Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
32 Reviews
1234.843755
Write A Review
October 28, 2013

more

October 28, 2013

I have had the pleasure to be coming to the Community Kitchen once a month for two years now through my employment at Whole Foods Market. I get to work with dedicated, hard working staff and wonderful other volunteers. It is one of our core values at Whole Foods to support our community. This is a beautiful opportunity to give back to those less fortunate as myself. It is my pleasure to be a part of this once a month., and will continue to do so, and encourage others to do so.
It is a true blessing to work with everyone here and help others at the same time.
Bill Anderson
Whole Foods Market

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 17, 2013

more

September 17, 2013

As part of our Nationwide Financial Executive Assistants group, I was happy to volunteer on September 11 at our local Soup Kitchen located on Ohio Avenue in Columbus, Ohio. It was evident that Eric, the chef, had a great amount of culinary expertise. He was professional and provided us with instructions as we served breakfast, then helped prepare and serve lunch. I was suprised by the hearty lunch that was provided. It's apparent that Carol Trowbridge Neubauer (Pres/CEO) and her staff has great relationships with our local food bank and restaurants who provide the kitchen with the items necessary for meal preparation. The Soup Kitchen provides a great service to those in need and they should be commended for their work that benefits so many in the area.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

none

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 12, 2013

more

September 12, 2013

Our group of Nationwide Financial Admistrative Assistants volunteerd at the Soup Kitchen as part of a team building experience combined with business meeting held at the facility. We found that the staff was very accomodating, professional and sincere. We assisted serving breakfast and helped prepare and then serve lunch. Eric, the Chef, was very patient with our large group and kept us all very active and engaged. Along the way he passed along very valuable information to individuals who asked as a group collectively. It was a very humbling and rewarding experience to be able to help such a great cause to feed the people. Carol Trowbridge Neubauer spent about 30 minutes with our group in our meeting detailing the purpose and goals of the Community Soup Kitchen. Very informative and well presented. Great Non-Profit for Central Ohio, one which needs to be recognized and appreciated!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 12, 2013

more

September 12, 2013

Our group volunteered in the kitchen and had an excellent experience working with Eric. It was so organized and well run. He knows how to handle every situation.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 12, 2013

more

September 12, 2013

We worked in the kitchen with Chef Eric. It was amazing at how efficient and well run the Community Kitchen is. Everyhing is on a timed schedule and it runs smoothly. The food looked delicious and well balanced. Everything is fresh and made from scratch and I believe the clients appreciated it. Everyone showed each client the utmost respect and dignity.

The clients seemed to have great respect for Chef Eric. The clients sat in the dining room talking to each other and watched us prepare noon meal. I believe they truly appreciated that people go to so much work just to let them have hot, home cooked food.

It was an experience that I will never forget. Carol Trowbridge Neubaurer's passion for her work came through during her presentation and it was inspiring; find a cause you are passionate about and then work at it to the best of your ability and resources.

Excellent experience!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

As well run as it is, it works for them and for the clients. I wouldn't change anything.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 23, 2013

more

August 23, 2013

The Community Kitchen is not well known from a philanthropic standpoint and needs a lot more in the way of donations--food, supplies, crafts and games. I volunteer on Wednesday evenings which is family dinner. Parents and children are welcomed with open arms and no registration or referral required. A hot meal is served and volunteers do crafts and play games with the children. Donated books are available for them to take home. I see middle school and high school boys and girls sitting together playing board games after dinner, children making crafts and girls playing hool-a-hoop. The evening ends too quickly for most of the kids. The Community Kitchen also serves breakfast and lunch. They have been giving out school supplies and these children are thrilled to receive even the smallest treat. They are so grateful and never ask for anything that isn't already provided. Sometimes the cook has to put together a meal with very sparse resources. They are not currently receiving help from United Way but are trying to and need the help. The few paid staff members have a dedication that is remarkable but volunteers are always needed.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Try to offer more healthy but kid-friendly food and even a little something to take home such as a piece of fruit or bagged snack like cookies, crackers or fruit snacks. When we allowed them to take home the small cutie oranges you would have thought they were getting cash. Also, I'd like to see the food line open just a bit longer for seconds as long as there is food left and not have the abrupt "closing shop". The early birds often get a second helping and the slow eaters are cut off.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 23, 2013

more

July 23, 2013

I worked as part of a volunteer day that my coworker who is a parishoner at Saint John set up. It was truely a great experience to get to work with the Community Kitchen. They are a small group of people that are working hard to do great things will very little resources.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 13, 2013

more

July 13, 2013

I am a parishioner of Holy Rosary Saint John Parish. I set up a Volunteer day for My Sales Team. I work for Astellas Pharmaceuticals. My Manager and none others worked at the Community Kitchen July 12. They are extremely Professional and organized down to a science. What I like most is that is is not just about feeding people. They embrace people being able to watch television in a safe haven and The Children are a Priority. Children get blue trays and all the food served. THEY ARE SPECIAL. I plan to volunteer again and bring my 19 yr old son he has also helped out several years ago. keep up the Excellent Work Community Kitchen Staff. it is very clean!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 12, 2013

more

July 12, 2013

I see everyone being treating as if they are the most important person. Workers and volunteers treat each client with dignity. Clients respond with thank yous. Food and toiletries are an addition to the dignity each receives.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

have more work for the office volunteers to do.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 24, 2013

more

May 24, 2013

Recently I had the pleasure to take a group of peers to volunteer with me at CKI. This was my first time volunteering however you never really know until you're immersed in it and see first hand the effect that this tiny building is giving to all who enter. Each person regardless of if it's their first time or 50th is treated with respect and dignity. No questions asked no excuses needed just a place to get a meal, meet a friend, partake in the multiple resources and find a little bit of solace in an ever increasing difficult world, Although we worked hard it was clear that we made a difference that day. Each person felt the gratitude of the staff and volunteers of CKI along with that of the guest. If you're looking for an opportunity to feel needed, or to give back, or to pay it forward or simply to find an appreciation for your own good fortune make sure to put CKI on your list of "must do's" !

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers