Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
10 Reviews
1234.65
Write A Review
April 12, 2012

more

April 12, 2012

I began working at Community Bike Works in 2007, and have had the privilege of serving here for over five years this April. I am continually amazed at the way the mission is 'lived out' through the vairous multi-faceted programs that CBW offers. I truly feel that CBW continues to grow and thrive because of the strong foundation Stefan (Exec Director and Founder) has laid through the structured, smooth functioning Earn-A-Bike curriculum he has provided, and the constant openness and drive he exudes to improve current programs as well as add new ones. In the past five years, I have had the opportunity to watch CBW's drive for success manufacture itself in many measureable ways: 1. an increase in clients served annually from approximately 160 students in the 2007-8 fiscal year, to approximately 250 in the 2011-12 fiscal year 2. an impressive facility rennovation project that has increased efficiency as well as effectiveness in serving our clients 3. an increase in the number of staff members from one full-time and one part-time staff member, to three full-time and two part-time staff members (this is not including the paid student apprentices who have the opportunity to work here after completing the course and voluteering) 4. an increase from one offsite class per session (fall and spring), to five offsite classes per session (fall and spring) 5. the addition of a financial literacy program 6. a partnership with KidsPeace so that campus restricted clients of KidsPeace can enjoy the benefits of our program. Beyond these measurable results, I have also had the joy of experiencing first hand the value, guidance and meaning that CBW has added to the lives of many, many students. CBW is far more than an organization, and much more than a 'j-o-b'.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 10, 2012

more

Review from Guidestar
April 10, 2012

I became involved with CBW after meeting some students and a board member at a community event. I was very impressed with the poise and knowledge of the youth and immediately thought it was a very engaging and effective program for at-risk young people in center-city. I wish there were more programs like this -- the curriculum and mentoring relationships would be beneficial to all, but especially to those kids who need positive role models, unconditional regard, and respectful friendships.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 9, 2012

more

Review from Guidestar
April 9, 2012

Based on the recommendation of a colleague, I began volunteering with Community Bike Works (CBW) in 2008. At first, I was hesitant, because I do not know the first thing about Bike Mechanics, but, I happen to know quite a bit about inner-city children from my own personal experiences. Being a novice, I was paired with another volunteer who was fluent on the mechanics side of it, and it was shortly into my first session that I realized that bike mechanics, though a great skill to learn, are primarily a vehicle to get the kids in the door, be mentored and guided to make better life choices. I cannot tell you how much working with and getting to know the students in each one of the sessions has meant to me - growing up, I did not see many people that looked like me being successful in legitimate careers, and neither do a lot of these students. As I spoke to them, and they realized how much I had in common with them, I could see them opening up, and listening more, and thinking more. That is the greatest gift I can give, and CBW gave me the opportunity to do that. Stefan and the staff are organized, knowledgeable, and most importantly, passionate about and committed to the organization’s mission, and it comes across in every aspect of the programs. Though my current role, and its accompanying travel schedule do not allow me to participate as an Earn-A-Bike volunteer, I am still committed to the organization by participating as a Transition Committee member to assist in finding an Associate Director, to train under and one day replace, Stefan. As long as I am in the LV, I will look for a way to support this organization. Very few organizations have a mission that is so clearly executed through the programs and impact on the community. Kudos to CBW!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 5, 2012

more

Review from Guidestar
April 5, 2012

I started my volunteer service 2 years ago and have participated in every session since. The program works and you can see the positive changes in the kids from the first day they come in (quiet / unsure ) to the last day when they graduate and recieve their bikes ( exicted / expresssive / and proud) .

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 5, 2012

more

April 5, 2012

I started volunteering two years ago by doing unicycle demonstrations. Since then I've started to help teach an Earn A Bike class. This month I've been approved to be a mentor. There are so many aspects to this program that it would be hard to list them all. The reading program, the student aprentices, and the outreach program that takes the Earn A Bike class directly to the schools. All of these programs give a child a chance to relate work to reward in a fun atmosphere. I may retire some day from my regular job but I don't think I'll ever retire from CBW.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Teaching me how to teach and how to contribute by sharing some of my mechanical ability.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I can't imagine -

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

Just fine the way it is run.

