Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
22 Reviews
1234.636365
| 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

Due to a recent divorce I am in jeopardy of losing my house. The Credit Union that I have my mortgae through has been absolutely horrible. This has been the toughest time in my life. My Credit Union has caused me so much extra stress, unhappiness and helplessness. I don't want to give up though I want to exhaust all efforts to save my house. This is when I turned to Community Housing Works. What a great advocate for the people they are. I have been working with Regina Sturdivant and Karla Macias who have been absolutely wonderful in helping me. I highly recommend CHW they are such a great company and really there for the people. Regardless of what happens, I am very thankful for the help and encouragement they have given me.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 13, 2012

more

November 13, 2012

Community HousingWorks is improving our community by providing beautifully planned affordable housing and by offering valuable services to the residents who live there. The newly renovated apartment complex that I toured in Poway far exceeded my expectations. I had no idea of all the services Community HousingWorks provides to help residents of all ages -- from children through seniors -- have better lives.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 13, 2012

more

November 13, 2012

The information that I learned from CHW helped me to increase my credit score. I am forever grateful for that. I was able to negotiate some debts and pay them off. I was also able to reduce my spending with some of the tools that I received from the class. There was so much information that I obtained from taking this class. I have recommended it to quite a few of my friends. I look forward to working with them in the future when I am ready to buy my first home.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 13, 2012

more

November 13, 2012

CHW helped me purchase my first home last month. I worked with both the Lending team and the Realty team to buy a previously foreclosed home that CHW purchased directly from the bank then renovated and resold to me and my husband. I also took the Homebuyer Education Class, which helped me to learn more about the process of purchasing a home. The staff was friendly and professional and helped me through the entire process. I feel very fortunate to have worked with CHW!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 13, 2012

more

November 13, 2012

I was able to purchase my first home because of the assistance CHW offered me. After attending the Homebuyer Class I worked with a loan officer who told me about the down payment assistance programs. Soon after began working with a CHW realtor who was very professional and found me the place that I can now call my own!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

November 13, 2012

more

November 13, 2012

I am a happy brand new homeowner! I have recently purchased my first home and because of CHW I was able to turn in all document required in order for me to get my FHA loan. I attended one of the many wonderful educational classes that CHW has to offer. I found Homeowner education class absolutely informative and helpful towards the purchase of my first home. Along with taking the class you receive a homeowner certificate that you will need to turn in with your paperwork towards the purchase of your new home. CHW made this possible with flexible class schedules including Saturday workshops like the one I attended.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 13, 2012

more

November 13, 2012

Community Housing Works has helped me put school as a first priority and helped me manage my time, I am VERY thankful for that. Our coordinator is very patient when we dont understand or when we just dont care. I have met so many new people due to all the summits and classes that I have gone to, which can be fun sometimes. THE END.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Likely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 13, 2012

more

November 13, 2012

I was referred to CHW by a good friend. After speaking with a counselor I learned that CHW offered classes for first-time hombuyers. I took the class and learned all of the steps in the process to prepare me to purchase my first home. When I was ready to purchase I worked with both a Lender and a Realtor from the organization that helped get me started. They let me know everything that was needed to close my escrow and helped to guide me through the process. Their team helped me to find a very spacious home in a beautiful neighborhood for an amazing price. Because of the experience & the guidance that I received from working with CHW I have acheived homeownership for the benefit of my family.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 13, 2012

more

November 13, 2012

Due to my divorce I was losing my home it w as tramatic and stressful. I went to Community HousingWorks and received great advice and a sympathetic, compassionate ear. Without them I could not have had the courage to wend my way through the awful mess that I was in. I am now post short sale and am looking back and know that they gave me great advice and most of all hope. I refer them to everyone that is in this situation as well as when I get ready to purchase in a year or so, I intend to use their first time homebuyer services.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 13, 2012

more

November 13, 2012

Community Housing Works is an amazing non profit that helped my family and I make a difference in our lives! I was fortunate enough to be able to be a resident of one of CHW's affordable apartment communities, participate in all of their financial and homebuyer workshops, gain one to one support from staff, and use their lending department to purchase my very first home! CHW's Lending staff was able to guide me in attaining a unique affordable home loan and down payment assistance, and essentially help make my dream of homeownership my reality! I went from struggling to feeling confident and capable, and I am thankful that I had CHW there to help me achieve! I would definitely recommend Community Housing Works to anyone!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Be a guest reader at one of our Family Literacy Nights, tutor children after school in one of our 15 Learning Centers, facilitate a financial workshop for low-income families...there are many opportunities to donate your time! Volunteer