Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
28 Reviews
1234.928575
Write A Review
December 7, 2014

more

December 7, 2014

I have been a perpetual volunteer within my son's school district for 7 years. Each opportunity to make a difference in these kids lives has been joyful. However nothing has ever given me quite the level of intrinsic value as being a Writer Coach for WCC. As a former marketing professional in Silicon Valley, I saw firsthand how critical writing skills are in the work place. As I struggled and succeeded to hone that perfect promotional piece---often times working until two in the morning!. I wish I had someone to sit one-on-one with me when I was readying for career, to help streamline the process! Writing is hands-down among the most important skills to carry our next generation forward. WCC is a timely must have program! It's also helping me in my own professional goals, as I ready my first Novel for publication!
October 3, 2014

more

October 3, 2014

This will be my fourth year as a writing coach with WriterCoach Connection (WCC). I work with students in middle school and high school English classes. Coaching students with WCC is pretty high on my list of fun and meaningful things to do. The thrilling part is the work I get to do with students. But I could not enjoy that so much without WCC professionalism. They provide training, resources, awesome on-site coordinators who ensure my time is devoted completely to students. Great organization for the schools and the community.
October 3, 2014

more

October 3, 2014

I just participated as a writing coach in a Getting Ready for College event for seniors at De Anza High School. The event was well organized; the volunteers were offered training and materials ahead of time. I had two young women who had already begun to think about their essays but hadn't yet solidified their thoughts. As they shared their background stories each one was able to refine her statement and get more clarity for herself. They left the session ready to write.

I have been impressed with the training we volunteers receive and with all the resources Writercoach Connection has made available to us and to the students. I enjoy the interactions with the students as they work on their projects and gain confidence in their ability to express their ideas. I am eagerly looking forward to my second year of coaching.
October 2, 2014

more

October 2, 2014

I worked in university teacher training and student development programs for over 20 years, grappling with the problem of how to improve students' writing. I got involved with WriterCoach because it seemed like an easy way to connect with my local schools. Get trained. Show up for 12-15 classes a year. Help kids with their writing assignments. Simple. Now I'm also a board member. I've experienced the training, watched students I've coached grow in confidence and skills, and teared up over their thank you cards. I've experienced the WCC staff having to make tough choices because even with 600 coaches, more are needed to give one-on-one support to students who don't have adults helping them write a 5 paragraph essay. This month it's back to school again at Fremont High in Oakland. I can't wait!
October 2, 2014

more

October 2, 2014

I'm a perpetual volunteer, at home and abroad, and I find Writer Coach Connection/WCC/Community Alliance for Learning to be the most effectively operated non-profit I have yet to serve. As a coach at two schools for the past 3 years I look forward to each coaching day and come away feeling well rewarded for my time invested.
September 26, 2014

more

September 26, 2014

I'm a fairly new coach, and my perspective will change as I gain more experience. To date I'm very impressed with the dedication of the staff and volunteers, and the project's extraordinary commitment to serving middle and high school students in schools across the east bay. The project has produced a wealth of resources (posted on the website, provided in training and at school sites) so the volunteer coaches receive good training and support.
I expect I'll increase my rating to 5 in a future review, but, at the moment, I'm lacking confidence in my coaching techniques. At times I've felt a need for more mentoring (a coach to coach volunteers!), but I expect I can get the help if I just ask!
September 25, 2014

more

September 25, 2014

I have worked for many non-profits over the years and I can say without hesitation that WriterCoach Connection is one of the best. WCC stays focused and true to its mission to bring individualized writer coaching into the East Bay public schools. As a result, the program has been highly effective. We know this from quantitative assessments and we know this because our kids tell us so! Speaking of the kids, it's also a lot of fun. I've been a volunteer for the past couple years now and would strongly recommend the organization.
September 24, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 24, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

After many years of volunteering for a variety of nonprofit organizations, I felt like I had discovered a gold mine when I found this program. The structure is designed to support volunteers in every way possible so we are prepared to maximize the impact we can have as we work with students. Volunteers, teachers, students, and school administrators all reap the benefits of this professionally run program that has consistently demonstrated results. You too can become a writer coach!!!
September 24, 2014

more


1 previous review
December 27, 2008

I've described myself as a board member in the interest of full disclosure -- but I began working with WriterCoach Connection as a volunteer in 2002 and continue to do so. Volunteers do all the real ... more

September 24, 2014

I'm a volunteer as well as a board member, just to be clear. (Your form only let me pick one category.) And one of the things I love about WriterCoach Connection (CAFL's in-school writing support program) is that it is the best volunteer experience I've ever had in a public school. Our work is closely coordinated with the teacher's plans, so that when we show up, the teachers are ready -- the students are ready -- the volunteers are prepped with advance notice of the writing project -- and everybody works together smoothly. It's rare to find a school volunteer program that makes such efficient (not to mention rewarding) use of volunteer time. It means we can draw on a wide range of volunteers -- students, working people, as well as retirees -- because they can do valuable work with a very manageable time commitment.

And besides, I love showing kids the joy of writing!
December 27, 2008

I've described myself as a board member in the interest of full disclosure -- but I began working with WriterCoach Connection as a volunteer in 2002 and continue to do so. Volunteers do all the real work of WCC; we're not just helpers, we carry out WCC's mission. We work one on one with middle and high school students, on their writing assignments, during English classes. The kids (who each get 8-10 sessions a year with a volunteer) blossom with this kind of attention and encouragement; they learn that they do have something worth saying, and that they really can say it in writing! Even the surliest teenagers have been known to say "Thanks" -- voluntarily. The organization provides terrific training, ongoing support, and real appreciation for its volunteers. And I've found that helping kids to think through their writing has helped me to do the same. (Why didn't I have this help when I was in high school??) It's the most rewarding work I've done.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

the responses from kids I've worked with: the satisfaction they feel in getting a piece of writing say what they want it to say. (I've also seen the professional assessments of the program's impact on writing performance.)

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Actually, I sort of do run this organization, as chair of the board. I am working on reaching out to the 350 volunteers, trying to involve them in more aspects of the organization (fundraising, publicity, etc.)

More feedback...

What I've enjoyed the most about my experience with this nonprofit is...

the way it uses the best talents of its volunteers ... puts them to work right away ... respects their time and their abilities ... they do the core work of the organization; staff is just there to coordinate.

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

varied, smart, thoughtful, creative, and showed me that there are many, many ways to talk to a teenager.

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

expand to more middle and high schools in Oakland, where it is running a pilot program in one high school. (Well, with $10 million, maybe even Richmond??)

Ways to make it better...

teachers gave more interesting writing assignments.

In my opinion, the biggest challenges facing this organization are...

fundraising in a time when schools are so tight for money. Figuring out how to make the program work in a variety of schools and school districts.

One thing I'd also say is that...

Many of our volunteers return year after year, and we are incredibly grateful that they do.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2008

September 18, 2014

more

September 18, 2014

I became a volunteer 14 1/2 years ago and later a pro bono member of the training staff. Though I no longer live in WriterCoach territory, I remain a staunch financial supporter and cheerleader for the program. Its leadership is talented and dedicated and its vision is much needed---currently I'm doing my best to share what I've learned through WCC at San Pasqual H.S. in Escondido,CA.
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

...work with two to three students throughout the school year, if the volunteer has three hours per month to devote to WCC. A volunteer who is unable to commit to a regular schedule could devote three hours to serving as a substitute coach. Volunteer