Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
61 Reviews
1234.295085
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
December 13, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

December 13, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I have sponsored a child with this organization since the early 1970s and have also been to Africa to meet the children I now sponsor with them. I also donate to a Child Survival Program through Compassion in Haiti as well as one in Africa. Having seen first hand the differences this organization makes in the lives of children, their families and communities, and over the years seeing the integrity of this organization financially,walking out their mission statement, I continually recommend them to any and everyone!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 4, 2014

more

April 4, 2014

I truly love supporting the fine efforts Compassion International is doing in Haiti. My sponsored child, Paul Ando-Paul is thriving under the guidance and support of Compassion International. I would love to work for them. What a blessing they are to the world!

Doug Johnson
Dallas,
Texas
May 31, 2013

more

May 31, 2013

Many Blessings I am so blessed by sponsoring children through Compassion! I am excited to be able to write to my children and receive their warm and touching letters. Also, being able to make their Christmas, birthday and family life special and blessed brings great joy to my heart. I truly believe that being Christ centered and involving the local church makes this sponsorship program so successful and unique. Being a sponsor is the best Christmas present I have ever received.

The one-to-one relationship with your sponsored child is truly a blessing from God. This relationship is further enhanced and developed through prayers and regular correspondence between you (either the sponsor or the correspondent sponsor) and the child. I have fond memories of receiving my first child letter, being able to pray for my child and respond back to the child letter. I have grown to appreciate the well-controlled and high-quality driven process that Compassion has implemented to ensure that all letters are translated and delivered. Although at times it seems like the process is slow and cumbersome, the end result is very rewarding; the delivery of the child letter to the sponsor. Not exactly knowing when a letter is going to be delivered is like a special holiday gift from God. So remember to be patient and pray for and write to your child on a regular basis. Prayers and Letters have a huge impact!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

December 14, 2012

I have sponsered 4 children since 1996 and have been very pleased with this organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 26, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
October 26, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have been involved with Compassion as a sponsor for 7 years, and recently began work as a volunteer. Compassion is really an impressive organization. It is very focused on its service role, and works hard to serve children around the world. Everything I have seen suggests a very well-run and committed organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 30, 2012

My husband and I have sponsored children through Compassion since 2009, and we could not be happier. We had the opportunity to go meet one of the kids, and see for ourselves how Compassion children development programs work. Wonderful!!!! We are thrilled to be part of something bigger than ourselves. An organization that not only releases children from poverty, but, most importantly leads them to the only one who can release them from eternal death: Jesus Christ.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 14, 2012

more

April 14, 2012

I have sponsored children through Compassion International since I was in my mid-twenties. I am 50 yrs. old now. I believe that this organization does what they say they will do. Help deliver children from poverty in Jesus' name. The children and I have established relationships through the letters we exchange. I know that my financial support is making a difference in that child by his/her receiving medical care, nutrition, education, and, most importantly, an opportunity to hear about how to have a relationship with Jesus. I feel such support for the work that they do that I decided to become an Advocate, or volunteer who will tell others about Compassion. The support and friendships my wife and I have made through the Advocate Network is so rewarding. I am very thankful that Compassion exists to allow me to use my passion to help the poor.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

The changed lives that Compassion helps make for all of the children I have sponsored over the years. I learn about these children through their letters, photos and artwork that I receive on a regular basis. I see them growing in their maturity, confidence and faith in the Lord.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I honestly don't know of an area of their work that I would change. They are committed to integrity and excellence, and it shows in all aspects!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

Again, Compassion has met or exceeded my needs in every aspect of my volunteer experience. The staff are very responsive to my questions, and there is always new and innovative training that I can take.

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

I have made many new friends who have a similar passion to help deliver children from poverty. I get a lot of joy introducing my friends to Compassion and seeing their own lives affected when they sponsor a child. It is very rewarding.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

Very pumped!!!

April 13, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
April 13, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

My parents have sponsored several children through Compassion since I was a small child. As soon as I left home and got a job, I began sponsoring as well and fell even more in love with this fantastic organization. Our money truly does go to an amazing cause -- one child! We have developed lasting relationships with our sponsored children and plan on acquiring more as our finances allow. We cannot say enough good about Compassion!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

the letters from our children. They testify as to Compassion's efficacy.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Work on sponsor retention.

April 11, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 11, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

We’ve been sponsoring children through Compassion International for approximately eight years, and they have far exceeded our expectations. For decades, this organization has been working to fulfill the spiritual, physical, economic, social…needs of children in many countries throughout the world. By utilizing the local church in these countries, they serve over one million children, along with their family members. By using a holistic approach to stopping poverty, they become more than an aid organization that focuses mainly on the physical needs of a person. Compassion works with children throughout their life, providing them with structure and opportunity that is necessary to break the hopeless cycle of poverty, allowing them to have the tools necessary to succeed throughout their lifetime.

My wife and I are blessed to be child sponsors, and to be a part of so many families. Depending on the child and the country they live in, we are called father/mother, aunt/uncle, godfather/godmother, or friend, and we love it. Knowing that our relatively small contribution in their lives (i.e. prayer, letter writing, money, etc.) can have such a tremendous impact is unbelievable. A week doesn’t go by when we don’t hear from one of our children. They write to tell us about their successes, their struggles, their sickness, their fears, their hopes, dreams, desires, goals...the weather. Being a part of so many lives is simply awesome.

Throughout the past eight years, we have visited Compassion International’s headquarters in Colorado Springs, CO. many times to see their operations and ask questions (everyone is welcome during the week when they give tours), and we’ve call them many times with additional questions. We also have friends who are former employees and current child sponsors with Compassion, and they love it. We’ve traveled to Haiti to meet one of our children, which Compassion graciously assisted us with, and after doing all this research, we have concluded that they are doing a great job at fulfilling their mission and working to expand so they can continue to serve more and more children. They are the blue ribbon winner in my book, and I look forward to being a part of this organization for the rest of my life. Please visit www.compassion.com , and learn how you can start the amazing journey my wife and I started so many years ago. Thank you.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

We've personally seen and experienced the growth of children throughout the years in all areas of their lives. We've also experienced Compassion's transparency, as they work to fulfill their mission. They don't hide when it comes to accountability, they embrace it - just ask.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Help it grow in the fastest, yet most responsible, way possible. We also think it would be great if one day we could utilize technology to meet and visit with all of our children. However, we also know that there aren't enough hours in a day, or translators available to make this possible. Additionally, we understand they have a duty to protect the rights and privacy of both parties involved with child sponsorship.

March 7, 2010

more

March 7, 2010

I have been a donor and volunteer for Compassion for many years. I am impressed by this organization's commitment to financial integrity and by the effectiveness of programs that save the lives of babies and release children from poverty in the long-run.

Photos

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

terms of the relationships my wife and I have built with our sponsored children through letter writing. I can see their lives being changed.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers