Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
82 Reviews
1234.780495
Previous | 1 2 3...9 |
Write A Review
October 7, 2013

more

October 7, 2013

I have personally heard through several different School Board Superintendents the amazing difference that CIS makes with their children. CIS is a great program for all schools!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Can't think of any - they do a great job with limited funding as most nonprofits.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 7, 2013

more

October 7, 2013

This program is so helpful to individual students! The one-on-one relationships that are built do so much to increase the potential of so many students who do get this type of adult support elsewhere. I have seen grades increase and overall involvement in school and school related activities soar with many students who participate in CIS.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Allow for more staff per site in order to reach more students.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 5, 2013

more

June 5, 2013

Communities in Schools of Nassau County is doing a great job with the youth of Nassau County. One of my dearest friends' daughter participated in the program, both her grades and attendance improved she progressed to the next grade level and qualified for honors classes.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 23, 2013

more

May 23, 2013

Communities In Schools Nassau is a unique program supporting students and their families to navigate academics and other barriers found in life. Students are the hardest hit in tough times. In my mind, this an unfair dynamic to them. Students need to be students. Like us adults, they need time to learn, grow, rest, defuse and just have fun. They also need support in making good decisions and good choices in how best to handle life's impact. Communities In Schools Nassau offers this support. Programs go above and beyond in academic support, career coaching and development, college preparedness, emotional support, health and fitness, teaching Life Skills, and giving a host of basic needs support. A student excels when achievement occurs. Communities In Schools gives the opportunity and tools necessary in that achievement.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 23, 2013

more

May 23, 2013

As an AmeriCorps VISTA volunteer serving at Communities In Schools of Nassau County, I've been able to get a unique perspective on what CIS does, and what a positive impact it has on the youth of our community. I've seen the positive change in students, both academically and emotionally. The CIS program gives students the support and positive influence they need to acheive their goals.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Increase community awareness of CIS Nassau.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 23, 2013

more

May 23, 2013

they have helped me improve my grades. also they have helped me get time to do extra homework. finaly they help raised my GPA.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

have some more food

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Unsure

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A little

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Somewhat badly

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Unlikely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 23, 2013

more


1 previous review
April 22, 2013

Communities in Schools takes its mission of surrounding our students with a community of support to empower them to succeed in school and achieve in life very seriously. As an advisor working direct... more

May 23, 2013

The Communities In Schools room has helped me in doing the interview challenge, which has helped e to know what an interview is like. The people in the CIS room are helpful and supportive of the student.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Likely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 22, 2013

Communities in Schools takes its mission of surrounding our students with a community of support to empower them to succeed in school and achieve in life very seriously.

As an advisor working directly with CIS students, I see this need on a daily basis. We know that many times students
are struggling academically because they are being affected by a host of other factors.

Communities in Schools works diligently to try to address these issues as well as the students' academic needs, and it is very rewarding when our efforts result in happier, higher-achieving students.


More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 24, 2013

more

April 24, 2013

As a LST volunteer I enjoyed inter-action with both Hilliard & Callahan students. This program affords the ability to allow students an opportunity to hear life learning skills from someone other than whom they may deal with on a day-to-day basis. One more piece of support that hopefully assist our children in the growing process. I applaud Nassau county & its effort for reaching out in an attempt to help our children transition into mature young adults......

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2002

April 22, 2013

more

April 22, 2013

As a Volunter with Communities in School. I found that it helps to direct our youth in being a complete person with a positive view of daily living. The tutoring program helps students excel in their classes. The Life Skill programs provides student with a means of talking about different issues if needed. It also give them the tools to make healthy decision. I have two great granddaughters that is a part of this program, It has been a big help to them. I am happy that I decided to be a part of CIS.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 22, 2013

more

April 22, 2013

As a volounteer at Hilliard Middle School, I have learned about the needs of our children in dealing with life issues and I applaud the efforts of all of our volounteers everywhere.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3...9 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Tutor, coach, mentor, teach, guide, or enrich a young person's life. Volunteer