Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
28 Reviews
1234.892865
| 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
November 16, 2012

more

November 16, 2012

I attend CONNECT's monthly interfaith roundatables, which promote discussion on how faith communities can engage with issues related to the body, violence, and gender. These dialogues, which I look forward to weekly, are both accessible and challenging. I am a Director with Reveal NYC, an organization that works with female survivors of domestic violence, and CONNECT has so helpfully provided a broader intellectual framework for the way that we work with our women. CONNECT doesn't just serve the DV population, but also supports and resources an existing network of DV organizations. We are so grateful for them.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 16, 2012

more

November 16, 2012

I believe CONNECT sets the standard in so many ways for professional and dedicated, compassionate leadership in the field of all forms of interpersonal violence, especially the myriad realities of violence against women. Each program I have attended, supported, and known about presented by CONNECT has provided hope in difficult social and criminal aspects of our city, nation, and world. Every staff member brings dedicated, envisioning, creative, hardworking and transformative responses in their approaches to advocate, educate, and change relationships and situations into hopeful awareness, response and change. I commend you for including them on a list of stellar non-profit organizations and offer my heartfelt gratitude to each of them. They do this work because they care! I have come alongside many instances of appropriate response in the past two years to hearts crying out to be heard, allowed voice, approaches towards safety and empowered in non-violent, peaceful living without exception. They have helped launch our series on non-violent living in the Episcopal Diocese of New York this year. the Rev. Dr. Sally MacNichol and Mr. Quentin Walcott as co-executive directors bring a sense of faith, hope and joy to this work despite the seriousness of it. They truly deserve every available opportunity to be of service in our communities. Faithfully, Dr. Victoria J. Rollins, Rise Again Ministries and task force facilitator L.O.V.E. (Liberate ourselves, value everyone)

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 13, 2012

more

November 13, 2012

I've worked with many different DV organizations (both large and small), and CONNECT is by far one of the best I've ever had the pleasure of working with. Their focus on primary prevention is unparalleled in the city and so important to the overall movement to end domestic violence. Their Legal Advocacy Program incorporates as much of a prevention orientation as it can in the direct provision of services to survivors who need those services. The staff at CONNECT are great, and the impact that CONNECT has on New York City is incredibly impressive given its small size and limited resources. I will always be proud to say that I worked with CONNECT!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 5, 2012

more

November 5, 2012

Our organization, the Westchester Square Partnership, has benefited tremendously from our relationship with CONNECT. Anindita Bhaumik has been helping us since the very beginning, providing advice, helping us make connections with other organizations and members of government, and explaining the lay of the land. She has also provided informative, relevant, and highly popular workshop series to our Bangladeshi constituents. A big thank you to Anindita and CONNECT!!!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Quite well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 27, 2012

more

October 27, 2012

I became aware of this organization from a workshop they provided at my church addressing Domestic Violence in 2010. Sally MacNichols was so informative that it lead me to attend classes at Connect that addressed understanding domestic violence. The topic of domestic violence has become an important issue of my Pastor and has lead him to want to establish a ministry in our church to assist in informing our community. Connect has been working closely with us in providing training, guidance and information. In 2012 the Ministry "Judges 19" was established, with the help of Sally MacNichol and Quentin Walcott. They have met with group and provided valuable suggestions on what direction we should go. They have graciously agreed to assist us with any necessary training and information we need to be aware of, as well as direct us to various agencies that can assist us as well. Connect, Inc has a wonderful and knowledgeable staff that provides classes that deeply addresses the perils of domestic violence. It is a pleasure working with them.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 24, 2012

more

October 24, 2012

I have been involved with CONNECT for the past ten years. I attended various workshops on Batterers Intervention, Women's Circle, Vicarious Trauma, the Theological Roundtable just to name a few. The staff at Connect are very caring and knowledgable. They are about showing PEACE to the community and elimanating intimate partner violence. They also work with children who have witnessed Domestic Violence. They offer legal and supportive services to Domestic Violence victims. I enjoy coming to Connect for educational and emotional support. The staff at Connect is awesome. I nominate Connect for the highest award that you are presenting. Their work is phenomenal.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 24, 2012

more

October 24, 2012

I would like to nominate CONNECT, over the past few years I have had the privilege of attend a few of the wonderful training courses that they offer. I walked away feeling confident knowing that i had received proper training in the areas of working with survivors of Domestic Abuse and Sexual Assault. And if that wasn't enough, the inner-faith perspective of this Organization really reaches across the board of race, religion,sex and creed to break down the barriers and ignorance that perpetuate violence. I thank the wonder staff and facilitators for the work exceptional work that they do help prevent and eliminate family and gender violence.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 24, 2012

more

October 24, 2012

CONNECT is amazing! I became acquainted with the organization through their DV 101 course. I am not one to be easily impressed, so it is a big deal for me that I have not only been impressed but continue to admire the work that CONNECT does. CONNECT produces relevant materials and trainings for the general public as well as helps families heal and get better connected to their humanity. I look forward to seeing them grow into a model that will one day be replicated across the nation.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 25, 2011

more

March 25, 2011

My first course at CONNECT: Understanding Domestic Violence helped me gained a deeper understanding and to acquired essential knowledge on the issue of Domestic Violence to be able to make appropriate interventions.

I learned that Battering is a Choice and that the victims are usually
women and children however empathy towards the batterers is very important when addressing Domestic Violence.

Trainers are passionate about the work they do toward the prevention of Domestic Violence and the courses that are offered at CONNECT are full of essential information on the issue. In a simple language they convey their knowledge about Domestic Violence and that it is an issue that concerns all of us as it is prevalent in every community.

Maria Lozano

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

The knowledge gained while participating at several trainings at Connect help me empower the population that I currently serve.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

In my experiene the staff at Connect are knowledgeable and are able to pass this on. I would not change its format.

March 25, 2011

more

March 25, 2011

CONNECT, Inc. is one of the most superb non-profits in the NYC area. Their dedication, commitment and emotion for the prevention of gender violence is out of this world. The staff are all great advocates and will work through any intracacies so that any issues are addressed. The organization as a whole is very well thought out and constantly finds and implements new ways to improve their services to the community. I highly recommend CONNECT's services and I guaruntee that anyone would leave feeling pleased with the services provided.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

internship in the past

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

none

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers