Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
18 Reviews
12345
Previous | Next
Write A Review
March 13, 2013

more

March 13, 2013

Comix35 is doing a great job spreading the word of Christ through graphic media (bitterly know as comics). The donations are well spent and are used to put on seminars in different Countries around the world to teach individuals how to develop and produce graphic stories to spread the word of Christ, in their own language and within their own cultural context. It is amazing what comes out of these seminars and how this ministry is spreading the word of Christ.
As a board member, I can tell the donations are very well spent.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 18, 2013

more

February 18, 2013

Having lived and worked in developing countries, I fully understand the significance and potential of comics literature in spreading the Word of God, as well as it's potential in the U.S. I know of no other ministry that provides the technical assistance and spirt for preparing disciples to use this medium for the glory of God. A supporter of this work for over a decade, I will continue to pray and give resources to the mission of COMIX35. Praise God!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 17, 2013

more

February 17, 2013

Before you read my review, please know that Nathan Butler and I got married in May 2012, so I would like to point out two things: 1) I am biased :-) and 2) I am writing in reference to my time on the Board of COMIX35 before Nathan and I became a couple. His first wife, Susan, and my first husband, Jonathan, both passed away in 2011. I am writing about the time when Nathan and I were both still in our first marriages.

Nathan asked me to consider serving God's ministry through COMIX35 seven years ago. Specifically, he asked me if I would be willing to serve as the Treasurer/Chief Financial Officer on the Board of Directors because of my accounting background. After prayer, consideration, and consultation with my husband, Jonathan, I accepted the honor.

From the perspective of an accounting-oriented and business-oriented person and not as any kind of comics artist, I can tell you that Nathan and the COMIX35 ministry are clean-cut, honorable, honest, frugal, sincere, and genuine.

During my six years as the Treasurer/CFO, part of my job was to keep an eye on the bookkeeping and banking and to be enforce internal controls. I never once saw even a penny's error or misuse in the monthly bookkeeping (income and expenses), the payroll, nor the annual non-profit tax return. Each year, COMIX35 has its books externally and independently audited, and each the auditor would struggle to find something to ask for improvement for the following year. Finally, he just gave up and admitted that he could not ask for more.

Obviously, as soon as Nathan and I started dating, I resigned as the Treasurer/CFO. I planned to resign from the Board altogether, but the other Board members generously and unanimously asked me to stay.

As a Board member, I am here to tell you that God uses Nathan and COMIX35 in incredible ways! He keeps His promises, and He amazes us regularly by showing the greatness of His power. He takes this tiny, little mustard seed of a ministry and grows it exponentially into a huge vehicle for bringing people into His Kingdom. I ask you to seriously consider supporting this ministry first prayerfully and secondly financially. God uses prayer support and financial support in miraculous ways through COMIX35!!!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 16, 2013

more

February 16, 2013

I went to the first Christian Comic Book Training in the Philippines 16 years ago, having no idea what to expect. A whole slew of comic pros who had worked on all the big names--Snuffy Smith, Archie, Superman etc--introduced us to the art and philosophy of comics making and gave us tools to use them for communication. Since then Comix35 has conducted seminars on every continent except Antarctica, and has been responsible for motivating many influential projects: Christian mangga from Japan, street child ministries in various world cities--in Mexico, South America, Russia--and prison tract testimonials written and illustrated by inmates.
This ministry is run with great integrity by CEO Nate Butler who squeezes every milli-cent of value from the widow's mite. He will not tour or buy a single souvenir when traveling for Comix35 because he is so concerned with financial and time-use integrity. This is why I consented to be on the Board for several terms. Anyone who has done missions in the 2/3 world--as we did in the Philippines--knows that comics, indeed are "the world's most popular literature."
It costs huge sums of money, all kinds of hustle, bustle, hassle and administrative expense to field missionaries. Whereas, training missionaries, emerging leaders, and talented church members to use comics for evangelism and discipleship give you a gigantic return for your donated buck.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers