Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
22 Reviews
1234.636365
Write A Review
January 17, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

January 17, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

CHW was instrumental to saving my home. I fell upon dificult times but did not want to lose my home. I worked with CHW, Ms. Regina Bradley Sturdivant, and was able to save my home and regain my confidence as a home owner. I was relieved to see that there are valuable resources out there that can assist people such as myself from losing our homes. Furthermore, I liked their services so much that I referred them to my brother and another close friend that was in simular situations. All of which had positive outcomes. Thank you CHW and Ms. Regina Bradley Sturdivant for outstanding service and support even when I saw no light at the end of my own tunnel.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 19, 2012

more

November 19, 2012

With help from CHW's awesome Financial Fitness Guru, Carmen Amigon, I learned how to improve my credit and keep my eye on my dream to save for a home. I increased my credit score by over 100 points in 6 months with Carmen's help.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 15, 2012

more

November 15, 2012

As a single mother, I did everything possible to provide my son with a good stable home. I felt that after all of those years of hard work, it was time to start building wealth. I had the priviledge of meeting the CHW team long before I ever knew I would need their assistance. As a matter of fact, I helped host many of the trainings they provided. As I sat and listened, I realized I too could use their help. That's when I connected to Carmen. She was wonderful. We worked on a budget and gave me a good road map to help me purchase my home. It took awhile, but with new financial habits and dedication, I was able to pay off all of my debt and purchase my first home. I thank Carmen and the team at CHW for always being there when I needed them. Thank you for everything!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 15, 2012

more

November 15, 2012

CHW was a blessing for me..i found myself in a financial bind,and fell behind on my mortgage payments.i found out about CHW,and walked in,and had regina as my counselor...she was a god send..she dealt with my bank,and helped me to get a modification for my home..about a year later,because of some medical issues i found myself behind again.i got in touch with regina,and she again was a tremendous help by pointing me in the right direction to get help again.the point to my story is that even after a year regina,and CHW were still there to help..without them i would have no roof over my head,and i owe regina,and CHW a debt of gratitude..

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 14, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I was reluctant to make a phone call to ask for assistance with my mortgage loan situation. I finally called in February 2012. CHW provided a welcoming, very informative and comforting environment for me. I still remember Michael's name. He is the person that answer the phone and began my process. A few weeks later a met with Sergio, a financial counselor. Both made me feel at ease and answered all of the questions I had. I am still in my home. I am making better decisions about my financial situation. I am very grateful that CHW offers programs and education for the San Diego community.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

I first learned about CHW when I was living in a CHW managed property. They offered money management classes that I signed up for...they were the best thing that I could have done for myself and my family. I see money differently, I look at credit differently; I have learned that there are no quick fixes when it comes to upping that credit score. You must inconvenience yourself a little and sacrifice a lot! I have been working with Carmen at CWH and she has been a great advisor and I consider her a friend, she has made me feel very comfortable; I feel that I can talk with her about all the dumb financial decision that I have made and she never judges me but offers great advice. I have fully enjoyed working with CHW financial department and home buying division and would recommend anyone to them for assistance with money management and financial advice.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Likely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

I worked with CHW to get a loan for a new home. For starters, I would have never been able to get into such a beautiful home without the help and the programs available at CHW. Even though I am very responsible, I still learned some new things at the new homeowner's course that was valuable in me getting the best loan possible. Also, the seller asked for an incredibly fast close, and my team (and they really were a team) raced ahead of the clock and had everything ready to close 5 days ahead of time! When I tell people about my experience with CHW, they are stunned. CHW proves the exception when it comes to home buying in this crazy California market. I felt like I was kept in the loop the whole time and felt like I knew what was going on every step of the way. To top it off, we were able to do EVERYTHING through email so I didn't have to use any extra gas or waste any extra time making trips to and from CHW to sign papers.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

Due to a recent divorce I am in jeopardy of losing my house. The Credit Union that I have my mortgae through has been absolutely horrible. This has been the toughest time in my life. My Credit Union has caused me so much extra stress, unhappiness and helplessness. I don't want to give up though I want to exhaust all efforts to save my house. This is when I turned to Community Housing Works. What a great advocate for the people they are. I have been working with Regina Sturdivant and Karla Macias who have been absolutely wonderful in helping me. I highly recommend CHW they are such a great company and really there for the people. Regardless of what happens, I am very thankful for the help and encouragement they have given me.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 13, 2012

more

November 13, 2012

The information that I learned from CHW helped me to increase my credit score. I am forever grateful for that. I was able to negotiate some debts and pay them off. I was also able to reduce my spending with some of the tools that I received from the class. There was so much information that I obtained from taking this class. I have recommended it to quite a few of my friends. I look forward to working with them in the future when I am ready to buy my first home.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 13, 2012

more

November 13, 2012

CHW helped me purchase my first home last month. I worked with both the Lending team and the Realty team to buy a previously foreclosed home that CHW purchased directly from the bank then renovated and resold to me and my husband. I also took the Homebuyer Education Class, which helped me to learn more about the process of purchasing a home. The staff was friendly and professional and helped me through the entire process. I feel very fortunate to have worked with CHW!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Be a guest reader at one of our Family Literacy Nights, tutor children after school in one of our 15 Learning Centers, facilitate a financial workshop for low-income families...there are many opportunities to donate your time! Volunteer