Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
11 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
October 12, 2014

more

October 12, 2014

I am a site manager at a food pantry serviced by Companion Animal Advocates for the pet food needs of our clients. I cannot tell you the impact this organization has on our clients! What we realized was that our clients (mostly low income families and retired senior citizens) were using the food we were giving them to feed their beloved pets! With the assistance of this wonderful organization, or clients have pet food to their 4 legged companions, and can save their food packages for themselves.
Our clients are also entitled to free spaying and neutering and low cost veterinary care for their pets to keep them healthy and not over-populating.
The volunteer staff are all wonderful and 100% committed to the job they do. We see them several times every month when they deliver the pet food. Their director is wonderful to work with regarding scheduling and quantity of food delivered. I cannot say enough about this wonderful, generous, caring organization, the staff and the service they provide.
October 11, 2014

more

October 11, 2014

CAA takes a unique approach to addressing the over-population in shelters - preventing surrenders. The organization does so by running several programs to assist retention. Providing pet food to food banks, and transportation and support of spay/neuter programs to name a few. The board members and volunteers are dedicated to making every penny go as far as possible. So you can be confident that your donation is going directly to aid those in need.
October 6, 2014

more

October 6, 2014

CAA is a premier all volunteer non-profit organization. The volunteers are passionate and professional in managing this growing non-profit. The mission to find ways to make it possible for lower income people to keep their pets; to minimize the unwanted pet population by making spay/neuter services more available and to find innovative ways to make sure every pet has a loving home is unique. I have been involved with CAA since its founding and continue to marvel at its efficacy and sustainability. Volunteer efforts assure that every dollar donated goes as far as it can go to meet its mission.
October 6, 2014

more

October 6, 2014

Companion Animal Advocates (CAA) provides dog and cat food to our food pantry in the town of Ridgewood in Northwest Bergen County. Our food pantry serves individuals and families experiencing financial difficulties by providing food and grocery vouchers. This allows them to defray some of their additional expenses. However, our food vouchers allow for the purchase of food only. Families with pets experience the additional hardship of having to feed their pets on an inadequate budget. However, pets provide love to families. Most pets are considered members of the family. By having the cat and dog food in our pantry, the families are free to take the amount necessary to feed their pats. CAA also provides information about free spay and neutering. Many have connected to Veterinary services through CAA's information. CAA allows individuals and families experiencing financial hardships to keep their pet as a member of the family! Clients have come to our agency because we also have pet food.
October 4, 2014

more

October 4, 2014

I WAS ASKED TO HELP DELIVER DOG AND CAT FOOD TO FOOD BANKS IN MY AREA AS AN ANIMAL LOVER I SAID YES .I FOUND OUT THAT BY DELIVERING THE FOOD TO FOOD BANKS WE WERE ABLE TO HELP FAMILIES THAT COULDN'T FEED THEMSELVES EITHER THROUGH SICKNESS OR LOSS OF JOB AT LEAST THEY DIDN'T HAVE TO LOSE THEIR PETS TOO.I CAN'T IMAGINE THE PAIN AND HEARTACHE THEY ARE SUFFERING ALREADY AND THEN ON TOP OF THAT HAVE TO LOSE A MEMBER OF THE FAMILY.THIS IS AGREAT ORGANIZATION THAT 100% OF FUNDS GO TO THE CAUSE .YOU CAN'T GET A BETTER RETURN FOR YOUR DONATION.
October 4, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 4, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

The CAA is very well run by people passionate about dogs and cats, but mostly about people who rely on dogs and cats for aid, comfort and companionship. We have three major functions: providing free dog and cat food to food banks in Bergen County, New Jersey; providing support for neutering dogs and cats; and providing oxygen masks for animals to local fire and EMT units. We run two major fund raisers each year. It's a great joy not only to participate in delivering food and in enjoying the events, but simply giving money to a worthy cause like CAA knowing that every penny will be well and carefully spent. Robert C. Ross
October 2, 2014

more

October 2, 2014

Absolutely far exceeds expectations. A well run organization with only volunteers, who care enough about animals and the organizations mission, that all are willing to help whenever there is a need or project. Knowing that people who are going through rough times can get help with feeding their pets, is awesome! This is truly an organization that is thinking outside the box for the good of others. Having pet oxygen masks (from the CAA Pet Oxygen Mask Program) at my local fire department is huge!! Just a great group of people trying to make a difference in peoples lives. The are top notch in my book.
October 2, 2014

more

October 2, 2014

Companion Animal Advocates has delivered more than 600,000 bowls of pet food to needy pet owners throughout Bergen County. They have also provided free/low cost spay/neuter services to more than 250 pets since 2010. Finally, thanks to CAA, almost every fire department across Bergen County has been equipped with at least one set of pet oxygen masks.

The work that Companion Animal Advocates does in the community is pivotal and I am PROUD to be part of such an amazing team! This grassroots organization really stands behind it's mission. "We envision a future where every pet has a family and every family can keep their pet." This is a 5-star charity all the way!!!!
October 2, 2014

more

October 2, 2014

I am a proud volunteer for CAA and one of my roles is to assist in the Pet Oxygen Mask Program. In the past 18 months that I have been involved with the Program, several of the towns have actually used these oxygen masks to save animals' lives subsequent to being involved in house fires, which could have otherwise turned out tragic. I love the Organization which is unlike no other. Barb Messina
October 2, 2014

more

October 2, 2014

I am an active fund raiser for Companion Animal Advocates. By whatever wonderful twist of fate I have never had to worry about not being able to feed my two rescue girls. When I found out that this group was assisting people in my community to stay with their pets through hard times I was hooked. I am thrilled that our efforts have raised a substantial amount for these dedicated individuals who all volunteer their time to keep people and their pets together.

Combine that with their pet neutering program and the pet oxygen mask donations and you've got a well rounded and civic minded group dedicated to the needs of our community.

I'm glad to play a small role in their tireless efforts.
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers