Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
60 Reviews
1234.333335
| 1 ... 4 5 6 |
Write A Review
April 3, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
April 3, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

My wife and I have been sponsoring children through Compassion for over 40 years. This has been a wonderful experience. We have written back and forth with the children we sponsor several times a year. When we noticed in one of the letters we received that a child was having problems at home with an abusive father, we contacted Compassion about this. They took action and notified us personally of what was done. We have the highest respect for what Compassion does and how they go about accomplishing their mission. It is amazing that they can direct so much of our giving directly to the field instead of to administration and fund raising.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 9, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

March 9, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

Compassion International is an amazing organization. What I like most is that you have a one on one relationship with your child. You can see exactely how your donation is being spent. I sent my child a birthday gift and he wrote me to let me know he was so excited when they called his name! He bought a suit and a goat. I like knowing that if I wanted to, I am encouraged to go visit my child. I can call anyone at Compassion and they will work with me if I wanted to buy my child something or I had concerns about anything! It is great knowing through Compassion i am giving a child hope.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 13, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
February 13, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I have been involved with Compassion for a little over five years as a sponsor/donor and three years as a volunteer child advocate. I've also had the chance to travel to a developing country and see Compassion's work in the field for myself. Based on these experiences, I can say without reservation that this is a world class organization that I highly recommend. One of my sponsored children lives in Kenya, where post-election violence and drought have caused much hardship recently (in addition to the already existing extreme poverty in that area). Through being sponsored through Compassion and the extra family gift money I've been able to send, her family has been able to purchase livestock. They now have a reliable source of income for their family, and they are working their way out of poverty. In addition, their child is able to attend school and will have the means to support herself when she reaches adulthood. She and her future children will have opportunities that her parents never had, and the cycle of poverty will be broken. Imagine that same scenario times 1.2 million (the approximate number of Compassion children), and you will begin to grasp the impact that this organization is having in the fight against extreme poverty.

Photos

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I've seen the changes in my sponsored children's lives through their letters, and also through meeting one of them in person. I also have had the chance to meet several graduates of Compassion's child sponsorship program, many of whom have had the chance to go on to receive a college education, which would never have been possible for them without Compassion's help.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would love to see Compassion expand to more developing countries around the world.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 23, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

January 23, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I have had the opportunity to see the work of Compassion International twice. From what I observed it is definitely making a huge impact in the lives of many Peruvian children in Lima, Peru. People should be aware that the organization is heavily Christian in nature and consider this before donating/deciding to sponsor a child(after all-their tagline is 'Releasing Children From Poverty In Jesus' Name' and their statement of faith is similar to the National Christian Evangelical Society's statement of faith). Compassion grassroots level is centered around local churches located in impoverished areas- most children in Compassion's program therefore are Christian to a degree and receive regular biblical training (in addition to meals, medicine, and school fees). The Compassion children I've met have all been well-cared for and every dollar Compassion receives has been well-spent. The organization uses complete transparency with their donors... and continually ranks in the top 1-5% of charities in the United States. They also really seem to take into account the concerns/requests of their donors(i.e. they recently overhauled their letter-writing system recently after receiving so much feedback from sponsors on what could be done to improve it). If you're Christian and you want to make a difference in the life of a child/make a meaningful donation then, definitely consider entrusting Compassion with your money.... whatever you give- you can donate with full confidence that to Compassion it will be money well spent!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

December 29, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
December 29, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

My family and I are on our third child and I have nothing but good things to say about Compassion. When our first child stopped coming to the Compassion center I was notified as soon as it was confirmed the family had moved on. I was offered my last donation back or the option to continue with another child. The second child graduated out of the program and we received a wonderful parting letter. Now we are on our third child who is young enough to only send pictures and some basic writing. Every organization has problems from time to time, but I have always received prompted responses to my questions and requested followup information. Given the choice of paying my taxes and or contributing to Compassion, I couldn't answer Compassion fast enough.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

December 26, 2011
7 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
December 26, 2011
7 people found this review helpful

