Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
24 Reviews
12345
| 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
January 17, 2012

more

January 17, 2012

To Whom it May Concern: Community Animal Rescue and Adoption (CARA) truly is an amazing place! I have been involved with CARA for the past 5 years, in one aspect or another, and just cannot say enough about this organization. CARA has seen it all... from bunnies, to rats; from healthy animals to animals on death's door; and from the cute and playful to the unadoptable. Through it all CARA never ceases to amaze me. Located in the Jackson area, it is one of several shelters in our area, but has such a strong following and such a great base of givers - and for good reason - it is the best shelter in the area. CARA has provided temporary and long-term housing to a countless number of animals since it opened almost 11 years ago, and with support and exposure that it might recieve due to campaigns like this one, it can continue to get unwanted, abused animals into loving homes while promoting spay/neuter.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 17, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

January 17, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I started volunteering with CARA almost 5 years ago. Several things I learned in a very brief time. CARA kept its animals and kennels clean. They were well fed and the staff knew the animals. Every kennel worker had a rapport with the animals they cared for, knew their story and worked with the animals to improve their lives. Puppies especially but all dogs that liked balls or toys had them in their kennels. Animals were given a treat each night before they went to sleep. It was not a sad place but a place of love and hope. I've seen volunteers and staff both pull money out of their own pockets when something was needed for the animals. Since this shelter operates on donations and grants and cares for approximately 300 dogs and 125 cats money is managed to the penny. I believe at last indication 97% of all income went directly to animal care. THEY CARE!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 16, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

January 16, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Last February I saw a post on Community Animal Rescue and Adoptions (CARA) facebook page about a 3-month old sheltie/shepherd mix puppy that had been found thrown out in a box on the side of the road. He was frozen, starved, dehydrated and in a coma. After receiving emergency medical from their vet, he was monitored and cared for 24 hours a day by the wonderful and caring staff at CARA. They would take turns taking him home at night so he could sleep next to someone and know if he woke up that there was a kind, loving hand there to help him. Feeding tubes were inserted and remained in for over 2 months. After several days, he woke from his coma but was unable to stand or walk. CARA continually sent out prayer requests for this puppy, Francis, who they named after St. Francis of Assisi. When he got a little stronger, they had a human physical therapist come to work with him. After several weeks of therapy several times a day, he was able to stand and eventually walk. The loving, caring people at CARA wanted nothing more than for this special puppy to find a loving home and live a happy life that we would hope all homeless animals could find. After weeks of going over applications and doing interviews we were the lucky family chosen to adopt this special puppy. Without the extra care and love of the dedicated staff at CARA, this puppy would not be here today.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

January 16, 2012

more

January 16, 2012

I am honored to write a letter of support for CARA. I first became aware of CARA last year when we lost our little yorkie Brunhilda, and we were looking for a companion for Bailey, Brunhilda’s sister. By the happiest of accidents a friend volunteers for CARA and had posted pictures from CARA's annual Dog Days of Summer on her Facebook page. I was immediately drawn to Baxter and was soon filling out an application. Baxter came to join our family on Labor Day of 2010, and we cannot imagine our family without him. The whole family competes for his attention, and he has helped us with our grieving from losing Brunhilda. CARA made the whole process so easy, and they even brought Baxter to my house so Baxter could see if he liked us and we liked him. He does, and we do.

Once I was aware of CARA, I became a fan, helping with donations when I could. Then last winter I saw CARA at its best when they helped a puppy survive who had been thrown away as a box of garbage in the winter's cold. When found the puppy, Francis, was in a coma. Yes, Francis is named after St. Francis of Assisi, the patron saint of animals. I, like many others, checked CARA's site often to see if Francis had survived another day. A CARA worker nursed this puppy to health by giving him round the clock care. Once he came out of his coma, the hard work started of getting him to stand and walk. To watch this unfold was humbling, and CARA with its team of volunteers performed this miracle with a community watching and praying. Francis became the face of animal abuse, and our state's new animal abuse legislation was passed, surely in part, because of CARA and their tireless work for abused and discarded animals.

Francis is truly an inspiring story of triumph over adversity. While certainly not as extreme or emotional, we feel Baxter has given our family much the same injection of hope and spirit as Francis has given North America. Baxter is a bundle of joy who is always glad to welcome us home. As soon as you open the door, he is the first to greet you. He has trained the entire family to give him treats when he wants them. We are sure he believes humans must be slow learners. He is a beautiful dog with a spirited personality who has inspired love and affection.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 16, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

January 16, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I came to Cara 3 yrs ago. I needed a job life had been hard on me I had made a lot of wrong decisions in life and needed a fresh start.So they hired me at cara. And during these years I have been there Cara has turned my life around and has given meaning to life. I have a fresh outlook on life and my world is wonderful. These animals are what keeps me going. I take care of the sick that comes through our doors. What I am saying is cara not only gives animals a second chance at life they do the same for people. I dont know where I would be today if I hadnt found cara. But cara has given me a reason to continue to do the right things in life. I will be forever grateful to them. When I come in to work in the mornings and I get greeted by the sounds of these babies who are so glad to see me I know I have found my place in life to help those that cant help there self

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 16, 2012

more

January 16, 2012

CARA provides a safe loving environment for animals that need a little help finding a home. There are so many components (clean healthy environment, good employees, community support, adoption options) to having a well run shelter and CARA is hitting each target extremely well. This is a true no kill shelter and there are always some dogs that are not thought to be very adoptable. Less than ten percent of our dogs have bee at the shelter longer than five years. We are very thankful we have CARA to take care of our city's pets without a home.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 15, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

January 15, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

In February 2011 a friend posted a picture on Facebook of a tiny puppy who had been starved and frozen almost to death. He had been found by a loving couple and brought to CARA - Community Animal Rescue & Adoption the next morning. Under his picture CARA asked that people keep this tiny puppy in their thoughts and prayers, in the hopes that he could beat all the odds stacked against him. With the love and personal care by the people of CARA, the medical treatment of their vet, the help of a volunteer physical therapist, and the thoughts and prayers from people around the world that precious puppy did beat the odds and he now has a happy and loving forever family.

I was lucky enough in August 2011 to drive from Ontario Canada to Jackson Mississippi and meet not only Francis and his family, but to be able to go to CARA and meet the caring people who work there and all their fur babies in their care. CARA has a lot of homeless animals to look after and they do their best to find loving forever homes for them. Unfortunately there are some animals who will never find their very own homes, but they will still be loved and cared for because CARA will never euthanize any of the animals (they are a true NO-KILL shelter) unless the vet says nothing else can be done for them and they are suffering. If it should come to that, at least one of the caring people from CARA will be with the fur baby to the very end so they will know that they were truly loved. Even though I live in a different country, I will always admire and support CARA, and I am happy to have met and become friends with the wonderful people there.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 15, 2012

more

January 15, 2012

I first found out about CARA from a friend on Facebook. There had been a puppy brought to CARA by a very caring couple, who found him in a box, thrown out like trash, in the freezing weather. He was near death, in a coma. I followed that puppy everyday, several times a day... And the people at CARA gave him so much tender loving care. He was given special attention 24-7, as some of the CARA family took him home with them, not only to moniter and care for him, but also because they really didn't think he would live and just wanted him to feel love. He survived!! His name is Francis, as they named him after St. Francis. CARA had a physical therapist, who volunteered to come and help him, as he couldn't even walk. Ever since then I have been a CARA follower, and have witnessed one case of animal cruelty and neglect after another come through the doors of CARA, and seen the love, care, and tenderness they give to all of "their babies". I have never seen such a group of people be so unselfish, so giving, so caring, as the CARA family. I am happy and proud to say we have all developed a friendship that will last a lifetime. God Bless CARA!!

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 15, 2012

more

January 15, 2012

I have had my CARA cat for about 2 years and love him so much. It was obvious he was well cared for at CARA which is why he is so well adjusted today. One of my close friends volunteers at CARA so I see first hand so much of the good work they do every day for abused and unwanted animals. I really appreciate the focus CARA places on educating the public on the importance of spaying and neutering pets. This is the root of the animal overpopulation problem that creates the need for shelters like CARA. Thank goodness CARA is here to give second chances to so many dogs and cats in our area!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 15, 2012

more

January 15, 2012

I have nothing but the utmost respect for CARA and the way they care for all animals that need healing, love and a tender touch. CARA staff are genuine, caring, non-judgemental and put the pets in their care first. CARA only receives donations from the public, grants and contests, as they are a non-profile, no kill agency. I am very pleased with any and all dealings I have had with CARA in the past and if I ever adopt again, CARA will be the only agency I turn to.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers