Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
24 Reviews
12345
| 1 1 2 3 | Next
Write A Review
January 15, 2012

more

January 15, 2012

My heart goes out to animals of all kind. When I moved to Brandon, I wanted to know what I could do to help animals in need. For me, I wish I could take all of the animals home with me because I knew they'd be euthanized or left to the elements to die. That's when a friend told me about CARA of Mississippi, a no-kill shelter. I knew this was the place for me. the wonderful people here make every effort to take the animals that are unwanted and unloved to give them to good homes and loving families. I help with the cattery socializing the sick cats. I hold them, brush them, and give them as much love as I can possibly give. This way, I can make sure these animals know they are loved and wanted.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

January 13, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

January 13, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

My daughter & I started volunteering with CARA in Sept. 2001. She was the cat-lover, while I worked with the dogs. I have seen my fair share of stories, both good & bad, come through our doors. All have been loved equally and unconditionally. All of my pets are CARA dogs and cats and I wouldn't trade them for the world. My very first foster was a litter of eight 1 month old Boxer pups that were abandoned at the Reservoir.

Photos

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 11, 2012

more

January 11, 2012

joined the CARA Community Council in 2008. I had been sponsoring a dog there by the name of "Dexter" for several years and know I wanted to get more involved with the Shelter. On my first visit to the shelter I was so overwhelmed and emotional to see all their many dogs and cats. I decided the best way I could help them was to get involved with fundraising and events to make everyone else aware of this wonderful organization. I have seen so many miracles occur these last couple of years. Dogs brought in on the brink of death or in horrendous conditions., newborn puppies abandoned at the door without their mother, you name it. Whatever the situation the wonderful staff always has the animals' best interest at heart. They tirelessly bottle feed the babies, patiently lay with the suffering, take them into their personal care for days and always find a way to nurse them back to a hearlthy dogs that any family would be blessed to adopt. People sometimes tend to misjudge the CARA Staff--they are not trying to be anything but the earth angels they are to all their shelter children. God bless them.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 10, 2012

more

January 10, 2012

I first met Bear in September 2009 when I started volunteering in the cattery at Community Animal Rescue and Adoption (CARA) in Jackson, MS. I was recovering from cancer surgery and Bear seemed to be very slowly emerging from his own ordeal. At first he was so shy I could barely pet him but I kept reaching out to him because, at some level, we had already bonded. After a few months, Bear let me pet him and eventually brush him—which he loved. Even though I felt affection for all the cats in the cattery, Bear was special and he kept tugging at my heart. In July 2010, I lost my 12 year old rescue cat, Thunder, which broke my spirit in so many ways. After months of grieving Thunder’s loss, I knew it was time to bring Bear home to meet his new companion, Lightning, my 13 year old rescue cat. No one could ever replace Thunder but Bear has become a much loved member of our family. I am convinced that the special care Bear received at CARA is the only reason he is still alive and healthy—physically and emotionally—today.
After adopting Bear I began volunteering more and more at CARA because I saw what a special place it is for so many abused, unwanted and neglected animals—300 dogs and 125 cats to be exact. The staff at CARA gives their all each and every day to improve the lives of these innocent animals. I am blessed to be a part of the CARA family.

Photos

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

| 1 1 2 3 | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers