Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
22 Reviews
1234.636365
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
February 20, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

February 20, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Well, let me start by telling you that I was led to believe by these folks at C.H.W. that I could qualify for a down payment assistance program.
So I went to all the classes (money wasted) went to the consultation with two of their experts (waste of my time) after I spent all this time and
effort collecting all the forms and applications that they asked me for (more time and money wasted) and in the end they tell me, Oh! I'm sorry , you DO NOT qualify for these programs?! WTH?
So there you have it...expect nothing from these people!
Its all a scam to collect your info and present it to whomever they report (some government agency I'm guessing) and tell them what a great job they are doing in "helping people" and it helps them keep their jobs .
This is my review.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 17, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

January 17, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

CHW was instrumental to saving my home. I fell upon dificult times but did not want to lose my home. I worked with CHW, Ms. Regina Bradley Sturdivant, and was able to save my home and regain my confidence as a home owner. I was relieved to see that there are valuable resources out there that can assist people such as myself from losing our homes. Furthermore, I liked their services so much that I referred them to my brother and another close friend that was in simular situations. All of which had positive outcomes. Thank you CHW and Ms. Regina Bradley Sturdivant for outstanding service and support even when I saw no light at the end of my own tunnel.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 19, 2012

more

November 19, 2012

I have worked with CHW for several years and these are the most passionate people you will ever meet in your life! Their mission is always at work through their employees, volunteers, Board members and residents. I am very lucky to be able to partner with CHW, this is an exceptional organization.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 19, 2012

more

November 19, 2012

With help from CHW's awesome Financial Fitness Guru, Carmen Amigon, I learned how to improve my credit and keep my eye on my dream to save for a home. I increased my credit score by over 100 points in 6 months with Carmen's help.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 15, 2012

more

November 15, 2012

As a single mother, I did everything possible to provide my son with a good stable home. I felt that after all of those years of hard work, it was time to start building wealth. I had the priviledge of meeting the CHW team long before I ever knew I would need their assistance. As a matter of fact, I helped host many of the trainings they provided. As I sat and listened, I realized I too could use their help. That's when I connected to Carmen. She was wonderful. We worked on a budget and gave me a good road map to help me purchase my home. It took awhile, but with new financial habits and dedication, I was able to pay off all of my debt and purchase my first home. I thank Carmen and the team at CHW for always being there when I needed them. Thank you for everything!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 15, 2012

more

November 15, 2012

CHW was a blessing for me..i found myself in a financial bind,and fell behind on my mortgage payments.i found out about CHW,and walked in,and had regina as my counselor...she was a god send..she dealt with my bank,and helped me to get a modification for my home..about a year later,because of some medical issues i found myself behind again.i got in touch with regina,and she again was a tremendous help by pointing me in the right direction to get help again.the point to my story is that even after a year regina,and CHW were still there to help..without them i would have no roof over my head,and i owe regina,and CHW a debt of gratitude..

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 14, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I was reluctant to make a phone call to ask for assistance with my mortgage loan situation. I finally called in February 2012. CHW provided a welcoming, very informative and comforting environment for me. I still remember Michael's name. He is the person that answer the phone and began my process. A few weeks later a met with Sergio, a financial counselor. Both made me feel at ease and answered all of the questions I had. I am still in my home. I am making better decisions about my financial situation. I am very grateful that CHW offers programs and education for the San Diego community.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

I first learned about CHW when I was living in a CHW managed property. They offered money management classes that I signed up for...they were the best thing that I could have done for myself and my family. I see money differently, I look at credit differently; I have learned that there are no quick fixes when it comes to upping that credit score. You must inconvenience yourself a little and sacrifice a lot! I have been working with Carmen at CWH and she has been a great advisor and I consider her a friend, she has made me feel very comfortable; I feel that I can talk with her about all the dumb financial decision that I have made and she never judges me but offers great advice. I have fully enjoyed working with CHW financial department and home buying division and would recommend anyone to them for assistance with money management and financial advice.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Likely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

I worked with CHW to get a loan for a new home. For starters, I would have never been able to get into such a beautiful home without the help and the programs available at CHW. Even though I am very responsible, I still learned some new things at the new homeowner's course that was valuable in me getting the best loan possible. Also, the seller asked for an incredibly fast close, and my team (and they really were a team) raced ahead of the clock and had everything ready to close 5 days ahead of time! When I tell people about my experience with CHW, they are stunned. CHW proves the exception when it comes to home buying in this crazy California market. I felt like I was kept in the loop the whole time and felt like I knew what was going on every step of the way. To top it off, we were able to do EVERYTHING through email so I didn't have to use any extra gas or waste any extra time making trips to and from CHW to sign papers.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

Community Housing Works has been a terrific partner for Foundation for Women. CHW has provided training for our staff as well as for the women who come to FFW for our microcredit, education and business support services. CHW and FFW serve a similar population - those trying to achieve self-sufficiency through better financial practices and pursuit of income generation. It's a natural fit, and the staff and management of CHW really get this. Through their actions they truly embody the idea of collective impact. This approach of working together will acheive a common outcome -- a better community for all.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Be a guest reader at one of our Family Literacy Nights, tutor children after school in one of our 15 Learning Centers, facilitate a financial workshop for low-income families...there are many opportunities to donate your time! Volunteer