Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
24 Reviews
12345
Previous | Next
Write A Review
January 16, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

January 16, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Last February I saw a post on Community Animal Rescue and Adoptions (CARA) facebook page about a 3-month old sheltie/shepherd mix puppy that had been found thrown out in a box on the side of the road. He was frozen, starved, dehydrated and in a coma. After receiving emergency medical from their vet, he was monitored and cared for 24 hours a day by the wonderful and caring staff at CARA. They would take turns taking him home at night so he could sleep next to someone and know if he woke up that there was a kind, loving hand there to help him. Feeding tubes were inserted and remained in for over 2 months. After several days, he woke from his coma but was unable to stand or walk. CARA continually sent out prayer requests for this puppy, Francis, who they named after St. Francis of Assisi. When he got a little stronger, they had a human physical therapist come to work with him. After several weeks of therapy several times a day, he was able to stand and eventually walk. The loving, caring people at CARA wanted nothing more than for this special puppy to find a loving home and live a happy life that we would hope all homeless animals could find. After weeks of going over applications and doing interviews we were the lucky family chosen to adopt this special puppy. Without the extra care and love of the dedicated staff at CARA, this puppy would not be here today.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

January 15, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

January 15, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

In February 2011 a friend posted a picture on Facebook of a tiny puppy who had been starved and frozen almost to death. He had been found by a loving couple and brought to CARA - Community Animal Rescue & Adoption the next morning. Under his picture CARA asked that people keep this tiny puppy in their thoughts and prayers, in the hopes that he could beat all the odds stacked against him. With the love and personal care by the people of CARA, the medical treatment of their vet, the help of a volunteer physical therapist, and the thoughts and prayers from people around the world that precious puppy did beat the odds and he now has a happy and loving forever family.

I was lucky enough in August 2011 to drive from Ontario Canada to Jackson Mississippi and meet not only Francis and his family, but to be able to go to CARA and meet the caring people who work there and all their fur babies in their care. CARA has a lot of homeless animals to look after and they do their best to find loving forever homes for them. Unfortunately there are some animals who will never find their very own homes, but they will still be loved and cared for because CARA will never euthanize any of the animals (they are a true NO-KILL shelter) unless the vet says nothing else can be done for them and they are suffering. If it should come to that, at least one of the caring people from CARA will be with the fur baby to the very end so they will know that they were truly loved. Even though I live in a different country, I will always admire and support CARA, and I am happy to have met and become friends with the wonderful people there.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 15, 2012

more

January 15, 2012

I first found out about CARA from a friend on Facebook. There had been a puppy brought to CARA by a very caring couple, who found him in a box, thrown out like trash, in the freezing weather. He was near death, in a coma. I followed that puppy everyday, several times a day... And the people at CARA gave him so much tender loving care. He was given special attention 24-7, as some of the CARA family took him home with them, not only to moniter and care for him, but also because they really didn't think he would live and just wanted him to feel love. He survived!! His name is Francis, as they named him after St. Francis. CARA had a physical therapist, who volunteered to come and help him, as he couldn't even walk. Ever since then I have been a CARA follower, and have witnessed one case of animal cruelty and neglect after another come through the doors of CARA, and seen the love, care, and tenderness they give to all of "their babies". I have never seen such a group of people be so unselfish, so giving, so caring, as the CARA family. I am happy and proud to say we have all developed a friendship that will last a lifetime. God Bless CARA!!

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers