Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
4 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
August 13, 2013

more

August 13, 2013

Community Action Center, Inc officially changed its name to Community Assistance Center, Inc. in Jan. 2012.

I have been practicing law for 35 years, but the past seven have included volunteer work for the Community Assistance Center (CAC), a non-profit that serves people who are
experiencing unexpected financial crises. I served on the Board of Directors during that entire time and moved into the position as President of the Board of CAC in 2012. I give from my resources so that the CAC can continue to help families who are experiencing job loss, wage reduction, high medical expenses, family separation or illness.

I have always had empathy for my clients, but seeing them in the office is much different from seeing them come to the CAC for the necessities of life. Watching the faces of the children when they receive Christmas or holiday presents or the parents when we provide Thanksgiving food baskets and gift cards, is very fulfilling. It's a privilege I had never experienced before in my life.

CAC is managed by a small staff and operated by hundreds of volunteers. They work daily to meet the basic needs of their clients by providing food (around a million pounds annually), shelter (helping individuals and families stay in their homes with rent and utility assistance), clothing, and education (offering classes in Citizenship, Excel, QuickBooks, computer use, ESL, etc.).

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 23, 2012

more

March 23, 2012

I am currently associated with CAC as a volunteer and as a board member. This organization is effective and necessary impacting many types of people in Sandy Springs and Dunwoody, Georgia. The staff is totally dedicated to helping those area residents who need help meeting basic needs and to become self reliant. People are served with respect and compassion. Also I work with some of the most dedicated volunteers who treat their volunteer job just like they would their professional occupation. CAC is an organization that deserves support.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 23, 2012

more

March 23, 2012

Prior to sitting on the board of CAC I donated to their annual fund raising event and was proud to affiliated with such a wonderful and effective organization. As a board memebr, I now get to see first hand the impact that CAC makes in the live of those they serve and in the community as a whole. CAC is a well run organization which goes above and beyond in prodving assistance and services to those in need. The organization not only helps when times are tough but offer training and development to its clients so that they can build themselves up impoves all aspects of their lives. With a strong and dedicated team of volunteers and staff, CAC is making a positive difference in the community!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

March 22, 2012

more

March 22, 2012

I have been associated with CAC for 8 years and currently serve as VP of the Board. This is a compassionate organization that serves residents of Dunwoody and Sandy Springs who are in emergency situations. The hard working staff is complemented by over 200 volunteers and supported by 28 congregations. It is well run, efficient, and produces amazing results. CAC is worthy of your support!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers