost the dog poop produced, minimizing impacts on the local landfill and waterways.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 7, 2013

more

September 7, 2013

Volunteering for CK9 has been an amazing experience. Working on the Southern Resident Killer Whale project on the San Juan Islands has shown me the powerful ability of a working dog to effectively locate scat in adverse conditions, and how hard work by these dogs and their incredibly talented handlers turns into results that aid conservation biology efforts. The teams are very well educated in the biological, social, and political issues that impact the species-at-risk, and the non-invasive methods and high appeal of the working dogs is a great way to promote and educate the public on recovery efforts and ethically responsible conservation biology. The fact that rescue dogs are given a home and a lifestyle that suits their energy level is an added benefit to an already amazing program. I can attest first-hand to the difference it makes in the lives of the dogs, who live for the reward that follows finding scat and for the chance to play with their handler, who becomes their partner and friend. The work being done by Conservation Canines is important for habitat-scale management of threatened species, and also at the personal level for the canines and biologists that partner to do this intense, high-risk and high-reward work consistently throughout the year.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 7, 2013

more

September 7, 2013

Conservation Canines is an incredible non-profit that can achieve environmental goals that others can only begin to imagine. Using scat detection dogs for non-invasive wildlife research has real impacts on saving endangered wildlife worldwide, and it is achieved by hard-work and passion by the CK9-ers. I have had the chance to work as biologist on CK9's southern resident killer whale project and I am consistently impressed with their professionalism and dedication to the field of conservation biology. Handlers interactions with their dogs is inspirational and it is obvious that the dogs love what they do. I have never met happier dogs! Living with these dogs, I can attest that they are difficult for the average owner to keep up with, but it can be incredible to see the dogs given the chance to excel. Conservation Canines is a unique non-profit in its ability to impact environmental change on a global scale, and impact the lives of dogs by giving them a second chance. I cannot recommend this non-profit enough.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

increase the amount of funding this organization receives so they can have the tools they need to complete the amazing work that they do.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 7, 2013

more

September 7, 2013

Conservation Canines is an incredible non-profit. Every team member is dedicated, hard-working, cares deeply about the Ck9s and the environment. We are all here to make a difference and working the scat detection dogs is a part of that. They are great ambassadors for endangered and threatened species all over the world. Every day this program is out doing their best to help change the world, it's a thrill to be part of it.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 5, 2013

more


1 previous review
May 22, 2013

I have been so fortunate to work with this non-profit for the last 4.5 years. It has changed my life. I met my two best friends via the program... they happen to be furry, fluffy and have four legs ... more

September 5, 2013

I started out as an unpaid volunteer 7 years ago and I'm still with this non-profit. It's a job I feel really good about: rescuing shelter dogs, training them to do fieldwork, getting them out there to do something they were born to do, hopefully saving or at least bringing attention to the plight of endangered species around the globe, and making life-long best friends while you're at it, both canine and human ;) What's not to love? This is an amazing organization, truly original in scope.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would love to go to more wildlife conferences to get the word out about how fantastic this kind of non-invasive survey method is but we are always stymied by lack of funding.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 22, 2013

I have been so fortunate to work with this non-profit for the last 4.5 years. It has changed my life. I met my two best friends via the program... they happen to be furry, fluffy and have four legs each. Max is a blue-heeler who packs a lot of 'tude and Scooby is a black lab who thinks he's a 70 pound lap puppy. I have traveled the world with them, collecting back data that I hope will aid in wildlife conservation. What's not to love about this nonprofit?! Help us continue to adopt more dogs to conduct critical wildlife surveys. We need your support!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 4, 2013

more

September 4, 2013

All the folks I've met that work for Conservation Canines are dedicated to making a difference in the world by way of example. They live a life of working hard, respecting the world around them, and loving & caring for both dogs & humans alike. Leading by example, their work extends beyond wildlife surveys, seeking to affect the world around them in a positive way. They seek to be the change they want to see in the world.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Its hard to say what I would change. From what I see, its a pretty amazing program. I don't know all the inner workings, but they do a great job of finding people that are genuinely interested in working with dogs, yet are still capable with people. I think its great.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 4, 2013

more

September 4, 2013

I've met the people and the dogs, both of which are hard working and loving. It's great that they make working dogs out of those who've run out of other options because of their high energy levels. The teams do great research in harsh conditions!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Get them more funding.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 4, 2013

more

September 4, 2013

My life changed a year ago when I was accepted to work with Conservation Canines. I've been fortunate enough to work on two projects and meet two of the most loving, hilarious, and furry co-workers. Both dogs that I have had the pleasure of getting to know were out of options before they came to us. To know that this organization not only gives many doggy lives a second chance, but allows them to excel in their field while inspiring others (I'm amazed every day) makes me proud to work for CK9. I can only hope to continue working for this unique non-profit where we will strive to better wildlife conservation efforts on both a local and global scale!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 23, 2013

more

May 23, 2013

I worked with Conservation Canines (CK-9) in the field as a summer intern. it was such a great experience to work with such a wonderful organization. The dog handlers are so dedicated and passionate about their work. They will be up until 2am filling in data and making plans so that samples won't be missed the next day. Whether they are working in the blazing sun battling sun burns, or making a trail in 5 feet of snow, they keep up a great attitude. The goals of the projects are all conservation focused and obtain results like no other sampling methods allow for. Everything about CK-9 is admirable from the dogs to the staff and should be supported for future research projects to utilize.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Provide them with extra funding so they can take on more research projects.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 23, 2013

more

May 23, 2013

I first found out about Conservation Canines over a year ago when I was looking for interesting field jobs. As a field biologist and dog lover this combined two things I loved... conservation work and playing with dogs!! I worked for CK9 this past winter and met and worked with a great pup, Winnie!! It is so great that not only are they doing great work in conservation they are also rescuing some awesome dogs and giving them a home when they otherwise couldn't find one. I hope to continue working with CK9 and my girl Winnie in the future!!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers