Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
11 Reviews
1234.727275
Previous | Next
Write A Review
February 25, 2013

more

February 25, 2013

The Safe School Ambassadors Program has become part of the foundation of our Safe Schools Initiative. Over the past 8 years, we have expanded the program to almost all of our middle and high schools. The student approach has lead to some wonderful outcomes as kids begin to really take on concern for their peers. As the district coordinator for the program, I continue to be both a support and an advocate for the SSA Program.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Quite well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 24, 2013

more

February 24, 2013

As a County Office of Education Prevention Programs Coordinator it has been my honor to work closely with Community Matters staff for almost two decades. From Community Matters founder Rick Phillips to all of the trainers and staff, we have always found their level of professionalism and support to be of the highest caliber. We have engaged with Community Matters to do the 24 Hour Relay Challenge to support youth development programs like peer helpers, Friday Night Live and Safe School Ambassadors.
For over 10 years we have worked closely with Community Matters staff and trainers to do initial training sessions and follow up support for the Safe School Ambassadors program, including a close partnership to conduct training of trainers for a group of local SSA trainers. The Community Matters staff are always helpful, friendly and fully engaged to offer support for our school safety efforts. This collaborative partnership has truly helped us to engage youth as leaders to keep their schools safe.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 23, 2013

more

February 23, 2013

The Community Matters Safe School Ambassadors program has been an integral part of our school district's comprehensive diversity awareness initiative. Started at one of our schools in 2006, the successful program is now at eleven of our sites. CM has supported our efforts by providing trainers, instructional materials and refresher workshops. Our District has received multiple regional and State awards for its diversity and anti-bullying efforts, and CM has been a major partner with us.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 8, 2013

more

February 8, 2013

In October 2012 as part of our regional "Anti-bullying" programs with schools, the representatives of Community Matters presented to our local representatives. Their "common sense" and methodical approach was well received and at least two of our Western Pennsylvania schools are interested to hear more!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 2, 2013

more

February 2, 2013

In October of 2012, I had the pleasure of hosting a Safe Schools Conference in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania. This conference was strategically aligned with National Anti-Bullying Awareness Month and National Cyber Security Month. My overarching goal was to provide conference attendees with Subject Matter Experts from the Public, Private and Non-Profit Sectors, to create new levels of awareness and potential solutions to the growing epidemic of bullying in schools, homes and in the workplace .

After intense research and thoughtful consideration, I decided to contact Community Matters to see if they would be willing to serve as a representative from the Non-Profit sector. In working collaboratively with William Grace Frost (Director of Strategic Operations - Community Matters) I discussed the need to secure a speaker from their Instructor Cadre. In planning this conference, I knew I wanted one of the presenters to share insight about the "Financial Impacts of Bullying", which is rarely discussed. I was pleasantly suprised to hear that Rick Phillips (Founder and Executive Director), was willing to travel from the West Coast to the East Coast (greater than 2500 miles), and would underwrite the costs of travel and lodging to support this effort. That type of dedication in the provision of community outreach is exemplary of the pearls of wisdom shared by Ghandi ... "Be the change that you wish to see in this world". Some Non-Profits "write" a mission statement, Community Matters - lives their mission.

Community Matters is a solutions based organization, which continues to have a positive impact throughout the United States and beyond. The entire team at Community Matters works tirelessly to promote the mission and goals of "their" organization. This is evidenced through their passion, dedication and committment in their ongoing develpment of strategic initiatives and community outreach which serves to change the world in which we live.

Carol Adams

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 1, 2013

more

February 1, 2013

Community Matters represents a critically important initiative to provide real and sustainable programs designed to mitigate bullying and violence in our schools. This "inside-out" approach is without question the best, and I think, only viable and feasible manner in which we can hope to truly impact significant numbers of our nation's children and public education institutions. It enables kids to impact the essential culture of their schools by empowering their natural inclination to step up and "do the right thing", exercising with courage their natural sense of fairness and equity. What we desperately need now is the will of adult leadership to provide the meager intellectual and financial support to replicate the growing number of successful Safe School Ambassador programs across the country.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers