Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
4 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
October 16, 2013

more


2 previous reviews - show all
December 1, 2012

Community Action to Save Strays was started over 10 years ago in the small community of Oberlin in Ohio. Their goal was to make a difference in the lives of strays through a trap, neuter and release ... more

October 16, 2013

Community Action to Save Strays, CATSS is a wonderful non-profit organization in Oberlin, Ohio dedicated to improving the lives of feral cats and finding homes for those who are adoptable. It's a very small organization of volunteers who tirelessly trap, neuter and return these defenseless animals to their homes, which is outdoor. Not only are they healthier as a result, but they also are guaranteed continued care which makes them more readily accepted by humans. CATSS relies on generous donations to complete our mission. We have no designated home, but our network of volunteers make the organization work to the benefit of our wards.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

If given the opportunity to make one dynamic change to the organization, it would be a location for our cats to recuperate after surgery. A location where those cats and kittens that have been abandoned to be viewed and screened for potential adoption. Basically, if we had a location to call home, we could better serve these animals.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 1, 2012

Community Action to Save Strays was started over 10 years ago in the small community of Oberlin in Ohio. Their goal was to make a difference in the lives of strays through a trap, neuter and release program. What's unique about CATSS is it is a 100% volunteer organization without an official home. Yet, these dedicated individuals were able to help over 260 cats last year alone. It does make a difference in the community. Our volunteers treat these animals in a humane manner that allows them to live a healthier life in the community without continuing the cycle of reproduction. Our cats are truly loved from the infants raised by bottles, the friendly adoptable wards, to the feral colonies. CATSS makes a difference.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 1, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Community Action to Save Strays has been very active over the years. Last year 276 cats came to our organization. We successfully had 131 cats adopted. Our TNR group released 91 cats back in the Oberlin community where their care is monitored by a foster volunteer. We are an all volunteer organization that is making a difference in the attitude of feral cats in our community. On a personal level I have never experienced a more loving group of volunteers. The fosters who care for our feral population truly love these animals and treat them with dignity. In addition, CATSS assesses the ability to find homes for any cat or kitten that can be placed. We give back to the community by finding loving homes for these wards. And they in turn give to us the joy of knowing they are loved. Oberlin is unique in that it is also home to Oberlin College. A steady stream of students visit our kittens to clean, socialize and often adopt. I couldn't be more proud to be a part of such an organization.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 3, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
October 3, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

This is a small, all volunteer organization dedicated to trapping, neutering, returning and caring for feral and stray cats in the small college town of Oberlin, Ohio. With very limited resources CATSS deals with over 150 stray cats a year. Almost all their funds go for spay/neuters, other vet care and purchase of traps. They have no shelter, but 20-50 adoptable strays are being rehabilitated in foster homes at any time. They are small, informal and sometimes struggle with organizational issues, but do a lot of really good work with very little money.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

As the number of spays and neuters CATSS does increases, the incidence of FIV and feline leukemia positives in the kittens I foster decreases. (Neutered ferals just don't spread disease as frequently as intact ferals do.)

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Get them some administrative help! They are so busy doing what they do that they don't have time for grant writing, fundraising, etc.

Write A Review

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers