Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
19 Reviews
1234.947375
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
September 18, 2014

more

September 18, 2014

I became a volunteer 14 1/2 years ago and later a pro bono member of the training staff. Though I no longer live in WriterCoach territory, I remain a staunch financial supporter and cheerleader for the program. Its leadership is talented and dedicated and its vision is much needed---currently I'm doing my best to share what I've learned through WCC at San Pasqual H.S. in Escondido,CA.
September 17, 2014

more

September 17, 2014

I had a great relationship with my students and learned a lot.
September 17, 2014

more

September 17, 2014

I have been in education at the university level and have seen what a huge difference writing preparedness makes in a student's ability to succeed. This program takes students who might not have made it out of high school and helps them graduate-- and even go on to college! The motivation that comes from the one-on- one coaching and genuine interest in the student is what is unique in this program. It is grass-roots, hands-on change , happening person to person every day. Very impressive!
September 17, 2014

more

September 17, 2014

WriterCoach is an amazing experience. I'm starting my third year as a coach in the Oakland schools. I have such respect for the students and teachers I've worked with; they get me up and out to help do my part for the next generation.

September 17, 2014

more

September 17, 2014

I am beginning my 7th year as a writer coach and nothing in my life has equaled or surpassed the great sense of satisfaction I get from working with students on their writing projects. The one on one, multiple times per year approach results in an undeniable positive impact on the students (and on the coaches as well). It is a WIN-WIN for us all. The organization has a wonderful sense of integrity and dedication that I am very, very proud to be part of.

Kent Wright
August 21, 2013

more

August 21, 2013

There are a few key aspects of Writer Coach Connection (aside from the great feeling you get from working with the students) that make it THE best volunteer experience I've had.

I've been coaching for 10 plus years, since the very beginning. My original motivation was not so pure: my kid
was going to middle school, and I wanted to be on campus to see what the vibes were like. Luckily, we have different last names, so only his closest friends knew the connection.

Anyway, the great thing about Writer Coach Connection is this: EVERY child receives coaching, so no one is stigmatized as a "dummy" AND, interestingly, the students deemed proficient receive feedback that has more meaning than an "A" and "Great job." Secondly, every coach receives training with a group of peers, so you can share tips, anxieties, feedback, and the like. Thirdly, every teacher receives training, so that you know when you enter the classroom, there has already been buy in. Fourth, each site has a paid coordinator or team of them, so you as a volunteer have merely to show up, get your assignment, and find your students, with all the logistics handled by someone else. You know your schedule practically for the entire year, so you can swap out days with others, plan your life, that sort of thing. Lastly, the program is evaluated by the students and teachers every year, so we get information about what is working and what isn't working and make changes where we can.

As for the doing of it, there is nothing like knowing that you can devote absolutely undivided, non-judgmental attention for 20 or 30 minutes straight one-on-one for a child. You are not their teacher, you are not their parent, you are not their sibling, friend, or peer. Whatever they want you to help them with, you are there for them. They really appreciate it.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would start the program in the 2nd grade, which is where it begins in the city that originated it.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 9, 2013

more

April 9, 2013

Looking up from the table I see a dozen other pairs of volunteer writing coaches and students with heads bent together over books and papers and pens and pencils. The buzz of voices mingles and occasionally laughter drifts across the room. Magic is happening again...one student receiving the undivided attention of a caring adult who is listening without judgement, asking questions, encouraging discovery, and applauding whatever progress is being made - large or small.

Today I said to the Latina high school student that I have been coaching. "That's a really great idea!" She looked at me as though I had just landed from another planet. How long had it been since someone said that to her? Maybe never? She took that great idea and developed it into a paragraph that left her feeling proud and just a little more confident than she had been 30 minutes ago.

Come join us in making magic happen... This is a gratifying volunteer experience with an organization that not only makes a real difference, but trains and supports its volunteers at the highest level.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 6, 2013

more

April 6, 2013

“You are a special person. Step into my life full of help. You always make me smile by your help. … I know today is a good day because my coach is here.”

How could this thank you poem just not melt your heart, and make you fall in love—with a student and with a program that makes a student
feel this way. This is the heart of the WriterCoach Connection—one adult and one student bonding over a writing assignment given by the student’s teacher. As writing coaches working one-on-one with every student in a classroom, from English language learners and struggling students to advanced students, we help students find their unique voices, develop their writing and critical thinking abilities, and expand their world of possibilities. I saw the light come on in this young English language learner’s eyes when I told her she was good writer and mostly just needed help with understanding the assignment and with vocabulary.

That was the fall semester of 2010, and I’ve been hooked on the program ever since. Now I’m a site coordinator for 30 to 50 volunteer writing coaches at our local high school, a trainer and a board member—I’ve definitely fallen in love.

We now have more than 600 trained community volunteers working individually with more than 2,000 students in middle and high schools in Richmond, El Cerrito, Albany, Berkeley and Oakland. Obviously, I’m not the only one who loves the WriterCoach Connection and the students we serve.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
May 25, 2011

When I was laid off in 2002 and my son was at Willard Middle School, I heard about the WriterCoach Connection (WCC) from another PTA volunteer. My intention was to spend more time at Willard to keep... more

April 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

WriterCoach Connection (Community Alliance for Learning's program) brings volunteers into middle and high school classrooms to help students with their writing assignments.

WriterCoach Connection helps teachers provide the 1:1 assistance and feedback they cannot manage with 30+ students
per class. My personal involvement began when I volunteered as a coach at my son's middle school in Berkeley. The first student I coached had completed an essay about her mother. As she read to me what she had written, tears welled up in my eyes. Her essay described in vivid detail visiting her mother in jail. This student was writing from her heart about loving her mom and also about being mad at her for being in jail. From that moment to today, I was "hooked" as a WriterCoach Connection volunteer, donor and now Board Member.

It is essential that "kids write our future!" - our WriterCoach Connection slogan. Writing is life, it is power over circumstances, it allows every human being to give voice to what is inside: I believe being able to write is a human right. The volunteers, part-time coordinators, Board members of the Community Alliance for Learning have worked hard to build this non profiit service to East Bay public schools. We all believe deeply that WriterCoach Connection makes a significant, measurable and positive impact in improving the writing skills of middle and high school students in the East Bay.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 25, 2011

When I was laid off in 2002 and my son was at Willard Middle School, I heard about the WriterCoach Connection (WCC) from another PTA volunteer. My intention was to spend more time at Willard to keep an eye on my own son! Joining the WCC program was one of the most enriching and fulfilling activities of my life. The students can be challenging: yet most of them are eager for help with expressing themselves in print. I enjoy listening to their first drafts, providing constructive feedback, gently encouraging them to stretch their command of their prose beyond the colloquial and the cliche. I look forward to each coaching session and wish I could do more! Now that I am employed full time, I volunteer before the work day during first period at Berkeley High School. The WCC is an excellent, well run program - long may it continue!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Seeing a couple of the students I coached in 2002-2003, graduate from college and move into full time employment!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Increase its reach and its endowment through locating a full-time development professional

June 14, 2012

more

June 14, 2012

Over the years I have made multiple attempts to help out in public school classrooms. As much as they can use the extra manpower, they have a hard time making beneficial use of volunteers. It is a lot of extra work for a classroom teacher to manage volunteers,and potential volunteers are as varied as the students in a class. It's been great to volunteer with the Writer Coach Connection project of Community Alliance for Learning because they provide extensive training before you can work with students. And the group takes care of all the management duties. Having a group of writer coaches come requires some special attention from the teacher, but it seems fairly limited in comparison with the benefit for students. Also, a coach is assigned to every student and we work with them at whatever level they present to their coach. No one is singled out as needing a tutor, so there's no stigma disincentive for students to work with us. I have enjoyed some amazing interactions with individual students who would never have given me the time of day if I encountered them in a different setting. And it's very satisfying to see the impact on the students' work, whether just a kernel of trying harder, or the development of a real writer.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

...work with two to three students throughout the school year, if the volunteer has three hours per month to devote to WCC. A volunteer who is unable to commit to a regular schedule could devote three hours to serving as a substitute coach. Volunteer