."We will not forward materials or communications that advocate another religious worldview." I have supported a child for about 10 years or more (I think) and all along had concerns that there is a bit too much emphasis, perhaps almost arm twisting, for a child to accept the world view of this organization if he wishes to continue to receive benefits of support. We did receive letters more than once per year, but it was obvious that the child was not to be allowed to send us a letter that was not obviously edited, perhaps even dictated by the organization. I do not believe that the letters as worded would have been the true words of the child's own thoughts, wishes, inclinations, dreams... and frankly, I didn't need all that many through Jesus' in one letter from a small child whose writings did not reflect a child having a normal life with his normal needs, hopes, wishes, etc. I would love to help a child again, but I believe this boy was being blackmailed to fit into one very conscripted mold or be told he might loose his funding... and I suspect that IF he were to have decided that the fundamentalist Jesus was not his style... he would never let anyone known his real needs and beliefs, for fear of loosing his funding. To me that is suspicious of way too much pressure to accept the promoted religion. Sorry, but that is blackmail... or at least suspicious behaviour on the part of the charity.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Unsure

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Unsure

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 19, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
November 19, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

Our family has sponsored a child for several years. Through the years we've received handwritten letters (with a translation) and pictures periodically. It's been a blessing to watch this little boy grow up into a young man of 15 now. He was 7 when we began.

The child is wonderful and
this organization seems to really care about him. I can even arrange to meet him, if I were financially able to travel there.

I feel certain that our child is being cared for and his quality of life is being improved by our sponsorship.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 7, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 7, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

This is not an organization where folk care enough about the sponsored humans to follow up on individual concerns.

I have sponsored children with Compassion International since 1990. But now I would say do not use them.
I cancelled because this organization does not care to follow-up
on child concerns. My sponsored child's letter was 20 lines long, the translation was 5 lines. This happened twice, i phoned Compassion, whose first response was "it is the language they use" ( the language changed all of a sudden from previous letters?). Next they asked me to send them copies of the letters which I did.
Then I had a letter where the child told me he had a bad leg - although photos in the last ten years gave no indication. My email to Compassion via their website got no response.

Get this: when I called them, it was as if I had not sent the copies of the letters to them "not received", nor obviously did they care to follow-up with me the fact they did not have the letters so they could investigate..
.
As for my "email" that is a separate department who should have responded.
Compassion was "sorry I was cancelling and would find another sponsor for my child" in response to me saying how can I trust and organization that does not respond or follow-up on concerns?
I should have stopped when the first child I sponsored reach age 18y and Compassion told me that was it, they cannot do any more for her.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Providing sponsorship to children for over 20 years

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make each individual working there accountable as to why sponsor concerns are not being followed-up and answered.

November 5, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

more

November 5, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

i sponsor two children through Compassion and can attest that their work is long-term, Christ-centered, and far-reaching. I have met my child who lives in Bolivia. While there we met several members of a family who learned about Jesus through the child's interaction with the local church center and the sponsor's letters. Compassion works through local churches who know and understand the families and their needs. The children get food, education, health care, and Christian teaching through a meaningful one-on-one sponsorship. As most Compassion children do, my child had all of her letters and cards that I had sent over the years. I also get frequent updates and letters from her. While in Bolivia, the country office took us to their headquarters and opened up all the finanancial files for us to examine. They maintain attendance records, costs, and all receipts for individual gifts. They are transparent in everything they do and are an incredible organization!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Definitely! I have seen how excited the children get when the sponsors come to visit. The ones who did not have sponsors visit were thrilled to have other sponsors play with them and spend time with them. The children are given a complete curriculum that inlcudes receiving Bibles at particular ages, health education, food, fellowship, health care and a health-awareness education.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

none.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

What specific problem, purpose, priority, or project prompted your gift?

I wanted to make a difference for one child in allareas, inlcudig knowing and loving God, and be able to have contact and establish a relationship with the person I am assisting.

Why did you make your donation at this time?

I had sponsored a child with a group of people while in college and felt led to sponsor one on my own.

What would you tell others about this organization?

As with any organization, do your homework. You will see that Comapssion is financially responsible and resourceful! They provide so much to the chidlren for so little. You also get to personally know the one child you are sponsoring and be a part of their development.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

September 5, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
September 5, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

I was first introduced to Compassion while watching a video of the band MercyMe talking about the children they themselves have sponsored and great of a program Compassion was. I was curious about the program and decided to do more research about them. I was pleased with their mission and the way they divide the funds. I decided to sponsor three children and I could not be happier with the program. It's easy to make payments and write letters to your kids online. I highly recommend Compassion!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Sponsoring children.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Be able to give more money per month to an individual kid.

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers