Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
12 Reviews
1234.833335
Previous | Next
Write A Review
April 24, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 24, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Hi my name is Daniel, I currently work for CAN, and first got involved as a student at UC Santa Cruz in 2008. I was attracted to CAN because it combined Sustainable Agriculture (Agroecology), Sustainable Economic Development, and Latin America. As a young Latino born and raised in the United States, I always wanted to be involved in work that promotes sustainable development in Latin America, and at the same time helps to fight poverty, starvation and environmental degradation. CAN had it all for me, and 4 year's later I am still here! It is amazing what a staff of 4 people and about 8 student interns working in collaboration with dozens of other professionals, professors and students around the world can do.

Photos

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 20, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 20, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Through my several years of working with CAN, they have offered me hands-on experiences to improve my skills and knowledge of collaborative environmental conservation and food security. At the same time, their unique action education program works along side farmers in Central America and Mexico so that my learning experience also contributed to improved livelihoods for small-scale family farms. I am particularly excited about their commitment to on-going participatory research so that programs are constantly evolving just as the global and local socio-ecological process do on the ground.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

April 15, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 15, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I am a veterinarian, farmer and permaculture teacher on Manitoulin Island,Ontaio,Canada. I am in the process of reclaiming land used for the over-grazing of cattle and restoring it to a healthy, balanced ecosystem and productive Food Forest. I am planting 1000 useful trees this year to add to the 1000 planted last year on my 200 acres. I am pleased to know about the Community Agroecology Network (CAN) and the positive work it does in Mesoamerica. Their mission is strongly related to my mission to restore my farm and teach others about permaculture and agroforestry methods , since the CAN partners are planting shade trees for growing their coffee in a more healthy ecosystem. Trees are vital for the long term health of the soil and our planet in general. I like the feeling that we are working together for the earth, in Canada, Mexico or Costa Rica. Congratulations to CAN for doing such good work, and keep on planting! Dr Mary Yett

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 12, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 12, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

CAN has been the community partner for a summer service learning course that I have been teaching since 2008 in Central America. I have learnt about the concepts of Agroecology and Participative Action Research from them and commend their efforts to develop alternative direct trade channels for small scale coffee farmers in Meso America.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Quite well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers