Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
102 Reviews
1234.823535
| 1 ... 3 4 5...10 |
Write A Review
April 9, 2013

more

April 9, 2013

CIS is the best organization to help local children "in need".
CIS provides a climate of safety and support in an educational environment - much needed in our community.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 8, 2013

more

April 8, 2013

As a donor to Communitites in Schools of Nassau County I have seen an increase in student production and decrease in the students involved discipline referrals. Dealing mainly with athletes, this program is a great avenue for student athletes to keep their required grade point averages up to be eligible to participate as well as teach study skills that will help in their academic futures, teaching them learning skills that will follow them through life. Without this facet in our school systems, our community would suffer greatly from the fallout that would be generated. A great program and asset to Nassau County!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 7, 2013

more

April 7, 2013

Working with Communities In Schools is an amazing experience. It's one of those rare volunteer opportunities where you feel both fulfilled and appreciated, and that your time and efforts do make a difference. I've been involved in a variety of activities and projects, and the dedication shown by Susan Milana, the CIS staff and everyone I've worked with is truly inspiring. Their efforts enable the program to provide a remarkable range of support and services--as well as opportunites--to our schoolchildren, their families and our community. I'm glad I can be part of it all!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 5, 2013

more

April 5, 2013

As a Board Member, I feel the passion this organization provides to the middle & high school students we serve. We are not just a "drop out prevention" program but we assist students with all of life's challeneges. We want students to succeed in life!!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 10, 2012

more

July 10, 2012

As a volunteer, I've had the pleasure of experiencing the positive effects that the mentoring and supplemental programs have on developing our youth. a particularly impactful experience were the times I participated in their career development program. Bringing community business leaders together with students in order to better prepare the youth for future job opportunities, served to both educate the potential employees and potential employers while honing skills. Providing hope for those who may not otherwise achieve their potential is the essence of what this organization provides to our community.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 24, 2012

more

June 24, 2012

Each year, I get an opportunity to review the record of CIS Nassau with the ED. They reach kids who lack almost any effective support at home, and provide feedback and encouragement to stay in school and learn. They don't always succeed, but most of the kids they serve stay in school and improve their grades. They need more resources to reach more kids.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

June 21, 2012

more

June 21, 2012

This is the most awesome thing they have come up with to help people.I had alot of help when i attended

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 20, 2012

more

June 20, 2012

Communities in School helped me bring my grades up so that I could pass to the seventh grade. I have Bipolar and Depression and wasn't thrilled with school but Ms. Tammy helped me get back on track and I was promoted to the seventh grade. If there was no Communities in School I wouldn't have been able to get the help I needed to pass. Please continue to support them so other kids may get the benefit I received from them.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 20, 2012

more

June 20, 2012

My child has participated in CIS for the past two years. His weaknesses are math and reading. The one-on-one instruction that he receives in math has made a significant impact upon his performance in the class and on assignments/tests. Each person has their own way of learning, what tricks help things sink in and what tools to employ to get through assignments. Your instructors have the know-how to impart their learning techniquies to CIS students to make a difference.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 20, 2012

more

June 20, 2012

My daughter Brooke was in the tutoring class and it was a wonderful. they worked with Brooke thoughout the school year and helped her with any questions she had that did not get answered in class. She was able to finish the year with A, B and C's which is amazing. I love this program and hope it continues in the years to come. Darlene Armstrong

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Tutor, coach, mentor, teach, guide, or enrich a young person's life. Volunteer