Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
5 Reviews
1234.45
Write A Review
May 21, 2013

more

May 21, 2013

I have worked as an english-portuguese translator . I have translated articles of practical interest to residents in the communities served by CEN. I have also donated money to CEN. I was a member of the first group of tourists to travel with CEN to the communities served by CEN. We stayed in small local inns and in the homes of residents. The contact was very personal with many friends made near Santarem, Brazil, during our trip. The organization of the trip was excellent.

The communities are working on developing ecotourism in their areas and CEN is helping them develop and carry out their plans. CEN only provides primarily information and guidance, when asked. The residents themselves are making the plans and doing the work. We attended a large meeting at the end of our trip to give feedback and help the organizers further develop their plans.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

work to get more people to donate and to travel with CEN.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 20, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

June 20, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

I am a former board member (2006-2010) and volunteer of CEN. In 2007 I visited the communities in the Brazilian Amazon where CEN works. I believe that CEN’s emphasis on self-reliance is critical for these communities to break out of poverty. I am excited to see the evolution of CEN’s PRATICAR methodology which empowers community members to take on self-directed projects.
I also feel that I grew tremendously as a person and as a professional in the development field through my involvement with CEN. Since CEN is a fairly small organization, I always felt like I mattered, and that I was highly valued as a member of a team.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

Will you tell others about this organization?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

June 6, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 6, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

As a fundraising volunteer, I have found myself in a great position to tell people about our organization and the work being down in Brazil. Normally, people are very interested in the work but do not know how to help, which is why fundraising is such an important part of the work. We can engage our audience/members, while providing much needed support to our friends in the Brazil. I look forward to future projects that I will take on for CEN!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 2, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

June 2, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

When volunteering, I look for organizations that make a real difference and encourage growth, self-reliance. The Community Empowerment Network is still small, but the impact they have on adopted communities is lasting. Their volunteer efforts do more than just throw money at problems; this is an organization that understands the difference between creating dependence and helping communities grow into successful groups with the power to control the community destiny. Nearly every cent of every dollar directly benefits the projects and only one person in the entire organization receives a salary. That person is on the ground in Brazil and uses their modest salary to implement CEN projects full-time. That contact person devotes his time assisting the communities that would otherwise be lost in time, overrun by the modern expansion nearby. If you want to make a difference and know that someone’s life is better when they come in contact with your organization, I highly recommend the Community Empowerment Network whether you are volunteering locally in the Puget Sound area, virtually on your computer at home, or simply offering CEN activities fiscal support.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

That distance did not mean I was helpless. That my little part could contribute to the greater good and our community partners were benefiting in a self-sustainable manner so they would not be dependent on others for their own successes.

June 2, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

June 2, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I have been on the volunteer management team with CEN for a year. I chose the volunteer with this organization because of the focus on long term self-sustaining solutions to poverty instead of just one time hand outs. I am able to contribute the skills and knowledge gained from my professional career while also actively problem solving and learning from new experiences. In addition, this role is a great fit for me because it is virtual so I don't have to be in the same location as the rest of the team or find child care while I am volunteering. It is flexible so I am able to work when I have time instead of needing to block time off in my schedule. I like the freedom of being able to contribute ideas and stretch beyond what the rigid structure of the traditional work environment allows. For those who aren't able to work independently this role would not be a good fit, but for me it works very well.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers