Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
7 Reviews
1234.571435
Previous | Next
Write A Review
April 29, 2011

more

April 29, 2011

If you are looking for a charity to support, this is it. The facts are fairly simple and clear: improved academic success leads to higher graduation rates, which creates opportunity to succeed in life. CIS gets to kids before poverty, homelessness, violence, and substance abuse become barriers to learning. How? By creating RELATIONSHIPS rather than programs to reach kids. The organization works directly with school administrators, parents, and community leaders to identify children and families that may have needs beyond the scope of a normal educational experience. CIS then brings to bear existing community resources to meet those needs. These services include tutoring, mentoring, after-school programs, food, housing, clothing, leadership training, gang intervention and prevention, physical and mental health education, and substance abuse intervention, among others. CIS has a proven, quantitative track record of keeping kids in school.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Seeing kids develop through the mentoring program to graduate from high school and go on to college. Several kids who were helped by Communities in Schools have come back to be part of the CIS staff, helping others achieve the same success they have experienced.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Find a way to get the CIS resources into more schools.

April 28, 2011

more

April 28, 2011

Communities in Schools of Central Ohio has a proven record of helping hundreds of children stay in school and graduate each year. The CIS staff works closely with teachers, community groups and parents to ensure each child is ready to succeed. Poverty creates so many issues that have to be resolved before a child can learn. CIS helps fill the gaps, one child at a time.

I am proud to serve on the CIS board and support the CIS team in any way possible. They truly make a difference in the lives of our children.

Karen Lurvey



The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I had the opportunity to be a principle for a day at a local elementary school. The days provide a glimpse of the issues the school was facing. The principle indicated that the CIS school based resource was critical to the school's overall success. It was great to see the CIS in action.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Have more funds to increase the number of school based resources in the Columbus City Schools.

April 28, 2011

more

April 28, 2011

I am honored to serve on this Board and being apart of a team that helps surround students with community support and empower them to stay in school. As a graduate of Columbus Public Schools, I enjoy giving back to the school system that help mold me into the professional I am today.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

seeing the metrics of the number of student particapting in the different CIS programs and their success.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

we continue to look at process improvements.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

How did you learn about this organization?

U.S. Bank

What is this organization's top short-term priority?

surround students with community support and empower them to stay in school

What is its top priority in the long run?

surround students with community support and empower them to stay in school

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

April 28, 2011

more

April 28, 2011

I taught the students in the CIS after school program Zumba moves. The children really seemed to enjoy the workout and the music. The staff was friendly and participated alongside the children in the Zumba experience. I appreciate how organized and welcoming the coordinator was for this activity. The children were well-behaved and engaged. This is certainly a reflection of the program leadership.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

the manner in which the children talk about the program when asked. I have not run across a student that did not enjoy the opportunities provided by the CIS after school program.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Pay the workers more for such valuable work.

April 27, 2011

more

April 27, 2011

I was looking for a way to help families in need, and particularly those with children. I also wanted to do it locally (Columbus, OH area). I found Communities In Schools through the local newspaper.

I have been a donor for three years now, and it has been rewarding. I don't meet the
families that are helped, and they don't know who I am, but I do usually receive a 'thank you' letter in which I can tell if I made a difference to the family or not -- and that can make the experience entirely worth while!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

feedback from the families that are helped.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

continue to look for ways to expose the charity to the public -- the 5k run, notes in the paper during the holidays, at churches, etc.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Likely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

What specific problem, purpose, priority, or project prompted your gift?

looking for a way to help families in need during the holiday season

Why did you make your donation at this time?

so at least one family will know someone cares, and don't have to feel 'left out' of the year end celebrations

What would you tell others about this organization?

it's a way to help families with children in need

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

April 25, 2011

more

April 25, 2011

I am the coordinator at Huntington Bank for the E.L.I.T.E. (Exceptional Leaders Inspired Through Excellence) program w/ CIS. This is my third year participating in the mentor program and CIS has done an exceptional job in developing the mentor program.
I look forward to my visits at Cassady
Elementary to discuss and share the developmental assets that we encourage the young men to acknowledge and utilize as they learn to identify and develop their own character. CIS provided the mentors w/ the necessary training and tools to understand the basic background of the students to successfully engage w/ the young men. CIS has devoted the efforts and time in building the foundation to encourage mentors to be positive representatives as we build an environment that will promote an open dialogue and a trust w/ the young men.
I speak well and often of my experience w/ the E.L.I.T.E program as I seek to recruit others to join or at least be informed of the prgram. The results of the program are measured by the feedback received from the parents and teachers of Cassady Elementary as they notice a difference in the behavior of those students who are participants. We, mentors notice the difference in the dialogue, the questions and the conversations as we attend each week. The mentees thinking processes are elavated. The ELITE prgram teaches and encourages our youth to take pride and respect w/in themselves which, translates to a better mentality, improved decision making and interaction w/ others.
As they learn to care more for themselves, the more they will learn to care about others. The more they learn to respect themselves, the less they will want to disrepect others. This is the foundation on which CIS has built the ELITE program.
The road map is clear and the directions are defined-Know who you are, self-identity; Know where you want to be, have a plan; and learn how to avoid or overcome all distractions, utilize your assets.
The eight developmental assets chosen for the ELITE are: Caring, Integrity, Honesty, Responsibility, Planning & Decision Making, Cultural Competence, Resistance Skills and Nonviolent Conflict Resolution.
We encourage, enlighten and empower the students to understand that a life w/ boundaries is a life w/ unlimited potential.
I thank CIS for the opportunity to be a part of a powerful program that reaches out to embrace and educate our young men. The ELITE program allows these young ones to see that they do have options, they do have choices and that their current situations or circumstances are not the end but just an obstacle that they can overcome. The ELITE program deals with life and most importantly, life choices and the key message is your destination is not defined by where you come from, your destination is defined by the decisions you make along the way.
All forward motion is met w/ resistance, what happens next defines your character. The ELITE are recognized.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

The results of the program are measured by the feedback received from the parents and teachers of Cassady Elementary as they notice a difference in the behavior of those students who are participants. We, mentors notice the difference in the dialogue, the questions and the conversations as we attend each week. The mentees thinking processes are elavated.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Try to find ways to extend the program from elementary to the upper levels of education (middle and High school). This will allow the program to grow w/ the students and be a continuing platform.

April 22, 2011

more

April 22, 2011

I have known Communities in Schools since 2006. i have worked in nonprofits quite a bit over the years and understand the challenges of running a small organization that relies on increasingly limited funding and private donations. What Communities in Schools does well is harness its talent and maximize the use of existing resources to help meet the needs of the students and families it serves. Through Communities in Schools, I've seen how their staff responds when a seventh grader walks into school without wearing any shoes, or when the family receives an eviction notice. The staff of Communities in Schools have expertise when it comes to linking available community resources to schools who need that support in order to help students continue their educational development and ultimately, graduate.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Seeing dozens of students and families supported during times of challenge - seeing that the kids do not lapse in school attendance and that they have their basic needs met so they can focus on building academic skills

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Increase funding for process-based initiatives

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Volunteer in an after-school program (grades 3-12): tutoring, book club, art projects, dancing, exercise, etc.

Work with students (K-12) on a specific project

Volunteer to help with annual 1 mile/5 K Walk/Run in September

Help distribute food from Mid-Ohio Food Bank on assigned times during the year to families at a school

Shop for a family for Holiday Help

Volunteer at a school to do landscaping, clean-up, painting, etc.

Volunteer at an end-of -the-school-year event

We are open to other ideas! Volunteer