Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
60 Reviews
1234.333335
| 1 2 3 4...6 |
Write A Review
December 20, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
December 20, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I find it interesting that several of those writing reviews have talked about the wonderful letters they receive from their sponsored children. I have not had that experience. The letters I receive are never personal, more or less form letters, wanting to know how I am, hope I am well, praying for me everyday, and on and on. I have sponsored one child from Haiti for seven years, so she is now 12, have been informed that she makes average progress in school, and yet her mother has written every letter I have ever received, except the last one, and her aunt wrote that one for her. My other child is in Uganda, and I have sponsored her for six years, and she is now 12. Her letters started out being very personable, but lately have also been very formulaic. So, while I will continue to sponsor these children because I do want their basic needs to be provided, I want to say that the personal relationship that Compassion promotes so passionately does not exist for me with either child. I have quit corresponding and just sponsor financially.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Unlikely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Unlikely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 14, 2012

I have sponsered 4 children since 1996 and have been very pleased with this organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 3, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
December 3, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

I have been sponsoring a child in El Salvador for a year now and I am very pleased with this charity. I have received four letters so far; the child does not not know how to write so the letters ask questions and the translator fills out his answers. He does draw pictures for me that show what he does (he loves to play soccer). I was very happy to see that when I gave a family donation they used it to buy extra food. I haven't had any issues with the customer support and in fact, when I hit hard times myself and was unable to donate, they worked with me to ensure I didn't lose the sponsorship until I could get caught up. I would definitely recommend this charity to anyone looking to sponsor a child.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 27, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
November 27, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have been sponsoring a child through Compassion international for years and could not be happier. This is a wonderful organization that is transparent and makes the most out of my monthly donation. I will continue giving to them as long as I can.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 26, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

November 26, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I think Compassion is a wonderful organization doing tremendous work. We've sponsored a young man from India for almost 6 years now and we have really developed a meaningful connection with him. I feel very certain our money is being used well and we hear from him frequently (we write to him frequently as well). This has been a wonderful blessing to our family. It's beautiful to see yearly photos of how this young man has grown. I did not know at the time we sponsored him in 2007 how Compassion worked. I have since learned that Compassion requires my child to come to a church based center in order to receive services that my sponsorship dollars help provide. I am a Christian and believe spiritual care is very important in helping children thrive. But I prefer World Vision's model of community development. World Vision is a Christian aid agency that helps build sustainable communities and sponsorship dollars fund entire communities.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 20, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

more

November 20, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

Protection of the children they help is Compassion's top priority. For the person who gave a negative review they should check into this. Unfortunately in today's world with child trafficking Compassion must review all information going to these children in poor countries. My Mother has visited her children both through Compassion sponsored trips and when she visited countries on her own. When she went on her own Compassion did everything they could to help her meet her children. She did have to have a supervised visit but only for the child's protection. Would any parent in the US want any less for our own children if they were meeting some person from another country.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 29, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 29, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Twenty-six years ago our first son was born. That same year we decided to support another child through Compassion. Our first sponsored son has since moved out of the program and we have sponsored other children during those years...and are currently sponsoring 2. Why? Because this is a wonderful organization. It works through the local churches (so it is personal to the child) and it not only provides physical nourishment but educational "nourishment," spiritual "nourishment" and help with clothing and other needed items. The impact is not just on the child but the family and the community. Our sponsored children send letters to us and we are able to write back and get to know them better. Compassion also makes available trips to see the children...Our church is linked to one of the churches over in Nairobi, Kenya and we are building a relationship Church to Church. What a wonderful opportunity to watch God work around the world. I am thankful for Compassion...those running it are dedicated to see the lives of impoverished children, families communities see the light of hope. One of the best gifts I ever got was a picture of one of our sponsored "sons" and in the picture of this young man was a smile that "glowed"....He had hope....and that was a definite change from all his other pictures! It was beautiful and wonderful to know that we could have the privilege of helping change the life of someone across the world. God bless Compassion International!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 26, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
October 26, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have been involved with Compassion as a sponsor for 7 years, and recently began work as a volunteer. Compassion is really an impressive organization. It is very focused on its service role, and works hard to serve children around the world. Everything I have seen suggests a very well-run and committed organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 11, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 11, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

We have and do sponsor several children for the past 15 years or so. I love the letters from the children, especially as they grow up and communication grows deeper. A small gift from us can go so far in a third world country. I plan on visiting one or more of our girls in Thailand in a couple years or less hopefully. I also love that I can give a birthday or Christmas gift and all the money goes for special gift just for them bought by a person at the center who knows just what she/he needs. I love to receive the thank you notes and here what they got. As for the person who gave a poor review and said gift had to be sent thru Compassion, I am sure Compassion is protecting the child for many reasons. I have spoken to them via phone about this and they are very good to explain in detail if you would like to know. And the person that wrote the review was incorrect in that if each party agrees to disclose their address they can send gifts directly. We had a girl grow out of the program and got her permission for Compassion to give us her address so we were able to send her a gift directly, so that can be done if both parties are agreeable.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 27, 2012

more

Review from CharityNavigator
September 27, 2012

I love Compassion. My sister and I have both visited different Compassion projects in Africa and have been impressed with the care and support they offer in tough & challenging conditions. Have a great amount of respect for the work they do.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Witnessed their programs in Nairobi, Kenya.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers