Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
32 Reviews
1234.8755
| 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
August 28, 2013

more

August 28, 2013

My daughter Destiny ha had a marvelous opportunity extended to her through the vehicle of this Non-Profit. As a child who loves theatre , it has been a blessing to have a quality camp that teaches her the fundamentals of acting and singing, free of charge! Their outreach program that is extended to the children of Baltimore City is a godsend and my daughter has many happy memories resulting from this organization, including but not limited to performing at Toby's Dinner Theatre...twice! This is definitely a worthwhile Non-Profit that serves definite need.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 27, 2013

more

August 27, 2013

CCTA is a non-profit of the highest caliber. In this organization, individuals give above and beyond of their time, talent, and energy. They give kids a safe place to explore and create. Through their special guidance. kids not only deepen their appreciation for the arts, but they learn about themselves, how to work with others, take chances and HAVE FUN! Every child should have the opportunity to experience a CCTA production at least once in their lives.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Expand fundraising efforts to try to reach out to more kids.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 27, 2013

more

August 27, 2013

Both of my kids enjoyed their summer camps for years. They had fun, learned new skills, developed friendships, and felt supported and encouraged by the staff. We have had positive experiences with CCTA.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 24, 2013

more

August 24, 2013

I grew up taking classes at the Columbia School of Theatrical Arts 30 years ago and so I can tell you from first hand experience how this organization is life-changing. Toby and her talented staff not only taught me to act, sing, dance and perform to the best of my ability, they also gave me confidence, the discipline to work hard and not give up, and priceless communication skills. I look back on that time with such joy! I was thrilled to be able to give that same invaluable growth experience to my boys. My sons have taken classes and summer camps with CCTA. They have also been a part of the Young Columbians and Teen Professional Theater. I was so impressed with the talent, teaching and encouragement they received through the program that I have become part of the team again after all these years. CCTA is a family to my boys. They have made lasting friendships. In CCTA they have found a safe space to build their musical theater skills. They can speak to a crowd with ease. They can communicate their ideas with confidence. And just like me, they find tremendous joy in their CCTA journey!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 23, 2013

more


1 previous review
November 2, 2012

Working with kids of all ages, all talent levels, etc....CCTA is first class. The theatrical arts education that each student receives is a huge asset to the community as both children and adults bene... more

August 23, 2013

First class organization!

Our son has been involved with this program and I have worked with this organization on many levels. They work they do with kids of all ages and levels is amazing.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 2, 2012

Working with kids of all ages, all talent levels, etc....CCTA is first class. The theatrical arts education that each student receives is a huge asset to the community as both children and adults benefit. Go see a production and I think you'll agree!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

To work with Toby's teaching team is to experience the wonderful results that can be achieved after only a few weeks of rehearsals and classes.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 9, 2012

more

November 9, 2012

My parents were very involved with the Columbia Center for the Theatrical Arts as patrons, volunteers, and enthusiastic supporters. I have been involved also in watching the School grow. the performances from groups of all ages are always outstanding, and have entertained attendees and participants for decades. The impact on children's self-esteem, abilities, and sense of confidence has been remarkable! This is truly a GRAT non-profit serving familiesa dn communities!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 8, 2012

more

November 8, 2012

CCTA has made a wonderful impact on both of my kids, Susanna and James. However, I think that the child that it has changed the most is my son, James. We adopted James through The Baltimore City Foster Care System when he was 3 years old. He suffered from medical and physical neglect from his biological parents. When he was taken out of his biological home, he was raging with fever and was covered in cat feces. His home did not have adequate food, heat and was unsanitary. The processes for healing and recovering from the trauma took years. And because of his prior neglect, I have been very protective of him. Intially, I was hestitant to let him join peer related activities because I feared that he would be rejected and I did not want to induce anymore pain on him. Last year, CCTA came to his school, Atholton Elementary as part of their outreach program. He begged me to let him join in the class. I gave in, and before my eyes, I saw my son transform his insecuriity to confidence. The timid little guy became a young boy proud to be part of his first play. The night of the show he dressed himself in a suit and tie and I asked, "Why are you so dressed up?" He said, "Tonight, I make my Toby's debut. " I never had the heart to tell him that his school play wasn't exactly the same caliber as the dinner theater because to him it made no difference.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 8, 2012

more

November 8, 2012

My son has attended Columbia Center for Theatrical Arts Summer Programs for many years and he looks forward to attending each summer. He has made many new friends that he stays in touch with throughout the year. The staff is always so compassionate and kind. Kids get to work with instructors who have performed on Broadway to really challenge their acting skills. I can't put into words just how much CCTA means to me and my son. Not only does he get acting/singing instruction but he has also gained many life skills that he will carry with him well into the future! Thank you Toby for CCTA and to your wonderful staff for all you do for our kids and the community! The scholarships that you provide make the arts available to kids who wouldn't have the opportunity to attend the program.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 6, 2012

more

November 6, 2012

Here is an organization that deserves more than just applause. Our family has enjoyed numerous shows presented in both school auditoriums and Toby's Dinner Theater. Great talent. Great direction. CCTA deserves this recognition. Michael Kelemen, MD

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

- Assist in marketing our summer Teen Professional Theater production.- Help to sew costumes- Work here in the CCTA office