Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
62 Reviews
1234.258065
Previous | 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review
August 13, 2014

more

August 13, 2014

Despite some initial hesitations based on some negative reviews about donors receiving form-type letters from sponsored children, I decided to go ahead with sponsoring a child because of the predominantly positive reviews about Compassion.

Unfortunately, I now understand the
disappointment and frustration felt by various Compassion donors who were receiving form-type letters, as I received one in the name of my sponsored child. The adult-level language, almost exclusively focused on the Bible, and the handwriting were clearly too perfect to have been written by a child.

My complaints to Compassion changed nothing.

I believe that Compassion downplays its very stong religious orientation until the moment that you are actually engaged as a donor. I now understand that this is a very born-again Christian-type of organization.

Compassion may be helping kids and their families, but they should be honest upfront with donors that they are a hard-core religious outfit. Also very importantly, the group lacks a commitment to allowing kids to have their own true communications with their sponsors. Once my sponsored child reaches 18 years, I will stop my involvement with this group.

More feedback...

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Unlikely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 13, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 13, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

This organization has a long track record and is truly making a difference in the lives of children. However, there are a couple of major problems: 1. They do not use any QA measures of their customer service representatives; some are excellent, others are not. 2. They don't have a way of quickly connecting with their in-country partners who are serving the children; thus, replies take weeks if not months. 3. They are not transparent about who these in-country partners are; for comparison, go to www.kiva.org and read their information about their partners.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

See above

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Unsure

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

January 23, 2014

more

January 23, 2014

I have been a sponsor through Compassion since 2003. It has been amazing to see my sponsor child in India grow and learn under the wonderful mission of Compassion. We correspond through letters and I hope to be able to go visit him one day. This is a wonderful mission that has a direct impact on children's lives around the globe. I have recommended Compassion to many people and love how active they are in reaching areas that need so much.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 30, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

October 30, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

I was a Compassion International sponsored child and was released from poverty in Jesus name thanks to their work. I love the ministry and what they stand for, bringing Jesus to the least of them. I love that they are Christ-Centered and most of their programs are aimed at equipping the kids with the gospel of Jesus Christ. I grew up in Kenya, in a family where our source of income was about $10 a month. Poverty was bad but the hopelessness that came from the poverty was even worse. All I needed as a kid growing up in poverty was food, clothes, water, a home with a warm bed and most importantly love and hope. I got none of these things.

1994, Compassion came into my life took a big turn. Food, clean water, shoes, clothes, a warm bed with a mosquito net, and lots of love is what I got from Compassion. they started to speak words of hope and truth into my life. the love I got from my sponsor was like non other, the warmth I got from the Compassion staff was even better. I did not know Jesus before I joined Compassion but everything Compassion did for me made me want know this Jesus they served. I did, come to know Jesus through an alter call by one of the Compassion staff and that was the difference in my life. The best gift I got from Compassion, was Jesus, my life has never been the same again.

In summary, 19 years later here I am today released from poverty and hopelessness in Jesus name. Me and my wife now sponsor 4 beautiful kids (India, Thailand and 2 in Kenya) through Compassion. I am currently a CPA living in America and now in a position to change my family's life and that of a generation. I am blessed to have led people to the lord with my testimony, sponsor one child and bring the good news of Jesus to nations. I can't tell it all what Compassion has done for me and for so many kids around the world, but one thing is for sure : they do what they say they do. I am proof.

P.S. - My Compassion sponsor was the best man in our wedding #powerfulrelationships.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Pray that people get it...........

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 23, 2013

more

Review from Guidestar
September 23, 2013

I have been a sponsor with Compassion International since January 2012. It has been a wonderful experience getting to know our sponsored children and seeing them grow. I love this organization and volunteer whenever I can with them.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

nothing!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 20, 2013

more

April 20, 2013

We have been supporting a Compassion child in the Dominican Republic for about 10 years and have had the blessing of meeting him two times. I can assure you your sponsorship means more to this child than you can ever know. It also means so much to his family as well. Our child's father is out of the picture. His mother is Haitian and in the DR Haitians are not always looked at with favor. Our child writes us regularly. Compassion worked very hard to make our visits possible. I think we must be careful to judge the CEO's salaries. I think it more important to look at their life and who they are. If you have ever heard Wes Stafford speak, the Spirit is evident in his life. We don't know what their salary includes. Perhaps, it is also their health insurance etc... I know that when we give extra money we ask what they used it for. We usually send $400. every year in March. When we visited we also asked to meet our child's mom. She wept and wept and prayed in Spanish for five minutes as we hugged. All six of our children got to meet him and play in the ocean with him. It was like he was their brother. It was an unforgettable experience, giving us a taste of heaven, with every tribe and nation. If you can go meet your child, do it. We also talked at length with the translator that was provided. She was now a working for Compassion, but was once a Compassion sponsored child. She talked at length about the blessing of being sponsored...and how it is through Compassion that she learned English. She is now in college to be a doctor, and she is only 17! She explained that much of the problem with poverty is not just the funds, it is the hope that comes. Much of poverty is a mental poverty. When a child is sponsored they are first prayed for often, they are usually given vitamins and parasite medicine, they often receive Bible stories and training, and their connection with their sponsor gives them HOPE and encouragement. Our child receives a snack. Money that we send goes 100% to him if it is a gift. His mom told us how they were able to put in a bathroom with the money we sent. Many of the everyday expenses that must be accounted for are all the people that help set up trips, that help and respond to your questions etc. Compassion is an amazing organization that provides us here in spoiled America with a way to care for the least of these. I give it all the thumbs up you can!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 14, 2013
5 people found this review helpful

more

April 14, 2013
5 people found this review helpful

In response to how much the CEO makes. He is lower paid than the other six leading child organization CEO's such as Child Fund, World Vision, etc. This is easy to check out. I have sponsored five children, one of which has graduated. I have also sponsored two children at ChildFund. Without saying unkind things about another orgaization, I will say that I prefer Compassion. It is important to me that children are fed spiritually. If all we do is provide food, water, shelter without the word of God, we are very short sighted.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 5, 2013

This is an Awesome Ministry, just talked with a Compassion Representive, she was very helpful and very friendly too, even told me about my previous child that I sponsored but had to stop. I highly reccomend this Ministry!!!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 2, 2013

We've just returned from a sponsor tour to Tanzania. I was so impressed with all the staff and volunteers we met---both nationals and those from the US. I came away with more respect for the organization and the individuals involved; they all seemed very Christ-centered and caring. We visited several centers, the national headquarters, and met our sponsored child. We saw how they supported and trained single moms, met health, educational, spiritual, and social needs of the children, and contributed to the overall well-being of the communities. I liked how they partnered with local churches to influence whole communities for the kingdom of God. Our trip was well planned and gave us a good overview of how compassion functions there. I highly recommend the sponsor tours and definitely feel that our money is well spent.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

No

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 28, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
March 28, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have sponsored four children through Compassion International's child sponsorship program and one university student through Compassion's Leadership Development program. I sponsored for the first time in 2005 and have traveled to meet two of my sponsored children in person. Compassion's work far exceeds what I thought was possible for only $38/month.

The child I sponsor have received healthcare (one even had life-saving open heart surgery!), proper nutrition (one at only twice each week before entering Compassion's program), education (one has graduated from university with a degree in medical technology), improvements to shelter, vocational training and two of them have become Christians.

I'm amazed at how well my children are doing in Compassion's program. I've seen their work in person. This is the real deal. The children I sponsor are no longer impoverished but have the skills and health and dreams necessary to escape poverty. Their children will certainly be better off than they are.

I wholeheartedly recommend Compassion International every chance I get.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers