Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
10 Reviews
12345
Previous | Next
Write A Review
September 17, 2013

more

September 17, 2013

I discovered CMC in 2006, when a friend and I were preparing a voice + violin recital. We were in search of the perfect place for our "family + friends" performance, and CMC was recommended to us by another violinist. I absolutely fell in love with the space at first sight. In the middle of the hustle & bustle of the Mission district exists this magical secret garden where beautiful music is learned, practiced, and performed. Day or night, summer or winter, CMC is a magical treasure right in the heart of SF.

Over the years, I have given 3 recitals at CMC, and in 2013, I joined the Board of Directors. I am honored to be a part of CMC's long history and to be able to introduce such a fantastic place to more peers in my generation.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 17, 2013

more

September 17, 2013

I don't know anything about music, but I fell in love with CMC from the website. It's a great experience to walk by and hear the music. People of all ages who can't afford music lessons have access to the highest quality lessons. I took music theory classes and has a ball! My life has been enriched by being a part of Community Music Center!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 6, 2013

more

September 6, 2013

I didn't know anything about music. I took cello classes with a great instructor and music fundamentals there and I found a great pleasure with my teachers. Despite the fact that I was a beginner and I had no clue and background in music and I'm a Spanish speaker, they were able to teach me kindly and their classes were well prepared and I learned a lot. The classes are affordable and the great deal of quality is priceless.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

no changes

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 1, 2011

more

February 1, 2011

I'd wanted to play the oboe ever since, as a young boy, I listened to the duck on Peter and the Wolf. Later, as a college student, I heard John De Lancie play. Playing oboe became a secret passion; but steeped in perfectionism or was it defeatism, held myself back, until finally at 60 it became, "I have no time or money, but I'd better get started"

With no expectation of actually being able to ever produce 'music' I began. Shortly after beginning, I joined a Community Music Center small ensemble. Years later, with the help of wonderful instructors from CMS, I'm now playing better than I could have imagined, and more important, have discovered the deep pleasure and satisfaction in the process of attentive practice, and attentive listening when playing ensemble.

I had no idea playing for an audience is a skill, like ensemble, that improves with practice. CMC provides the triad of individual and ensemble instruction, and performance experience that developed more skill and satisfaction than I believed possible.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I cannot adequately express my deep appreciation for the help of CMC and my teachers for helping me realize a lifelong repressed dream. To keep growing at my age (70+) is a source of great joy. For this gift, I thank CMC. As an aside, I want to add that it makes me giggle to join the stream of kids from all backgrounds turning to CMC for training in all the world's music.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I think this is a superb organization fulfilling an important mission of bring musical arts training to all members of our community. It is my intention to post this to the Arts 2011 campaign, but the drop down menu wasn't cooperating. Hope you'll fix that for me.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

How did you find this group?

a friend told me

What, if any, change in your life has this group encouraged?

developed my self confidence and joy

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

January 31, 2011

more

January 31, 2011

The Community Music Center makes music lessons and performances accessible for all who wish to participate. CMC is commited to making music lessons available to all regardless of income level. A large porion of those studying receive financial aid.

CMC offers a great deal to the
community. For students, it provides a great enviornment to study music. For instructors, it offers a stimulating setting for collaboration. For the community, it provides a wide variety of events. All events are free or very modestly priced.

CMC uses music for personal growth, professional fulfillment and community sharing.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

observing individuals of all ages and backgrounds studying music, participating in performances and demonstrating growth and pride in their musical accomplishments. This is particularly visible with the children's chorus and teen musicians. When they perform, they very openly show their enthusiasm and pride.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

provide a way to increase its visibility. In addition to the music lessons, CMC offers great concerts and many are free. The organization works to get their message out. They publicize their events and have a good website but still could use greater recognition.

January 28, 2011

more

January 28, 2011

Community Music Center in San Francisco, CA is an institution that serves people of all ages who are interested in music, theory and practice, and I have taken advantage of both offers. The teachers and professors are of excellent quality and with the versatility to address the needs of children as well as adults. Under the present city, state and national budgetary limitations, the programs offered by the Center are essential for, and complement, the well-rounded development of the children affected. I am a senior citizen and the student that takes the subsequent piano lesson is a boy 9 years of age. Simultaneously, the studio next door has a violin lesson and on the other side another piano lesson is going on. The Center has a main office and a branch, which is where I take my lessons. There is, evidently, enough demand for this service in town to take advantage of both sites.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

As a senior citizen learning to play the piano Community Music Center has fulfilled my interests and aspirations in ways I didn't realize were possible or existed. Presently I continue with both, theory and practice, and plan to continue indefinitely.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Improve their facilities by insulating the studios. The Center offers regularly concerts by its faculty and students. Its auditorium facility is modest but adequate, often with full houses when these and other artists participate in conveniently priced performances. Some of their studios are barely adequate due to their small size; enlarging the main facility would be a tremendous improvement for the Center and the community at large.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

How did you find this group?

By looking for a place where I could take piano lessons; in addition it had been recommended that I take music theory as an aid to understand the structure of the pieces that I would be studying. The San Francisco Conservatory would be an overkill and I wouldn't be able to afford it (it's a professional school with tuition to match). The Center also has a variety of teachers to choose from, a great advantage as I have changed teacher once at the same place and tuition.

What, if any, change in your life has this group encouraged?

After retiring from the practice of architecture, I have come to understand and appreciate another art that I have always loved but never had the opportunity to explore and practice. I wish I had had the determination and time to pursue this field earlier.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

January 19, 2011

more

January 19, 2011

CMC is a community music school for everyone. It has many students on scholarship, and does not turn anyone away for lack of funds. It also serves the general public, including adult students. The teachers at CMC are dedicated professionals -- you can learn classical, jazz, rock, or just about any style of music from teachers who practice their art full time.
CMC has two primary locations in SF -- in the Mission and the Richmond Districts. Even so, they are filled to the rafters most weekday afternoons and evenings, and I wish there were more teaching and practice rooms.
One of the unique things about CMC is its concert calendar. There are free concerts all year long, featuring students and teachers, and occasionally a world-class artist will stop by for a free concert with conversation. CMC also has a chorus and orchestra who give concerts in the school's auditorium and elsewhere in the community.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Besides my private lessons, I've attended many concerts at CMC's auditorium in the Mission District.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Hopefully with more funding, CMC can add to its classroom space and acquire additional instruments for student use.

January 18, 2011

more

January 18, 2011

I have been on the Board of Community Music Center for only three years but I have come to have great respect for their mission and programs and all the people they serve. Fees for music lessons and classes are on a sliding scale based on need; many people who would otherwise not have access to quality music education can experience the joy of making music.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Attending musical concerts and recitals

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Tell more people about the organization. The more widespread the knowledge of the good work that we do, the more people we can serve

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

How did you learn about this organization?

A friend and fellow trustee

What is this organization's top short-term priority?

Recruiting a new Executive Director and transitioning to new leadership

What is its top priority in the long run?

Growth and maintenance of high quality music education

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

January 14, 2011

more

January 14, 2011

San Francisco is the home of a vibrant music education and performing nonprofit institution, that for the past 90 years has been dedicated to offering the entire SF Bay Area community the opportunity to study and make music by eliminating obstacles associated with income level, age, experience and ethnic background.





With two main locations; the central and original center in the heart of the Mission (San Francisco's largest Latino community) and a more recent facility serving the Richmond neighborhood district, the Community Music Center continues to fulfill its core mission with great success! Much of this success must be attributed to an outstanding, professional instrumental, vocal and composition faculty (approx. 120), a hard working, energetic and highly capable professional staff, a very effective, active and supportive board of directors and, for the past 33 years, the superb leadership of Executive Director Stephen Shapiro. The other part of that equation, of course, is the large (2,367 strong as of 2010!), diverse and enthusiastic student body and guest artists whose energy, talents and love of music form the heart beat of CMC.





In addition to individual private lessons in all major traditional instruments, voice, theory, ear training, composition, music therapy, Alexander Technique and Feldenkrais, CMC also offers instruction in


accordion, banjo, electric bass, recorder and traditional Chinese instruments. An array of performing ensembles and workshops are available for students to participate in including jazz, chamber music, chorus, flute choir, Latin-Flamenco, Middle Eastern/Turkish/Eastern European Music, opera, musical theater, string orchestra, Children's chorus and Latin vocal. Many students take advantage of these and other opportunities for performance, and in fact, CMC hosts over 150 concerts on average annually.





Two other important programs of note more recently established:





The Mission DIstrict Young Musicians Program, a collaborative effort with a number of Mission District organizations and schools speaks to CMC's desire to extend its offerings through significant efforts with community outreach, and,





The Adult Certificate Program, designed for adult students at any skill level who are interested in an integrated and intensive course of study that includes private instrumental/voice lessons, theory and musicianship, ensemble participation and performance under the guidance of a faculty member/advisor.





In accordance with its core mission, CMC provided financial assistance and scholarships to over 60% of its students in 2010!





The Community Music Center is wonderful place to study, make and hear music!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

As a member of the Board of Directors, I have enjoyed supporting, overseeing and participating in a period of significant growth for CMC, including increased student activity and hosted concerts, the implementation of major program initiatives, an increase in community outreach and effective board and staff development. All while continuing to preserve and maintain the core mission of accessibility and quality, no mean feat, considering the substantial economic challenges of the past few years.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

No changes at this time.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

How did you learn about this organization?

I have been aware and involved with CMC from the time I began seriously studying music with the trumpet at the age of nine over forty years ago.

What is this organization's top short-term priority?

The chief priority is identifying and transitioning to a new Executive Director this year following the retirement of Stephen Shapiro after 33 years of leadership.

What is its top priority in the long run?

There are at least 3 major priorities: Overall continued growth in the form of expansion (student enrolement and facilities); Innovation (programs & technology) Continued vibrancy (sustaining the core mission through financial viability and development).

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

January 12, 2011

more

January 12, 2011

CMC is a model organization serving a diverse community opening its doors on a siding scale to anyone of any age or income who desires music lessons.



CMC teaches a vast array of every imaginable instrument and recently celebrated its 90th anniversary! A non-profit that's been
around for 90 years! Wow! The staff is dedicated and the instructors are inspiring musicians themselves.



I've worked as a volunteer advisor on technology, a photographer and a donor for CMC. I have also been a student of a piano with the talented and inspiring faculty.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I took fantastic piano lessons with a dedicated and inspiring teacher!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I can't recommend any changes except to continue to do what they're doing and perhaps expand their offerings to help more people.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Distribute fliers in their neighborhood letting people know about the resources available to them at CMC.