Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
24 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
May 18, 2013

more

May 18, 2013

Great place doing god's work. They work very hard every day and help lots of animals. They take good care of their animals, too. Janet Madden is a fine example of what you need in a shelter director.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

none

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 31, 2012

more

January 31, 2012

I STARTED VOLUNTEERING AT CARA IN SEPTEMBER 2009. I HAD LOST MY HUSBAND THE YEAR BEFORE AND LOST MY MOTHER LAT SEPTEMBER 2009 I WAS VERY DEPRESSED . HELPING AT CARA BY WORKING WITH AND TRAINING SOME DOGS HELPED ME FEEL NEEDED AND USEFUL. I FELT THE DOGS HELPED ME MORE THAN I HELPED THEM. I FEEL AS IF I AM GREATLY BLESSED BY BEING ABLE TO HELP EVEN IF ONLY IN SMALL WAYS I NOW VOLUNTEER 3 DAYS A WEEK ANSWERING TELEPHONE AND HELPING AS NEEDED . I HAVE FOSTERED DOGS IN THE PAST, BUT THIS LAST DOG WAS A MALE , SMALL LAP DOG , I HAVE MEDIUM SIZED DOGS. HE WAS ABLE TO BOND WITH MY TWO FEMALES AND WID HIMSELF INTO MY HEART. NEEDLESS TO SAY HE DID NOT GO BACK TO CARA TO BE ADOPTEDAS I HAD TO ADOPT HIM . THE STAFF AND DOGS AreALL MY FAMILY NOW. THEY CAN MAKE YOU FEEL VERY BLESSED AND WELCOMED. THEY DO SO MUCH FOR THE DOGS AND CATS AND IT IS A NO KILL SHELTER. EVERY DOG HAS A HOME HERE TILL IT IS ADOPTED OR OR FOR LIFE. DOGS AND CATS GIVE DO NOT JUDGE , THEY GIVE UNCONDITIONAL LOVE.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 22, 2012

more

January 22, 2012

In my time volunteering with CARA, I have had the opportunity to meet and work with a number of great people who strive to meet the needs of those they care and/or advocate for each day. --- Animal rescue work can be stressful, and in Mississippi, it can be even more so. Lower than average spay/neuter rates combined with mild winters and rural areas (in a state ranking 47th in animal cruelty laws) places a heavy demand on the animal shelters in Mississippi and the Jackson Metro area. However, the CARA shelter staff stays steadfast in the face of adversity, recognizing their mission is to take care of the furry family (all 300 plus dogs and 100 plus cats) that are part of CARA, receiving tail wags, puppy smiles, and cats meows. --- It is costly to operate an animal shelter, providing food, warmth, medical care, and comfort to the 400 plus furry friends at CARA It is a silent cost in society that is readily ignored in the public, at least in Mississippi as most shelters operate purely as non-profits with little or no government support, despite it being a societal issue. Nonetheless, the CARA Board and its members continually look for new ways to raise funds to support those they volunteered to take care of, competing for grants, competing in contests, developing new fundraisers, coming up with new items to sell, figuring out ways to conserve dollars, all to take care of those they volunteered to give for, and in return, receive the gift of barking dogs, lickies, purring kittens, smiling pups. --- In the end, volunteering with CARA is about a love for the animals, doing what is needed to take care of them, and it is an experience that is rewarded with the simplest gift of all, the gift of a dog or cat who says thank you for being with me today, and the gift we get for being with them.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 19, 2012

more

January 19, 2012

Initially, I adopted a dog from CARA and then overtime I began to foster dogs at CARA as well. Over the past 8 months or so of fostering dogs, I have gotten to know the staff at CARA and let me tell you...They are wonderful. They spend countless hours at the shelter and dedicate so much of their emotions, time, and life to the animals at this shelter. Without a doubt, they care about the well-being of every animal in the shelter. For instance, when I went to adopt my first dog from them I was expecting to be able to bring Lucy home that day, but this was not the case. A few days later, I was contacted and told I would be able to adopt Lucy. I was fairly impressed that they took the time to call my vet and contact my references before they would let me adopt Lucy. This showed me that CARA is not "just another animal shelter who will give a dog to anyone." I honestly wish there was something that I could do for all of the staff at CARA to show them how much they are appreciated because I have seen them pour so much of themselves into this shelter.

Photos

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 18, 2012

more

January 18, 2012

The first word that comes to mind when I think of CARA is 'blessing'. Cara is made up of loving people who are nothing short of earth angels. These angels work miracles on the many needy animals that come into CARA. Many of which, anyone else would have given up all hope on. Our sweet Francis being just one of many examples. These angels give heart & soul to save these babies, including round the clock care when needed, out of pocket funds when necessary, the list just goes on & on. Many of these babies are, honestly, rejects, pets that have never known what human love looks like or feels like. To see these babies go from knowing no love or compassion to finding that there are humans who do love them passionately and unconditionally is the most heartwarming experience on the planet. Add to all of this the fact that this shelter is kept amazingly clean! I would have never thought it possible to keep everything so clean & orderly if I had I not been there to see it firsthand. I've seen how hard they work to ensure a clean & healthy environment for the many animals. It is through total devotion that they are able to accomplish this. I wish the entire rescue community could see how things are done at CARA. They are quite the example! They have inspired me more than words could ever say. I have never seen such dedication & devotion in my life. A day spent at CARA is the most uplifting experience one could imagine. There is no better way to spend a day than to see God working through these angels that He has placed there to love & protect His small creatures. The animals there are so loved, and you can see that with every animal in their care. Sometimes, I almost feel badly when an animal is being visited by a prospective adopter, because these animals feel so safe & secure in the arms of these angels. Life to them is awesome, they don't think they are missing anything at all, for they have it all, right there in their own little piece of Heaven. Yes, CARA is most definitely a blessing to our community & to our city, through rescuing, rehabilitating, re-homing, & providing education as well. I would hate to see where we would be without them, and I pray that we never have to find out.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 17, 2012

