Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
26 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
April 9, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 9, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

With CARES my family has gained knowledge and compassion for our community. Our children love volunteering. CARES has paved the path for our children to become compassionate adults. We are so grateful to have found CARES! Thanks to CARES our children are sharing their experiences with their peers.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 24, 2014

more

August 24, 2014

CARES has blessed countless animals with a safe haven. Our sweet Oscar the GREAT and Rugby the MAGNIFICINT were saved and healed by this AMAZING group. These two beautiful canines bring joy and delight to our home and to others in our community. I can't say enough about these wonderful folks at CARES! Their devotion to the animals welfare and their tireless efforts are true miracles. Please open your hearts and homes to CARES and lets continue to support their work. Adopt, foster, donate $, goods, time and please keep spreading the word. Share their efforts with everyone..... word of mouth, Facebook, etc. but keep the positive messages going. Bless you Lisa, Diane and ALL the volunteers and of course all the furry critters!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

They are the BEST ... I wouldn't change a thing!!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 8, 2014

more


1 previous review
April 7, 2013

CARES is a small rescue with a big heart and a passion for saving lives. Almost all our dogs are saved from death row at our local animal services. Our director, Lisa Lewis, seems to choose the soul... more

August 8, 2014

CARES co-founders, Lisa and Diane, have helped countless animals over the years. As I have often said, they have hearts bigger than their wallets, but that does not stop them from taking on the most needy dogs. They are also involved with the homeless dogs in our county. I have been fortunate to volunteer for them for several years, and have found that they are relentless in their efforts. My current foster came to us hairless, embedded collar, low thyroid, and one miserable pup. Thru their love and medical care with Dr. Jones, this little girl is now learning trust of humans, something she obviously never had. CARES has changed my life by showing me the true meaning of helping animals. CARES is a small rescue with a big heart.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

do nothing. Even tho their rescue is one of the nicest, cleanest I have ever seen, their dogs are top priority, and it shows.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 7, 2013

CARES is a small rescue with a big heart and a passion for saving lives. Almost all our dogs are saved from death row at our local animal services. Our director, Lisa Lewis, seems to choose the souls that need the most help; the sick, injured, needing surgery, etc. Her heart is bigger than our wallet! :) We do as many adoption events and fund raisers that we can so this shelter may continue. Our fur kids live on 5 acres in a mobile home dedicated just to them. This is the cleanest, most dog friendly shelter I have ever seen! CARES tries very hard to give them an environment that will teach them how to better live in their "furever" home, making them more adoptable. Love is the key ingredient. I always said "I could never volunteer, I would bring them all home!" Seeing them sad and rejected from death row, then giving them food, a bath and shelter, and knowing they are safe, their personality changes to one of happiness and joy! The biggest reward a volunteer can have! Thank you CARES. Our community is learning compassion for animals with you in our lives.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 7, 2014

more

August 7, 2014

InJan. 2008 I found a dog, online at the Miami Dade shelter that I knew was meant for me. I went down and was told he was sick and unavailable, but CARES had placed a hold on him. (CARES is 5 hours away from Miami.) I contacted Lisa who pulled him from the shelter....took him to CARES and nursed him back to health. I picked up Bo (aka Remy) a month later and he is now an amazing 7 yr. old boxer lying next to me on the sofa, as I type.
Thanks Lisa!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Can't think of a single thing!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2008

August 7, 2014

more

August 7, 2014

CARES gave my mother a second chance to find a dog whom she can love unconditionally. My parents their beloved Sammy.He was a special dog to us all. After some research, when we knew it was time to adopt another dog, my mother found this organization. They are the real deal. They are truly dedicated to helping take in dpgs that need medical help, emotional help, fostering and loving them and placing them with the right family. They don't just give away the.dogs. They interview the family to make sure its a right fit. Its been almost 2 yrs since my parents adpoted a wonderful little girl named Riley. We couldn't be happier. If it wasn't for CARES, we wouldn't have her in our lives. Thank you very much.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I wouldn't make any changes. CARES really cares about their cause and animals. I can only wish they continue to get donations that are greatly appreciated by them and the furry ones too!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 7, 2014

more

August 7, 2014

I met Lisa and Diane at a yard sale. They were there raising money for C.A.R.E.S. I was not ready for another dog. We had recently lost our older dog. Diane really listened when I said that I didn't want a puppy. I wanted an older dog, a "senior' dog. She was so patient and showed me every picture of every dog. Two months later I looked at the website and saw Truffles. Truffles had been with CARES for 18 months. They kept her all that time because the right people had never come along to adopt her. You see their animals don't just go to anybody. They do meet and greets with the whole family. They check their adopters. Because they CARE about the animals. I have since referred volunteers and adopters to this organization. Truffles is a perfect fit for our family.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Change nothing

