Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
22 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
July 13, 2013

more

July 13, 2013

Colorado House Rabbit Society is a wonderful organization for rabbits and their humans. CHRS is also a member of House Rabbit Society, an international rabbit rescue and education organization. Hop to it and support CHRS and HRS!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 6, 2012

more


1 previous review
January 4, 2012

Enter the Bunny Barn. Now stand very still, you will hear something subtle. What is that soft, gentle sound? It is the sound of contented bunnies munching the fresh hay that has just been carefully ... more

November 6, 2012

Enter the Bunny Barn. Now stand very still, you will hear something subtle. What is that soft, gentle sound? It is the sound of contented bunnies munching the fresh hay that has just been carefully packed into their hay crates. It’s a very small, very crunchy sound. The faces of the bunnies tell you all you need to know. They have the “happy bunny” light in their eyes. They know that the volunteers at Colorado House Rabbit Society have come here to help feed them and care for them for the simple reason that bunnies exude joy just by being bunnies, and their presence is a constant invitation for you to share in it.
The volunteers at CHRS accept this lapine invitation to joyfulness. It is contagious. In all weathers, at all times of day, and doing many different things, the volunteers come to help the buns. After a short time in the bunny barn, the volunteers exude joy, too. It’s impossible not to when so many little friends bound forward to meet you – to take a papaya pill from your hands, or place themselves at the front of their pens in such a way that you just have to stop and pet them. The folks who train the volunteers and coordinate the volunteer efforts have extensive knowledge about rabbit habits and character and give the same kind of gentle, kind attention to volunteers as the rabbits do.
It is really a delight for the soul to spend time with the humans who care for the bunnies. There is real altruism in the caring for the rabbits. Well, that’s not completely true – you do get something in return: You get bright, cheerful bunny faces, little leaps and binkies, sometimes little kisses, and always the good company of your fellow volunteers. And you get to hear the whisper of happy hay munching.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 4, 2012

Enter the Bunny Barn. Now stand very still, you will hear something subtle. What is that soft, gentle sound? It is the sound of contented bunnies munching the fresh hay that has just been carefully packed into their hay crates. It’s a very small, very crunchy sound. The faces of the bunnies tell you all you need to know. They have the “happy bunny” light in their eyes. They know that the volunteers at Colorado House Rabbit Society have come here to help feed them and care for them for the simple reason that bunnies exude joy just by being bunnies, and their presence is a constant invitation for you to share in it.

The volunteers at CHRS accept this lapine invitation to joyfulness. It is contagious. In all weathers, at all times of day, and doing many different things, the volunteers come to help the buns. After a short time in the bunny barn, the volunteers exude joy, too. It’s impossible not to when so many little friends bound forward to meet you – to take a papaya pill from your hands, or place themselves at the front of their pens in such a way that you just have to stop and pet them. The folks who train the volunteers and coordinate the volunteer efforts have extensive knowledge about rabbit habits and character and give the same kind of gentle, kind attention to volunteers as the rabbits do.

It is really a delight for the soul to spend time with the humans who care for the bunnies. There is real altruism in the caring for the rabbits. Well, that’s not completely true – you do get something in return: You get bright, cheerful bunny faces, little leaps and binkies, sometimes little kisses, and always the good company of your fellow volunteers. And you get to hear the whisper of happy hay munching.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Caring for abused and abandoned rabbits -- giving those rabbits a loving home until they are adopted which includes curing them of diseases or injuries, giving them a proper, healthy diet, socializing them if need be -- teaching them not to be afraid if they came from abused situations and so on. I have seen great changes in buns who have gone from ill, undernourished, frightened creatures, to contented, healthy, loving creatures ready to be adopted.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Wish for a huge donor so that the barn could be expanded so that more buns could be helped.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

None

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

I thought i knew a lot about bunnies, having had pet rabbits. I have learned a lot about bunnies I didn't know. But most of all, this organization has taught me about the kind of difference human beings can make in the lives of innocent creatures -- how a few determined people, with and through Love, can create a safe haven for many little creatures.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

Full of joy and hope and gratitude.

January 27, 2012

more

January 27, 2012

My husband and I have been volunteering with COHRS since 1997 when we were introduced my a mutual friend and bunny lover. During this time, the group has grown from a couple dozen rabbits housed in a basement to more than 100 of them in their own shelter with skylights, hay barn, organic veggie garden, outdoor exercise pens, and gift shop. The enthusiasm, dedication and compassion that the army of organizers and volunteers exhibits is impressive in the extreme. The constant and daunting struggle for funding and space has not discouraged this group from pursuing their dream of a world where every bunny is loved. Their unwavering resolve and crystal clear vision have contributed to major advances in animal rights legislation as well as veterinary medicine. We have witnessed many miraculous recoveries from maladies that had previously proved fatal in most instances. Sepsis from GI stasis is one of the most common causes of "sudden" death in rabbits because it progresses so quickly that many caregivers don't recognize the symptoms until it's too late. By educating adopters on preventive measures, raising awareness of critical first signs and teaching emergency countermeasures, many lagomorph lives have been extended. I personally was able to save the life of my beloved Chico countless times without expensive trips to the vet, just by employing those countermeasures. Head-tilt is also common in rabbits. The causes for this have traditionally been fatal in the vast majority of cases, but recent advances in understanding the triggers have saved many lives. Sadly, the wry-neck or tilted head is still usually a permanent after effect. Again, the refusal of this entirely volunteer group to take "permanent affliction" for an answer has led to miraculous improvement in posture and mobility! Just imagine how many more miracles there might be if this group had a reliable source of sufficient funding. Please endorse the miracle workers at Colorado House Rabbit Society. Thank you.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 23, 2012

more

January 23, 2012

This organization actively promotes and advises the community on house rabbit care and provides a shelter. They rescue and rehabilitate homeless rabbits and subsequently provide spayed or neutered rabbits for adoption. They are run by solely volunteers. We need more support in the rabbit community by organizations like this. There is a true need for general education to the public about house rabbit care and needs. The issue with homeless/abandoned rabbits goes without saying. Thank you for what you have done!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 13, 2012

more

January 13, 2012

I feed the bunnies once a week. I go in at about 4:30 and wash and clean the vegetables. Then proceed to cut up the carrots or other crunchy veges. Slice the bananas and then feed the bunns. Also IL help others where needed. Its great interacting and talking to them.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

January 10, 2012

more

January 10, 2012

I wanted to take a moment and tell you about the Colorado House Rabbit Society and the great work they do. Several years ago my daughter talked me into getting a rabbit. She lost interest quickly and the care of Marty soon fell on me alone. I found the CHRS on the web and attend an educational class. The class was amazing and my rabbit’s life benefited immediately.

Soon after Marty suffered a bout of E. cuniculi , a sometimes deadly parasite attack. I will never forget calling the hotline at 4 AM, getting an answer on the 2nd ring and getting the direction I needed to save Marty’s life.

Several months later I was again at the CHRS getting my rabbit a mate so he would not be alone. Again the CHRS understood the process and today Marty and Karly are doing great.

The CHRS provides rescue, education and adoption resources. But more than that, they are the experts on rabbits and always willing to share and help.
and help others understand this charity

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 8, 2012

more

January 8, 2012

I have had my rabbits for 9+ years now. Thanks to the House Rabbit Society my rabbits are still healthy and thriving! Nancy and some of the other volunteers have helped me in so many ways with my rabbits. I can bring my rabbits there or call any of the volunteer's to get their help with grooming or any other health concerns I have. I have learned so much from the HRS because you can tell that they are devoted and very passionate about the care and well being of rabbits everywhere. Some of the simple tips that the volunteers have giving me for my rabbits have made a world of difference for my rabbits life's. Because of the class I took there (the bunny tune up class) I was able to save one of my rabbit’s life by simply learning basic fundamentals and how to take her temperature. By learning what to look for I have become so much more in tune with my rabbits and I am much more confident that I am doing everything I can to make sure they live a healthy, happy and long life.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

January 6, 2012

more

January 6, 2012

The Colorado House Rabbit Society is made up of very dedicated and caring people. I have volunteered with them for many years and I've adopted several rabbits from this chapter. My experience has been nothing but positive. Colorado HRS is very careful to see that all the bunnies are going to loving, appropriate homes and ensure adopters know about rabbit health, care, and behavior before bringing their new friend home.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

January 6, 2012

more

January 6, 2012

I got three rabbits from Colorado HRS over a period of about 2 years. Nancy LaRouche was sensitive to what kinds of rabbits I wanted and was incredible with managing the adoption process. One rabbit was a confirmed bachelor, so I got him by himself. The other two took Nancy about a week to find a partner for the one we wanted (my little girl "Angel" was picky) but she persevered and I got two loving bunnies out of that matchup. All the people at CO HRS are caring and loving people and the bunnies and those of us bunny parents are the better for it. I have since moved out of state but I am still in touch with these people at least three or four times a year. I get nutrition information and medical advice from them, and I recently bought my calendars from them, but no matter what my need, they have always been responsive and helpful.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

They supported my adoptions, they have provided medical and nutrition information to me, and they have made special provisions so I can get some of their bunny support products even though I live out of state.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give several of them a million dollars so they could do even more of what they do.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

How did you find this group?

They were recommended to me by another rabbit rescue organization.

What, if any, change in your life has this group encouraged?

Having and holding Bungee, Angel, and Spot have made my life more calm, more humorous, and just plain better. Even though I now live a thousand miles away, I know I can still get their help with a phone call or an email. That feels good to me.

January 6, 2012

more

January 6, 2012

I volunteered at the CO-HRS from September 2008 until i moved from the area in the spring of 2011. Being new to the area, I had a hard time finding my niche, but the CO-HRS welcomed me in with open arms. I truly looked forward to my "work" at the shelter every Friday and I miss the people that became my friends, and the rabbits that I adored caring for and petting. If you're looking for a caring, supportive, and congenial volunteer opportunity, seek out the CO-HRS. You'll be happy you did!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers