Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
29 Reviews
1234.413795
| 1 1 2 3 | Next
Write A Review
June 5, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

more

June 5, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

I attended a horrible (though not one of the worst) wilderness therapy program and when I got out I joined CAFTEY. It made me feel like I was making a difference and helping shut down these horrific places and I was! CAFTEY is an amazing organization dedicated to the betterment of youth care. I plan on becoming much more active with CAFTEY in the years to come.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 5, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

more

June 5, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

I helped with the art auction, and I am so impressed with all the work Kat and the others have done over the years. CAFETY is truly an organization with all soul-- dedicated to their cause of protecting the lives and well being of children. And they are making real changes. Go CAFETY! Down with the JRC!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Okay

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 5, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

more

June 5, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

Cafety has allowed many victims come together and share theory stories. This group has allowed victims such as myself feel as if we no longer have to be victimized from our past. I personally rate this group higher than a 10 as they are attempting to bring change to our government and stop child abuse in all forms.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 5, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

June 5, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

It is sad and unfortunate that children in America have fewer rights than those in many third-world countries. CAFETY's work focuses around ensuring that basic human rights are awarded to children in vulnerable or otherwise high-risk situations. CAFETY is a perfect example of an organization that utilizes the experiences of those who were negatively impacted by loopholes in current legislation or societal beliefs and works to educate and advocate to prevent future generations from experiencing what other's endured. Fair, diplomatic and professional, CAFETY offers a widely unrepresented group of child abuse survivors a conduit through which they can both heal as well as help others.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

My work with CAFETY has made me feel empowered as both someone who has directly benefited personally from their efforts but even more importantly as someone who can now give back to others who endured the abuse that I experienced as a child.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

Empowered, uplifted, proud and ready to offer my skills towards the organization's success.

June 5, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

June 5, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

I work with CAFETY as a volunteer doing outreach and chapter development. We, the all-volunteer staff, dedicate countless hours to the issue of protecting youth in or at risk of placement in abusive treatment centers, boarding schools, group homes, wilderness therapy, etc. We fight for their rights and work to educate the public on this issue. We also seek to empower survivors of abuse, which is how I got involved with CAFETY. I have been given the opportunity to speak at professional and trade conferences, do media appearances, and speak to the general public about my experiences and what I went through, which has been cathartic and amazing for me. I personally, through CAFETY, have worked to help keep children out of schools known to be abusive and to help parents become educated in what to look for in order to avoid abusive programs. I love working for CAFETY because of the dedication of those i volunteer with and the good i know we do!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 5, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

June 5, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

I have seen CAFETY doing lots of great work recently and have heard from many that CAFETY is doing great things for them and to protect youth in society at large!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 5, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

June 5, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

I worked with CAFETY as a law clerk over the past summer. In doing so, I got to work on an issue that - to my knowledge - no other nonprofit organization is working on. Namely, CAFETY seeks to end the unnecessary institutionalization and the institutional abuse and neglect of children in residential behavioral modification facilities. In working with CAFETY, I was able to participate in legislative and policy advocacy, drafting CAFETY's letter in support of regulations that would limit the use of painful electric shocks, food deprivation and restraints in Massachusetts facilities; attending a summit with representatives of the residential treatment industry, researchers, family advocates and youth rights advocates to represent CAFETY'S concerns with the industry's practices; and corresponded with survivors, parents, attorneys and reporters about the problems in and alternatives to residential treatment programs. CAFETY has also participated in organizing and holding protests of organizations that run and promote abusive programs; testified before Congress in support of a bill that would prohibit child abuse and neglect in such programs; and worked with other reputable statewide, national and international organizations that protect the rights of youth and people with disabilities towards mutual goals. In the near future, CAFETY will be working with Disability Rights International, drafting a report to the United Nations on how conditions and practices in residential programs for youth violate international human rights protections against torture, in hopes of bringing international attention and involvement to this issue.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

| 1 1 2 3 | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers