Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
82 Reviews
1234.780495
Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
May 23, 2013

more

May 23, 2013

Communities In Schools Nassau is a unique program supporting students and their families to navigate academics and other barriers found in life. Students are the hardest hit in tough times. In my mind, this an unfair dynamic to them. Students need to be students. Like us adults, they need time to learn, grow, rest, defuse and just have fun. They also need support in making good decisions and good choices in how best to handle life's impact. Communities In Schools Nassau offers this support. Programs go above and beyond in academic support, career coaching and development, college preparedness, emotional support, health and fitness, teaching Life Skills, and giving a host of basic needs support. A student excels when achievement occurs. Communities In Schools gives the opportunity and tools necessary in that achievement.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 23, 2013

more

May 23, 2013

As an AmeriCorps VISTA volunteer serving at Communities In Schools of Nassau County, I've been able to get a unique perspective on what CIS does, and what a positive impact it has on the youth of our community. I've seen the positive change in students, both academically and emotionally. The CIS program gives students the support and positive influence they need to acheive their goals.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Increase community awareness of CIS Nassau.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 23, 2013

more

May 23, 2013

they have helped me improve my grades. also they have helped me get time to do extra homework. finaly they help raised my GPA.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

have some more food

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Unsure

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A little

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Somewhat badly

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Unlikely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 24, 2013

more

April 24, 2013

As a LST volunteer I enjoyed inter-action with both Hilliard & Callahan students. This program affords the ability to allow students an opportunity to hear life learning skills from someone other than whom they may deal with on a day-to-day basis. One more piece of support that hopefully assist our children in the growing process. I applaud Nassau county & its effort for reaching out in an attempt to help our children transition into mature young adults......

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2002

April 22, 2013

more

April 22, 2013

As a Volunter with Communities in School. I found that it helps to direct our youth in being a complete person with a positive view of daily living. The tutoring program helps students excel in their classes. The Life Skill programs provides student with a means of talking about different issues if needed. It also give them the tools to make healthy decision. I have two great granddaughters that is a part of this program, It has been a big help to them. I am happy that I decided to be a part of CIS.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 22, 2013

more

April 22, 2013

As a volounteer at Hilliard Middle School, I have learned about the needs of our children in dealing with life issues and I applaud the efforts of all of our volounteers everywhere.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 22, 2013

more

April 22, 2013

As a volunteer in the CIS program at both Callahan and Hilliard middle schools I have been able to witness first hand the impact their programs have on at risk kids. I have seen attitudes towards school improve. CIS is there to provide support for these students and I know it is having a possitive affect on their lives. I am proud to do my small part in working with CIS as a Life Skills facilitator.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 14, 2013

more

April 14, 2013

It is always great to help the kids. They are so appreciative of any time someone visits the program to help.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 9, 2013

more

April 9, 2013

CIS is the best organization to help local children "in need".
CIS provides a climate of safety and support in an educational environment - much needed in our community.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 7, 2013

more

April 7, 2013

Working with Communities In Schools is an amazing experience. It's one of those rare volunteer opportunities where you feel both fulfilled and appreciated, and that your time and efforts do make a difference. I've been involved in a variety of activities and projects, and the dedication shown by Susan Milana, the CIS staff and everyone I've worked with is truly inspiring. Their efforts enable the program to provide a remarkable range of support and services--as well as opportunites--to our schoolchildren, their families and our community. I'm glad I can be part of it all!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Tutor, coach, mentor, teach, guide, or enrich a young person's life. Volunteer