Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
17 Reviews
12345
| 1 2 | Next
Write A Review
November 5, 2012

more

November 5, 2012

I have been on the Board of Directors for Compass to Care as the Treasurer since inception. When I first was told of the idea of Compass To Care, I had no idea the magnitude of the financial problems these families face trying to cure their child of cancer. The founder, Michelle, had a dream to give back to families that are going through the same devastation her family went through when she had cancer as a very young child. Although I was around as our family was traveling back and foth to Mayo Clinic, I was too young to really understand the magnitude of how it affected us financially. Michelle took her idea of Compass to Care and ran with it. Within months she had received her 501(c)3 and left Corporate America. Michelle has done such a tremendous job of forming a connection with each and every family. Not only does she make sure the family is paid in time for their next trip, she has taken a direct interest in each and every child. I have never seen someone take on a project like Compass To Care with such determination and passion. Sometimes it seems not only is the foundation a means to making travel plans met for these struggling families, but also an individual cheering squad for each child. I am proud to be a part of Compass To Care.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 30, 2012

more

October 30, 2012

I met founder and CEO, Michelle in first grade and our friendship continues today. While I can tell you all of the great things about my friend, I am enthused to speak about Compass to Care and all of the great things they are doing to help children and their families who are battling cancer. When you hear the stories of the families who need money to travel to save their child's life, when their focus should be on curing their child; it is heartbreaking. I find that Compass to Care is able to ease the financial burden of travel expenses, so the parent's main priority can be their child and not how they are going to afford the next trip to the hospital. I have found my time volunteering with Compass to Care very rewarding personally and it is definitely on my top-rated nonprofit list!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 27, 2012

more

October 27, 2012

I met Compass to Care recently through a professional connection and have been thoroughly impressed. I have been working with nonprofits professionally since 1999 and can say without hesitation that Compass to Care should be on the Top-Rated Nonprofits List. With a lean staff and many volunteers, Compass to Care is able to provide a desperately needed service (funding for transportation to children's cancer treatment) to those who most need it. As someone who understands the inner workings of organizations, I can say without hesitation that Compass to Care is a well-run, well organized, efficient, and mission focused organization through and through.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 26, 2012

more

October 26, 2012

I discovered Compass to Care about 2 years ago when I met the founder, Michelle Ernsdorff, at a community event. I heard her story and the story of the children and families C2C serves. I was moved by the impact Michelle and C2C are having on the lives of these families. I have attended several Compass to Care events and I've met the children and families that Michelle and her team are serving. The families are truly inspirational. I haven't been able to give nearly as much as I wish I could. But even the amounts I do give have an impact. It makes me feel great knowing that even a hundred dollars can make a huge impact on the journey of a single family. My hundred dollars can help pay for several tanks of gas or a couple nights in a hotel room or a few meals along the way. Over the past two years of being a part of C2C - and I do very much feel like I AM a part of C2C - I have felt like I have been able to help Michelle and her team make an important difference in the lives of these amazing families. There are lots of great reasons to give to a charity. I give to C2C because of the mission, because of the incredible challenges that these families face, because of C2C's commitment, and because Michelle makes me feel like my role, modest though it is, has an impact on these families. We all want to make a difference in the world. In supporting C2C I KNOW I'm making a difference.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 26, 2012

more

October 26, 2012

I truly believe without this organization, our family would be suffering from financial hardship. Since our grandson was diagnosed with spitzoid melanoma, the Balentyne family has traveled to MD Anderson, 1000 miles, several times since March 2012 and will still be traveling every 3 mos. until May 2013. Without Compass to Care support, it would be financially stressful for all of us. As a family, we would do anything for our children and grandchildren, no matter what, but Compass to Care has helped with the burden of traveling. Their help took some of the stress away from this whole experience. It was comforting to talk to a person whenever there was a concern with traveling and issues were immediately resolved. We could not have done it without this wonderful organization. Thank you very, very much. The Balentyne family

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 26, 2012

more

October 26, 2012

Michelle at compass to care made it possible to take my son to MD Anderson in Texas so he could get the best care possible for his rare cancer. We couldn't have done it without them! They are a true blessing!!!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 24, 2012

more

October 24, 2012

I recently attended a fundraiser for Compass to Care and decided to become a volunteer. I was overwhelmed by the much needed work being done by this organization. I had never heard of an organization addressing the needs of families who need help getting treatment for their child who has been diagnosed with cancer. We don't realize the challenges this might present. Often the best treatment needed, is away from the home area. If a family does not have enough money...how will they afford the transportation, lodging and food to save their child? This is where "Compass" comes to the rescue.They access financial need, then go to work providing everything needed to help that child and family. The founder, Michelle Ernsdorff, was such a child whose family needed the help to save her life. They had quite a struggle helping their daughter. Michelle and her family now want to make sure that no other family has to go through what they endured. This is a cause that we should all embrace!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Participate in event planning, host their own Cup for a Child's Cure, assist with mailings, distribute flyers to local businesses. Volunteer