Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
29 Reviews
1234.413795
| 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
June 7, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

more

June 7, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

I found CAFETY after reading a book about the troubled teen industry. My own experience from the 1980's was reflected in the book even though I didn't attend one of the highlighted programs. From my first introduction to CAFETY, I have been impressed but their grass roots effort to educate the public and advocate for youth. I have watched CAFETY grow and mature as an organization, and I am pleased to be a donor and supporter.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 6, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

more

June 6, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

I am so grateful for this organization for their efforts to reform the "troubled teen industry"! It takes an incredible amount of time and dedication to fight an industry that is supported by our government and I am incredibly proud of the courage and compassion that shines in this group. Thank you for all you do!! Your efforts do NOT go unnoticed!!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 6, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

more

June 6, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

Along with being a volunteer I was also a donor, designer, and advisor for CAFETY, and this organization truly, deeply, impacted my life for the better. I had a long and personal struggle with the same institutions that CAFETY fights to regulate, so knowing that my input helped to regulate this industry that so badly needs oversight, that my communications with others still struggling from within that system helped parents feel empowered and children who were in situations I once faced feel reassured - that was the most therapeutic experience to heal from my own past. Now I feel empowered, fully able to move on, and I confidently point to CAFETY as an organization of hope for peers of mine who I know struggle as I have. Originally I was not sure of the potential reach CAFETY would have, but I am beyond satisfied with their progress, their work --our work-- and it makes me incredibly hopeful and optimistic for their future as an organization for youth rights.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 6, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

more

June 6, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

I found and joined CAFETY as soon as I realized it existed. As a survivor who successfully ran away from a now defunct facility in the early 90's I have felt a draw to help all those left behind. Since being involved with CAFETY I have seen efforts to support the survivors of the Troubled Teen Industry, address abuse issues directly with the corporations doing the damage, respect the children who lost their lives, and participating in peaceful protest. I'm proud to be a part of CAFETY and always will be involved in some capacity. Kids deserve to be safe.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 6, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

more

June 6, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

I love CAFETY! It is a member driven organization that seeks to united survivors of abuse in residential treatment programs. Additionally, there are plenty of opportunities to effect policy change, and bring attention the children who are still in abusive programs.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 6, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

June 6, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

For a brief period of time I served as a volunteer for CAFETY by researching potential foundations that might donate funding to the cause of ending the abuse of children and youth who are confined against their will in centers which claim to be offering "rehabilitative services", but which, instead, are destroying the lives of individuals who are and will be this country's future. I greatly admire the work which CAFETY has done, particularly its founder, Kat Whitehead, in bringing this issue to the fore with members of Congress on Capitol Hill and in lobbying support around the country. The abuse that occurs in these "boot camps" and "rehabilitative centers" is nothing more than torture. I fully support CAFETY in its cause, now and in the future.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A little

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

June 5, 2012
6 people found this review helpful

more

June 5, 2012
6 people found this review helpful

Prior to volunteering for the Community Alliance For The Ethical Treatment of Youth (CAFETY), I had worked harmoniously with many members of this organization. After several years of watching this organization grow and improve I made the decision to formally volunteer my time and effort to support CAFETY's mission and goals. This organization has become a beacon of hope and direction by inducting members and field professionals who are dedicated to finding the best solutions possible who also possess the understanding and training to do so. What I most appreciate about the members of this organization is their readiness to act when necessary, yet are not driven by impulse. I find this to be a methodical and effective approach. It is my sincere belief that CAFETY will continue to improve and evolve into an organization that will inspire all who work to improve the rights and safety of children.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 5, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

more

June 5, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

I've been donating money and time to the cause of assisting young men and women trapped in programs for quite some time. Cafety, while having experienced growing pains, is well on the way to being a well recognized organization that seeks to bring social justice to a terribly disenfranchised group of individuals. I appreciate the work Cafety does and I've been enjoying watching the videos of their rallies held in support of efforts to bring awareness to abuse in treatment programs, specifically their Central Park Rally.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Quite well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 5, 2012
7 people found this review helpful

more

June 5, 2012
7 people found this review helpful

I am a young woman who was abused at one of the Residential Treatment Centers in Utah that CAFETY exposes. (Island View RTC) I am so grateful for all the work that they do to educate the public and prospective parents about these horrible institutions. CAFETY got me in touch with a reporter who interviewed me for a story exposing the treatment center that I attended. This really helped me move forward in the healing process. THANK YOU CAFETY!!!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 5, 2012
6 people found this review helpful

more

June 5, 2012
6 people found this review helpful

When I first came out of my "therapeutic boarding school" in 2004, I was terrified, confused, and convinced I was a drug addict having never done drugs in my life. CAFETY was there for me to help me understand what happened to me, that the way I was treated was not my fault and that there were a network of people who wanted to do something about child abusers and phony mental health "treatment providers". This organization's role as a landing place for abused youth trying to make sense of their experiences has been vital in helping me and countless others deal with our experiences. Also, CAFETY does a fantastic job reaching out to professional organizations and legislators in documenting the massive problem that calls itself the troubled teen industry. Definitely an organization I will always be grateful for.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers