Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
86 Reviews
1234.79075
Previous | 1 2 3...9 |
Write A Review
August 22, 2014

more

August 22, 2014

Communities In Schools is a fantastic organization that helps students in Nassau County be successful in school and beyond. The staff are hardworking and diligent in providing whatever assistance they can to students and their families by building relationships. The programs results speak for themselves!
August 22, 2014

more

August 22, 2014

Communities in Schools is a great organization that helps students succeed and strive for greatness. The site directors and student service coordinators really care for the students needs. I am excited to see the future of CIS and to see the improvements within the students to become successful in their lives.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 22, 2014

more

August 22, 2014

Communities in Schools of Nassau County is an amazing non-profit! They care so passionately and strongly for their students and help them to achieve in every way. I love how they are constantly looking for new ways to help their students and also how to get the community involved. The relationships built with the students are lasting and previous students always come back to share how they are doing and their successes. AMAZING PROGRAM!
August 22, 2014

more

August 22, 2014

Communities In Schools of Nassau County is doing big things for our students! The site directors do such a good job of making relationships with the students and doing whatever it takes to get them to succeed in school!
October 7, 2013

more

October 7, 2013

I have personally heard through several different School Board Superintendents the amazing difference that CIS makes with their children. CIS is a great program for all schools!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Can't think of any - they do a great job with limited funding as most nonprofits.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 7, 2013

more

October 7, 2013

This program is so helpful to individual students! The one-on-one relationships that are built do so much to increase the potential of so many students who do get this type of adult support elsewhere. I have seen grades increase and overall involvement in school and school related activities soar with many students who participate in CIS.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Allow for more staff per site in order to reach more students.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 5, 2013

more

June 5, 2013

Communities in Schools of Nassau County is doing a great job with the youth of Nassau County. One of my dearest friends' daughter participated in the program, both her grades and attendance improved she progressed to the next grade level and qualified for honors classes.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 23, 2013

more

May 23, 2013

Communities In Schools Nassau is a unique program supporting students and their families to navigate academics and other barriers found in life. Students are the hardest hit in tough times. In my mind, this an unfair dynamic to them. Students need to be students. Like us adults, they need time to learn, grow, rest, defuse and just have fun. They also need support in making good decisions and good choices in how best to handle life's impact. Communities In Schools Nassau offers this support. Programs go above and beyond in academic support, career coaching and development, college preparedness, emotional support, health and fitness, teaching Life Skills, and giving a host of basic needs support. A student excels when achievement occurs. Communities In Schools gives the opportunity and tools necessary in that achievement.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 23, 2013

more

May 23, 2013

As an AmeriCorps VISTA volunteer serving at Communities In Schools of Nassau County, I've been able to get a unique perspective on what CIS does, and what a positive impact it has on the youth of our community. I've seen the positive change in students, both academically and emotionally. The CIS program gives students the support and positive influence they need to acheive their goals.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Increase community awareness of CIS Nassau.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 23, 2013

more

May 23, 2013

they have helped me improve my grades. also they have helped me get time to do extra homework. finaly they help raised my GPA.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

have some more food

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Unsure

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A little

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Somewhat badly

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Unlikely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3...9 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Tutor, coach, mentor, teach, guide, or enrich a young person's life. Volunteer