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 7, 2014

more

August 7, 2014

C.A.R.E.S is truly an amazing organization. I volunteered with C.A.R.E.S for a couple years and continue to stay in touch with them now that I have moved out of the area. I do whatever I can for them because I know they are a trusted and reliable shelter. My friends and I give annual donations to this shelter and volunteer/assist in any of their fundraisers when possible. The events they host on a regular basis shows their dedication for supporting the animals they shelter. They provide a clean, loving and caring home for many "fur-kids" waiting to find their forever homes. Overall, I've volunteered with a few shelters and this organization far surpasses the others. They are excellent!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

make the shelter bigger so they could take in more wonderful animals!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 7, 2014

more

August 7, 2014

We adopted our little dog Toby from Cares who had rescued him after he had been taken in to a kill shelter by his previous owner. The did surgery on his floating patella and cherry eye. A lot of dogs (and cats) have found forever homes and benefited by their love of dogs and cats either from surgeries, heartworm treatments and everything in between.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make them closer to our home so we were able to volunteer for them.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 7, 2014

more

August 7, 2014

I can tell you just how wonderful C.A.R.E.S. is and the positive impact it has had on my life. After my fiancé passed away I decided to adopt a dog. Lisa at C.A.R.E.S. responded quickly to my email. She really listened to the type of dog I was looking for and matched me to the most perfect dog. However, when I went to meet my dog I not only fell in love with him, I fell in love with C.A.R.E.S.!! The rescue is beautiful and very clean. The dogs are on a schedule where lots of play and exercise is given. They are extremely well cared for with baths, grooming, medication, clean and comfy beds and given lots of love and attention. I became a volunteer and even fostered a dog. I learned from Lisa just how many animals are in need. I learned how to take care of dogs on a deeper level. I have personally seen sick, hurt, sad and broken spirited dogs enter the rescue and transform into happy, healthy, loving dogs! C.A.R.E.S. Works with community in so many ways. I will always have a place in my heart for this amazing rescue. They truly are life savers to not only animals but to people to.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

If I had to make changes it would be to give C.A.R.E.S. an updated washer and dryer as bedding is cleaned daily. I would give them everything on their wish list: beds, kennels for the yard, a tall fence for the jumpers, and a lawn service since it takes a long time to do the yards and that is precious time away from the fur kids.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 7, 2014

more

August 7, 2014

We decided in late 2013 we wanted to adopt a 2nd dog. We were always cat people, but adopted our first dog in late 2011. In early 2014, I started looking again. I didn't care if it was a puppy, adult, or special needs. We don't have a fenced yard, so a lot of larger breed dogs would not work for us. We found CARES on Petfinder and saw there was a litter of puppies available in late January. I filled out an application, was approved and drove 50 miles one way for the Meet & greet. We brought our other dog who is large, but submissive. He gave his "approval" and we went home with our border collie mix. Turns out the border collie is mixed with a very large lab as our 8 month old pup weighs over 60 pounds.

Our puppy was from a letter of 8. CARES had brought in the mom from a kill shelter and didn't know she was pregnant. When they were scheduled to do her spay they found out she was expecting. Fortunately they took on the added burden of delivering, vetting and adopting a healthy litter of 8. We are in contact with several of the litter mates families and it's fun to watch them grow. All puppies and mom were adopted quickly.

I follow dozens of rescue groups on Facebook and this group takes on difficult cases and finds homes for them. It was obvious to me that they love their work and the dogs and cats were all well cared for. The facility was clean, organized and adequate for the number of animals.

I recommend this group to anyone wanting to adopt a new furry family member.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

No changes needed

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Walk and play with dogs. Help bath, or simply brush out the long haired dogs. Giving one on one attention to these once forgotten pets means the world to them. Volunteer