more

January 17, 2012

Where do I begin? Not only has mine and my husbands life been enriched by volunteering for CARA, it has also been blessed by expanding our family with 3 wonderful dogs that we would not have had the pleasure of owning had CARA not provided food, shelter and love until we gave them a forever home. Housing over 300 dogs has to be such a daunting task but they are so dedicated to the animals and their well being, you would never know it. Specifically, a freezing February night in 2011 and Cara gets a call about a puppy near death, in a coma that someone has left in the freezing cold. Not only did they agree to take him in, but they spent countless hours nursing him back to health. He had to learn how to eat, how to stand and how to walk. Without their hardwork and dedication, he would not be where he is today. He has been adopted and shows no signs of his horrendous beginnings. Most recently, 2 day old puppies are found in a dumpster up the road from the shelter. Thankfully the person that left them there left them in a box with their address listed on it. Not only did CARA take in the puppies, they went to the owner and convinced them to surrender the mother dog and are working tirelessly to have the other animals spayed/neutered. They have done a great job of raising awareness of the need for stronger laws against animal cruelty and our states desperate need to become proactive animal owners (I.e. spay/neuter) Without them, thousands of dogs and cats would be wandering the streets, starving, neglected, abused....many of those animals adding to the pet overpopulation because they have not been spayed/neutered. They work tirelessly for these animals. It is their life, heart and passion. Our state is blessed by the work they do.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 17, 2012

more

January 17, 2012

CARA is a wonderful organization and blessing to our community and state. Their tireless work rescuing and caring for animals in need is nothing short of a miracle. Along with volunteering my wife and I have also adopted three wonderful dogs from CARA.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 17, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

January 17, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

ecame involved with CARA a couple of years thru a client who was doing a summer fundraiser and asked my husband and I to volunteer and work the event because they knew we had 5 dogs and that we love animals! The next year, we became more actively involved in the event and became to learn more about CARA and my husband was asked to be a part of the board. He had 12 years of fundraising experience and I suggested he could be a good asset to them. Thru this, i have come to see first hand how the mission of CARA to help abandoned, abused, neglected and homeless animals find refuge and healing and then loving homes they so just deserve is carried out. The staff, shelter director and founders are actively involved in the daily care and maintenance of all the animals in their care. It is tireless effort for each and every animal that is brought to them for refuge. The dedication they show to the animals is truly remarkable. The story repeated on here earlier of Francis and the round the clock support and effort for his survival is just one of the many displays of love and dedication this group provides to animals in the care. Another example is Sara Elizabeth, who was brought to the shelter because she was not growing like her liter mates. Her body was rejecting the food she was taking in. So the staff at CARA watched her around the clock for a week and would not give up on this little one. They bottle feed her every few hours and tried multiple things till her body started to take the food she was given. She is now a vibrant little puppy! But most people would have given up and put her to sleep. but thru there efforts, she is a beautiful little girl! This is just 2 of the examples of the work of CARA. When you go out to the shelter, you know the animals there are cared for and safe. What a wonderful world it would be if all animals were cared for and safe in loving homes!! CARA also promotes spay/neuter to help eliminate the overpopulation problem.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 17, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

January 17, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I started volunteering with CARA almost 5 years ago. Several things I learned in a very brief time. CARA kept its animals and kennels clean. They were well fed and the staff knew the animals. Every kennel worker had a rapport with the animals they cared for, knew their story and worked with the animals to improve their lives. Puppies especially but all dogs that liked balls or toys had them in their kennels. Animals were given a treat each night before they went to sleep. It was not a sad place but a place of love and hope. I've seen volunteers and staff both pull money out of their own pockets when something was needed for the animals. Since this shelter operates on donations and grants and cares for approximately 300 dogs and 125 cats money is managed to the penny. I believe at last indication 97% of all income went directly to animal care. THEY CARE!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 16, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

January 16, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I came to Cara 3 yrs ago. I needed a job life had been hard on me I had made a lot of wrong decisions in life and needed a fresh start.So they hired me at cara. And during these years I have been there Cara has turned my life around and has given meaning to life. I have a fresh outlook on life and my world is wonderful. These animals are what keeps me going. I take care of the sick that comes through our doors. What I am saying is cara not only gives animals a second chance at life they do the same for people. I dont know where I would be today if I hadnt found cara. But cara has given me a reason to continue to do the right things in life. I will be forever grateful to them. When I come in to work in the mornings and I get greeted by the sounds of these babies who are so glad to see me I know I have found my place in life to help those that cant help there self

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers