Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
13 Reviews
1234.769235
Write A Review
June 17, 2014

more

June 17, 2014

Concho Valley Home for Girls is an amazing organization that has done nothing except help me with anything and everything I have ever needed and more. I came here looking to find other girls that were in the system and hoped to help mentor them, when I showed up Sammy informed me that since i was still so young and was a single parent with no job or diploma, that they could help me achieve those things and gain a self sufficient lifestyle. I now have my GED thanks to Ms. Tiffany Case whom was an amazing asset to this organization, and is greatly missed and I am pursuing a college education! Mrs. Anne is amazing along with Mrs. Georgia and Mrs. Sammy I love them all they have treated me and my children as close as family and made my christmas this year a merry one. I have never been so cared for and looked out for when it came to me and my kids we were pretty much on our own. I now have a forever family and will always love and appreciate everything they have ever done for me!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

September 3, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 3, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I was once in this home and its nothing how everyone from the outside says it is. I hated it and I would run away if it came down to me going back. You are not all treated equally.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would FIRE Rita, one of the house wifes... who treats her favorites with greatness and her least favorites like crap.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

None

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

No

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Somewhat badly

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 15, 2012

more

November 15, 2012

Our church ladies group invited the director of the Concho Valley Home for Girls to our monthly brunch as a guest speaker about 2 yrs. ago. Sammye won our hearts with her obvious devotion to the girls. When asked how we could become involved, she presented several options for volunteer service. We have a team of women who go to the Home twice a month to do crafts with the girls. We thought we were going in to do a service for the girls, but each of us think we get more out of it than they do! We have developed real friendships. As we spend time with the girls, it is easy to observe how they are being impacted by their time at the Home. They are treated as daughters, like we would our own children. The home is truly like a real home - and a beautiful one! The girls have their own rooms, with responsibilities to keep up the entire house - cleaning, cooking, etc. The staff interacts with the girls just as a parent would - a balance of fun and guidance, all the while encouraging respect and good moral choices. The staff has certainly been more than willing to give us opportunities to build deeper bonds with the girls, and we have loved every minute of it! I give Concho Valley Home for Girls my full support! Marnie Nelle

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 13, 2012

more

November 13, 2012

I have known of Concho Valley Home For Girls for years, and I have always thought of it as a wonderful place to help girls when they are struggling with life. I have found they help girls AND boys get jobs in the community. They also go to businesses and encourage the businesses to give these young adults opportunities to learn the value of being punctual, dependable, skilled and pleasant in the work place. I would certainly recommend it to the public for help for young people.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 13, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 13, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

As a former resident of the CVHG, I had the opportunity to live a safe and comfortable two years learning how to be independent and cook and clean on my own. I learned shopping skills and living skills that weren't being provided to me in my own home. I was in a place where I often felt unsafe and unloved and the CVHG allowed me to see that people care. Now as the adult mother of a teenage son, I often go back to visit and hopefully mentor these children into successful and productive adults who give back to their communities. This organization doesn't just serve girls, but children as a shelter on whole. They deserve to be recognized for greatness and contribution in the community. I'm happy to be a part of the history and hopefully the future. I don't know if I could be a successful parent without my experiences in the CVHG.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Likely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 12, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 12, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

CVHG was a place for me when there wasn't one. It was a place for me to learn how to utilize what skills I already had and learn new ones. To forge relationships and grow as a family. It was one of the best experiences of my life. I am thankful for the opportunity to have known and to know the girls there. Thank you to all the staff previous and current. It is truly a blessing to know you all.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 8, 2012

more

November 8, 2012

Concho valley is not only a home for girls but a home for all, boys and girls, and all races welcomed. I have had and continue to have great experiences with this wonderful organization! I, Rey Ramos, have been through and benefited from many of the programs that this organization has to offers. They have truly been a blessing in assisting me with my everyday life. I strongly encourage for all to donate what they can, it really makes a difference in these young avid kids lives and is greatly appreciated!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 6, 2012

more

November 6, 2012

I had an opportunity as young girl to go with staff members and residents to Six Flags. The staff were so respectful of the girls and provided these young women with an opportunity for a sense of normalcy. This is a wonderful organization.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

1997

November 6, 2012

more

November 6, 2012

I've heard great things about this organization which offers a safe haven for young women, Also, the staff here are extremely dedicated to its mission of transforming lives.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Unsure

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 6, 2012

more

November 6, 2012

The Concho Valley Home for Girls is a place that not only raises young women, but raises the women who have shown up at their doorstep to assist. I am one who found my way to CVHG for employment, some twenty years ago, and after traveling on in my life have always thought of my time there as time of growth, both personally and professionally. The residents and staff I had the great fortune to know have stayed with me, bringing me warmth and joy to think about. I have so many memories that bring a genuine smile to face each time I them. Continuing with non profit organizations, it was CVHG that gave me the confidence and foundation to continue in the profession. It should be evident that the Girls Home is a high quality organization by the fact that the core staff have remained at CVHG since its beginning. And, the very fact that we all came to this site to write a review, without hesitation, is testimony of it's own!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers