Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
32 Reviews
1234.906255
Write A Review
October 17, 2011

more

October 17, 2011

I visited UCBC in Beni last year and spent the week in meetings with the Congo Board and attending the convocation ceremony to open the new school year. Having lived and worked in Africa for over 30 years, I can truly say that I have never been anywhere in Africa that was so full of hope, excitement and potential for transformation. The UCBC campus is a beacon of light to the community and is poised to become a model of 21st century education for Africa. As a US board member I am honored to be part of an authentic partnership with the Congo board and part of a real transformative organization.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

serving as a board member and visiting UCBC in Beni.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

develop more opportunities to generate resources.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

How did you learn about this organization?

from a friend

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

September 26, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 26, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

I joined the US Board supporting the work at UCBC in Congo after meeting the dynamic president, Dr. David Kasali. He has a bold, clear vision for creating a university backed by a substantial personal history in higher education and ministry. In 2010 I witnessed UCBC at work in war ravaged eastern Congo - very close to the border with Uganda. There is no question this well managed higher education community, which graduated its first class this June, is building a dynamic cadre of nation builders. It is being watched closely by the Democratic Republic of Congo Ministry of Higher Education in Kinshasha which sees in the integration of high quality academic training with a commitment to community engagement through service-learning a model for higher education throughout the country.
I recently retired - after 28 years - serving as founding CEO of a national NGO ( National Youth Leadership Council) with outreach to every state and more than 30 nations. UCBC is a sound investment in a region in great need of what UCBC offers. My suggestion to potential donors is go to the Congo, see for yourself.
I also suggest financial investments over several years to support scholarships for students and salary for faculty. Whatever resources are invested will receive the highest level of accountability. Feel free to contact me.

Jim Kielsmeier Ph.D
Founder, Senior Scholar
National Youth Leadership Council
jim.kielsmeier@gmail.org
www.nylc.org

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Careful review of financial and program materials as a Board Member. In interviews with the UCBC President, academic dean and several students on my visit to campus last year. ( 2010)

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Seek a higher level of financial commitment at the front end. Bring in board members and donors to match the vision and capacity of UCBC,

May 10, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 10, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

I have been connected to Congo Initiative since it was simply a dream in the heart and mind of its founder, Dr. David Kasali. Growing up in Congo as a child, going through the conflicts of Independence, reading about and praying for DRC - Democratic Republic of the Congo - and its peoples, and visiting eastern DRC numerous times in the past fifteen years, it is clear to me that what is needed is a revolution, not of tribalism with guns and machetes, but a revolution in ethical, principled leadership. This is what Congo Initiative is doing through its diverse programs, serving university students, women and children, the church, and emerging leadership. There are many good organizations working to improve the lives of those in Congo who have suffered greatly; Congo Initiative is not simply a good organization, it is GREAT, with principled leadership and a far-reaching vision that is being lived out daily.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

by witnessing the growth in character and competencies of emerging young leaders, and by working with and caring for the outstanding men and women and volunteers who are giving selflessly of their time and their talent for the well-being of the country.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I have no changes to suggest; the vision is excellent, the commitment by its staff and volunteers beyond reproach, and its implementation continues to move forward almost beyond CI's capacity to manage. More help is needed.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

How did you learn about this organization?

I know its founders, and dreamed and prayed with them since the beginning.

What is this organization's top short-term priority?

Funding for building and recruiting staff.

What is its top priority in the long run?

Developing students, implementing curriculum, reaching to the wider community.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

May 2, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 2, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

Congo Initiative has been a gift and an opportunity to learn and grow.

Our Congolese sisters and brothers are living examples of what it means to seek to be transformed in order to transform. They are examples of love and commitment:

- D. and K. left the safety of Kenya to return
to their home country during the height of civil war to serve as salt and light and agents of transformation.
- J. survived atrocities of conflict, and now embraces as sisters and brothers, those from the group that had destroyed his village.
- A. is studying to be a counselor and work with those who have been traumatized by war and abuse.
- D. and A. give their time to run programs for local children (one a soccer program the other an after school Bible program), even though they can barely pay for their own tuition. They give of their time for others before they worry about their own needs.
- Many students have left their families, including young children, to study at UCBC. They know the quality of the education and the integrity of the work will develop their skills and cultivate their minds and hearts to be bearers of truth and light and leaders of change.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

the stories from students. UCBC students have a heart for their nation and a desire to be ethical, servant leaders. They demonstrate that in their behavior toward each other, in the activities they initiate, and the leadership they demonstrate on campus and in the community.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

funnel resources to fuel its growth.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

How did you learn about this organization?

From a friend.

What is this organization's top short-term priority?

Resource maximization (personnel and financial).

What is its top priority in the long run?

Transforming hearts and minds to lead for growth and health in DR Congo.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

research current events in D.R. Congo, write book summaries on D.R. Congo, provide feedback on marketing materials, respond to general inquiry communications