Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
18 Reviews
1234.944445
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
October 4, 2013

more

October 4, 2013

The number of people to whom this wonderful organization "delivers" is immense. From the critically ill it delivers meals and caring to every single day, to the people they deliver hope and opportunity to through that thing called "work", to the volunteers to whom it delivers fulfillment and to its employees through whom it delivers its mission, Community Servings is an invaluable organization to the communities it serves. The place is pure magic! Ken D.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 4, 2013

more

October 4, 2013

My wife and I started doing deliveries for Community Servings about a year ago and we absolutely love it! The staff are all so welcoming and just all around warm people. We truly look forward to seeing them for our shifts. Community Servings is an incredible organization that is very well run and organized and has many great programs and volunteer opportunities, I'm honored to be a part of it.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 10, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

December 10, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

This is an awesome place to volunteer. People from all backgrounds help out at the kitchen, but everyone definitely acts as one family. I always feel welcomed. I work sometimes on the weekdays, but mainly on Saturdays. It is one of the only few things that can get me out of my bed on Sat mornings. I help in the front and back kitchen, either prepping food for the chefs or packaging food to be delivered. If you are looking for an easy going place with positive atmosphere, dedication to food and serving the community and those in need, and try something different, definitely go to Community Servings.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Increase the number of income generating activities. For example, offering professional cooking classes and selling any additional meals to local grocers.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

Many new skills, many new friends.

December 8, 2011

more

December 8, 2011

Community Servings is an amazing organization. When I first moved to Boston, I came in a couple times to volunteer and almost immediately the staff there took me in like family! The staff are warm, generous, kind people who are truly passionate about providing the best quality services to their clients and community. The kitchen staff, especially the "Great Chef" Milford and Manager Tony, have always taken the time to teach me about the kitchen and share a quick laugh. The staff have created a positive and comforting environment that always puts a smile on my face. Generally, I have helped prepare and package meals as well as volunteered with special fundraising events. This year I was able to participate in their fundraiser Pie In the Sky. I was able to help prepare pies that would be used in the fundraiser- best experience to date! Overall, I am impressed by how "lean" the organization is (90 cents for every dollar goes to services for clients) and how they are able to deliver to such a wide area (from Lawrence to Brockton.) I have and will continue to encourage others to volunteer (especially on Saturdays!) because every experience I have had with Community Servings has been fun and fulfilling.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

December 8, 2011

more

December 8, 2011

It's no wonder so many people enjoy volunteering at Community Servings. This organization is well run, and does an incredible job making all their volunteers feel welcome. Volunteers come in as strangers and quickly become friends. The staff and fellow volunteers at Community Servings actually make the work fun! The mere fact that many people have being volunteering at Community Servings for years is a reflection of how great it is.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

December 8, 2011

more

December 8, 2011

I have been a Saturday volunteer for approximately 4 years now. I am part of a regular contingent of volunteers who have dubbed themselves the "Slice and Dice Crew" We show up every Saturday we can to help prepare the hundreds of meals that are delivered on a daily basis. Everyone from administration to kitchen staff is dedicated to the mission of the organization. There is never a Saturday where I show up where there is not much to do. Milford Jenkins otherwise known as "The Great Chef" should be given much recognition for the ongoing an continued draw and dedication of the vounteers. I think many of us return because of the respect and love we have for Chef. The kitchen is a well oiled machine where everything that needs to get done always done and everyone feels appreciated. We also are confident that the dollars we donate go directly to the clients and not to pad someones salary!I have particiapted in the Pie in the Sky Fundraiser for the past 3 years selling pies at Thanksgiving one of the organizations major fundraisers. Everyone always likes pie and .97 cents on the dollar goes directly to he client and everyone likes to hear that! Finally, one expereince for me sums it all. It was a usual Saturday of food prep. We were finished with our jobs and sat down at lunch. Chef weekly has us all introduce ourselves and say why we are ther. We were going around the room when a woman replied I am here to say thank you. You were there for me when my husband passed and I will always be grateful. What else can I say?

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I see first hand all the meals prepared and delivered to the hundreds of clients.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

There is nothing to improve upon. I always feel well-utilized and welcome.

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

Huge impact - new kitchen skills and I have a whole new family!

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

I continue to return every Saturday....awesome!

December 7, 2011

more

December 7, 2011

Community Servings is a great place to volunteer. The organization does amazing things for those in need. In terms of the actual volunteer experience, everyone involved is very friendly and welcoming. It is a tight knit group of people that are interested in the well being of others around them.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

December 7, 2011

more

December 7, 2011

I am a Saturday Volunteer for Community Servings. Great Chef Milford greets every volunteer with a smile and makes everyone feel welcomed. During the fall, I was a pie seller for the annual Pie in the Sky Campaign. Ana Leon, Development Associate was well organized and provided me with detailed instructions. As a job seeker and volunteer, Community Servings provides me a professional environment where I can help those who are less fortunate then me.

Photos

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

December 7, 2011

more

December 7, 2011

I absolutely love my Community Servings family! Everyone is super warm and arrive ready to serve through chopping, cleaning, packing etc even on cold Saturday mornings. I am so blessed to be a part of this family.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

December 7, 2011

more

December 7, 2011

Community Servings is an organization with a large heart of gold. Their service to the needs of people with life-threatening illness is amazing and their respect and treatment of their volunteers is incredible. You feel welcomed with open arms, the energy level in the kitchen is always high, you work hard but with a true feeling of group effort and the people in charge want you to truly feel "a part" of their world/environment. Could not think of a more positive volunteer experience. I volunteered for the first time over five years ago and am disappointed when my own life demands interfere with my ability to get back there on a regular basis.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Slice and dice vegetables to prepare a soup or salad for over 800 home bound clients living with critical illnesses Volunteer