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

Always nice to meet and work with other volunteers. I've never volunteered in a place that could use my mechanical skills and that was satisfying.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

Always rewarding when see a child respond.

April 5, 2012

more

April 5, 2012

I first volunteered at CBW in 1999. I only needed to participate in one Earn-a-Bike Session and I was hooked! Over the years, I've been a volunteer and Board Member. I am currently the Chair of the Board. CBW is about Kids, not bikes. That is the fundamental principal in which we follow, and is why we have been successful. Despite having volunteered with Bike Works for so long, I continue to be amazed at how many kids we minister to, despite a very small budget. The ED and staff do a great job managing the programs and relationships within the community. They continue to be innovative and adapt to the changing needs/opportunities of our clients. My first hand experience is that our kids love this program and get so much more out of it than a bike and a helmet. That's what keeps me coming back year after year!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 5, 2012

more

April 5, 2012

Our community is lucky to have Community Bike Works. They collaborate well with schools and other NGOs and are committed to leveraging the assets in Allentown. I love the fact that they have various positions that allow youth to take on different roles within the organization of increasing responsibility. I believe this promotes their work-ethic focus extremely well.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 3, 2012

more

Review from Guidestar
April 3, 2012

Having worked in the field of recreation for over 20 years, this program is by far the best program that I have ever been involved with. It offers so many postive benefits to our youth. It provides a safe environment for the youth to "escape" to while learning bicycle mechanic skills that would likely not be available to these children elsewhere. Both the employees and volunteers provide invaluable resourses to the youth. They provide postive mentoring as well as extensive knowledge about bicycle repair needs. Observing the children imporve their knoweldge as well as their self esteem and confidance is not matched in any other program that I have been involved with ever. Thank you Bike Works for providing this program to all children free of charge.... this truely is a "PRICELESS" opportunity in many ways.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 28, 2012

more

Review from Guidestar
March 28, 2012

Community Bike Works is a great asset to the Allentown community! I have been volunteering for the past four years and I always enjoy interacting with the staff, volunteers, and the youth they serve. I have seen students start the Earn a Bike class with an attitude and walk away with new found confidence and skills. CBW is successful in fostering a safe place for its students and provides several different programs to help them achieve success in life and school.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 4, 2010

more

Review from Guidestar
October 4, 2010

I began volunteering with Community Bike Works in the Winter of 2008. At first, I was nervous, not particularly being a bike enthusiast, nor knowing anything anout bike mechanics, other than what was written in the Instructor's Manual given to me before I started. That concern quickly dissipated as I began working with the children, and I realized that the bike mechanics were a tool to a greater ends, not the end of themselves. I got to know a group of wonderful children, who were eager to learn, and were at a critical point in their development. Being a younger volunteer, as well as an ethinic minority myself, I felt the children really wanted to learn more about me - why would someone like me want to take the time to do this? Though I enjoyed the instructional part, the mentoring aspect of this program is what has really affected me, and what has really affected the children involved. Many of these children live in my neighborhood, and I still get the opportunity to interact with them, telling me about their days at school, and truly bouncing ideas about dealing with their life situation.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

The fact that I am able to provide an alternate view, to give them a slightly different way to look at the world, is why this organization is so important to me, and is why I will continue to be involved, in any way that I can.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would be more direct with the volunteers - it is not about loving bikes, it is about wanting to help children reach their potential, and giving them tools on how to do that.

More feedback...

What I've enjoyed the most about my experience with this nonprofit is...

The fact that I am able to provide an alternate view, to give them a slightly different way to look at the world, is why this organization is so important to me, and is why I will continue to be involved, in any way that I can.

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

friendly and truly committed to the children involved.

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

Expand it be a national organization

Ways to make it better...

I had more time to give to the organization. Given that I travel quite a bit for work, so I have not been able participate in the Earn a Bike Program from some time.

In my opinion, the biggest challenges facing this organization are...

truly making parents understand how this organization can be helpful for their child(ren).

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers