Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
29 Reviews
1234.413795
Previous | Next
Write A Review
March 19, 2013
10 people found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
June 11, 2012

After reading all the dishonest reviews, I decided to get on here and write a real one. First, this organization should be converted from a 501 (c) 3 into a PAC. They spend more time criticizing Mit... more

March 19, 2013
10 people found this review helpful

I am following up to my previous review of CAFETY.

As one of the founding members and former board member, I really started volunteering when I returned from Iraq. I spent much of my own money to get CAFETY started, the money I had saved from being shot at for a year. I continue to be
disappointed with their performance, and I currently regret having spent so much of my own time and money to start such an organization.

One of the CAFETY board members, Nick Wood, contacted me asking to take down the only honest review of their organization on this website. I will let you, the reader, decide whether or not it is appropriate for someone to perform such an action. Nick Wood presented no evidence to refute any of the facts I presented in my previous review. He merely engaged in a standard "it's for the children" plea. I do not buy it, because these places have been in operation for decades and CAFETY has not done anything to save any kids.

In regards to their blatent partisanship, let's take for example, CAFETY's position on Bain Capital owning the Aspen Educational Group. Romney, as former director of Bain, is often demonized by CAFETY, as you can see from a search of their website (http://www.cafety.org/component/search/bain%20capital/?ordering=&searchphrase=all). However, there is no mention of the $417,000 that Bain Capital gave to the Obama campaign, nor the $5 million given to other Democrats (Source:http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2012/09/13/bain-capital-donations-democrats_n_1881655.html)

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

Will you tell others about this organization?

Unlikely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 11, 2012
126 people found this review helpful

After reading all the dishonest reviews, I decided to get on here and write a real one. First, this organization should be converted from a 501 (c) 3 into a PAC. They spend more time criticizing Mitt Romney for a vague and loose connection to two people who did bad things. Romney's connection to these people is less than Obama ties to terrorists like Bill Ayers and Bernadine Dorn. Second, they are hyper-partisan, hence their campaigns like "Occupy JRC" and their affinity to protests for a day. Third, their finances are not tracked or monitored closely at all. Since I stepped away in 2009, their financial house has become a complete mess and thousands of dollars have gone missing.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

prevent decisions being made from a partisan viewpoint and actually look at the issues from a neutral perspective, instead of from a progressive-socialist view.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

Will you tell others about this organization?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

How did you learn about this organization?

Helped start it in 2006.

What is this organization's top short-term priority?

Stop Mitt Romney from being elected

What is its top priority in the long run?

Have the United States cede sovereignity to the United Nations.

June 6, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

more

June 6, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

I found and joined CAFETY as soon as I realized it existed. As a survivor who successfully ran away from a now defunct facility in the early 90's I have felt a draw to help all those left behind. Since being involved with CAFETY I have seen efforts to support the survivors of the Troubled Teen Industry, address abuse issues directly with the corporations doing the damage, respect the children who lost their lives, and participating in peaceful protest. I'm proud to be a part of CAFETY and always will be involved in some capacity. Kids deserve to be safe.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 5, 2012
6 people found this review helpful

more

June 5, 2012
6 people found this review helpful

When I first came out of my "therapeutic boarding school" in 2004, I was terrified, confused, and convinced I was a drug addict having never done drugs in my life. CAFETY was there for me to help me understand what happened to me, that the way I was treated was not my fault and that there were a network of people who wanted to do something about child abusers and phony mental health "treatment providers". This organization's role as a landing place for abused youth trying to make sense of their experiences has been vital in helping me and countless others deal with our experiences. Also, CAFETY does a fantastic job reaching out to professional organizations and legislators in documenting the massive problem that calls itself the troubled teen industry. Definitely an organization I will always be grateful for.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers