Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
32 Reviews
1234.8755
Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
September 9, 2013

more

September 9, 2013

An absolutely outstanding organization that is a very valuable part of the Howard County arts community. CCTA serves a wide constituency and its productions are superb and fun to watch. Its students are challenged and the end products show lots of hard work and commitment -- as well as constantly growing talent.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Find it a permanent home.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 29, 2013

more

August 29, 2013

This is an amazing place. They bring out the beautiful abilities of children and adults with challenges!!!!! Thanks for all
Shari

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 29, 2013

more

August 29, 2013

The Columbia School For Theatrical Arts is an outstanding exemplary organization that serves to promote the arts as an all-encompassing benefit to individuals and communities. It serves a wide range of students, including those with a range of disabilities, and provides growth for self concept and self esteem and talent development for young people. It reaches out by its performances and services to many communities!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Continue its growth!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 28, 2013

more

August 28, 2013

I have attended a number of shows produced by the Columbia Center for Theatrical Arts - CCTA - and the quality of performance remains consistently high year after year. CCTA includes a tiered system of programs based on age for children and youth. While the youngest casts do a very fine job and have some obviously wonderful coaching, the true stand-out is CCTA's Teen Professional Theatre whose participants are accepted by audition. The level of professionalism exhibited by these young actors, dancers and singers is remarkable. In addition, the costuming and sets are geared at a professional level and the pit bands for musicals have been outstanding. CCTA is definitely a five-star gem that has a major impact on the quality of life in the Baltimore-Washington area. Many thanks to the dedicated staff and with appreciation to Toby Orenstein who created CCTA and continues to guide and support this exceptional educational program.

More feedback...

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 28, 2013

more

August 28, 2013

Absolutely love CCTA! The programs they have challenge you to do more but in a positive constructive manner. I love everything about them!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 28, 2013

more

August 28, 2013

I chose to participate with this organization for many reasons.
First, because CCTA welcomed my shy and reserved daughter, who had something to say but lacked the confidence to say it, and who loved to sing and act but was too shy to show it and turned her into a confident, erudite,
self-assured young woman. Who, by the way, has a voice degree and an acting MFA and is making her mark on stage.
Secondly, I volunteered with CCTA with it's Ben Carson program that not only
provides a professional stage presentation of Ben Carson, MD's remarkable and inspiring
life to Baltimore City's most needy populations but provides books and teacher follow up material
to many Baltimore City schools at NO cost to the schools. This has changed me in so many ways - it has opened my heart to the plight of needy children and I am so proud of my small contribution.
Thirdly, I am aware of this organization's commitment to ALL children and am excited to be part of an organization that does not fail to meet the needs of our forgotten Children. Those children with multiple challenges - emotional, developmental, and physical disabilities that need to feel a part of something, something that makes them feel that they are not defined by their disability - that they are able to be part of an ensemble - a group - that can take them out of their own world and into a new world where they can make a difference in someone else's life. I am adopting a special needs child and look forward to participating with this worthy organization.
So, in conclusion, this non-profit organization has been life-changing for me, mine and countless other children in this area. That is why I chose to be part of this amazing organization and why it needs to be a model for other non-profits all over the United States.
Sincerely,
Diane Proia

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 28, 2013

more

August 28, 2013

CCTA is such a wonderful, inclusive, supportive organization. They are just as wonderful with the future broadway stars as they are with the physically and mentally disabled kids and teens. Even those unable to speak, unable to move person who inside is just as talented and creative - CCTA gives them the same opportunity to perform and receive the applause they deserve. The kids learn about theater, but the staff also teaches by example that caring for each other and respecting and celebrating differences is more important than individual success. As the mother of a special needs child, I've had the pleasure of seeing them literally open my son's world to be able to experience a mixed troupe of teens and to feel accepted and (this is not an exaggeration) cherished. There is no other organization like CCTA.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Help them with more funding to allow them to extend their reach into the community.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 28, 2013

more

August 28, 2013

My daughter was looking for an outlet for her creative talents and we found that and more with CCTA. She has the opportunity to learn and grow in theatre and music as well as make friends and aquire lifelong skills. The group has amazing teachers and great support.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 28, 2013

more

August 28, 2013

My daughter was introduced to this wonderful organization about 6 months ago through their audtioning class, then went on to be invited to be a part of their Jr. Professional Theatre. She has learned so much and has so much more confidence on the stage and so much more understanding about the journey of being in a theatre show through the staff and the programs offered by CCTA. What I am the most impressed about this organization is the stress they put on the group, rather than the individual. That being a part of a performance is a team effort, not just individuals doing their part. Lastly, their ability to provide scholarship support to children and families that wouldn't otherwise be able to participate just puts them over the top !

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 28, 2013

more

August 28, 2013

The most amazing transformations of self confidence, self worth, and ability are experienced by many participants. The professional staff that Toby employs at CCTA are not only the absolute best at what they do, but they develop lasting impressions. My son's happiest memories were with CCTA. He made friends that continued through adulthood. And let's talk about the live music. Musicians play in rehearsals, and the live performance. You don't find that. The behind the scenes of CCTA must be one of the most organized and thought out camps ever. The performances are amazing. All are truly proud on and off stage. I highly recommend CCTA.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

- Assist in marketing our summer Teen Professional Theater production.- Help to sew costumes- Work here in the CCTA office