Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
68 Reviews
1234.985295
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
June 11, 2013

more

June 11, 2013

I'm proud to serve with this organization as an AmeriCorps member. I am proud to watch my high school students flourish and grow with the support they are offered from this program. I'm proud to be a part of the very necessary college access work in this country. This organization does amazing work to close the barriers.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 23, 2012

more

October 23, 2012

I always knew that I would go to college. My parents were refugees and never had formal American education so they always encouraged me and my siblings to pursue our education. I was also very studious and did well in school. So if I didn't have College Possible, I'm sure I would have still made it into a college somewhere. The difference that College Possible made on me is opening my eyes to all the options that were available to me. Though I did well in my classes, the ACT was a different story. I was so disappointed when I saw my score the first time I took the practice ACT. Through ACT prep and practice tests I was able to raise my composite score 6 points and well over the national average. My parents would have never been able to afford ACT prep for me. In terms of college search, without the push of my coaches in College Possible, I would have been content commuting to a public university near home. Instead I graduated from a private selective college where I was far enough that I had to live on campus. College became an experience rather than just a school I attended. College Possible steered me to a direction I never even knew was available. This organization has impacted me so much, I chose to give back by becoming a Corps member serving for College Possible. I now see a different perspective of this organization and I still think it's an amazing non-profit! The more I learn of College Possible, I become more and more proud of it.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 10, 2012

more

July 10, 2012

I am an alum of this program since 2007 from Harding Senior High School. I joined in 2006, when it was still called "Admission Possible." It was a wonderful experience for me and my friends that I went to high school and college with. We still keep in touch with our coach. She was a wonderful role model to us, and also such a motivator. She was our second mom, and even throughout our senior year in college she came to visit us, because our college was also the same one that she graduated from. I definitely recommend this program for all and every single youth, it will help you find your college, scholarships, and improve your ACT scores. TWO THUMBS UP FOR "College Possible."

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2007

October 1, 2011

more

October 1, 2011

I am an alum from Roosevelt High School and have since then gone to college and continued to professional school. Coming from a refugee family with little support in western education, I found Admission Possible to be one of the most beneficial programs I have ever been a part of. They helped tremendously in ACT preparations through personalized sessions where the AP coaches went through each subject with us, hitting the high points and making sure that student knew what they were doing. AP also provided practice exams that gave me a good idea of what to expect on the exam. Then during senior year, it was the college application help that got us going. I have realized through participating on student panels and talking with students that having the program made me a much more knowledgeable person about the whole college application process. My parents and extended family couldn't help me because I'm one of the first ones to go to college. My friends were just as lost as I was, so having AP there to help guide, inform, and encourage me was very inspiring. Now, I am more self aware and take the initiative to control my future. Through AP, I have continued to develop a confidence that is needed. Now I understand what it really means when people tell you that "knowledge is power." Thank you, AP, for your support. Just like you, I will also have a future of helping others. --Charles Vang, Roosevelt High School Class of 2006, Macalester College Class of 2010, University of Minnesota Medical School Class of 2014.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

so many ways. I not only was able to get into a great college, but AP also helped me in developing myself through being knowledgeable about what I was doing.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

make it LARGER!!! Programs like this really do help students without resources find a way to get into and pay for college. From what I have seen, AP runs on a solid foundation. Even with the short service terms for their coaches, they find a way to make sure that everyone knows what they are doing and to do it well.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

How did you find this group?

They came to my school to recruit students. I also heard positive reviews about the program through my schoolmates.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

September 29, 2011

more

September 29, 2011

Joining Admission Possible was one of the best decisions I made in high school. My Admission Possible coach was very helpful and motivated me to study for my ACTs and helped review my college entry essays/ applications.

Being a part of Admission Possible made college more accessible and
in doing so, i was motivated to apply to college scholarships. I am a proud Admission Possible Alumni, they made it easier for me to reach my goals - I am now a proud Mechanical Engineer.
September 29, 2011

more

September 29, 2011

AP really helped me prepare for college and for the ACT. I would totally recommend AP for everyone.
September 29, 2011

more

September 29, 2011

I was a student in high school when I received help from Admission Possible to get into college. They helped me prepare for the standardized tests, applications, essays, and interviews that got me accepted into the college I wanted and now have a B.S. degree in. I would recommend them to anyone and everyone in need of help or who would like to become part of this amazing and selfless team!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2004

September 28, 2011

more

September 28, 2011

Like most students growing up in my neighborhood, my family was not in a financial position to provide me the resources to get in to a good college. That was when I found out about Admission Possible. Initially I joined Admission Possible in order to take advantage of the extra ACT practice tests that were given as part of the program (Not test prep, only practice tests). In fact, there were times I grew impatient with ACT test prep sessions being given because I had already read the ACT Test Prep book from cover to cover on my own time. Shortly after significantly improving my ACT score due to these additional practice test, and before I had a chance to leave the program, I realized that Admission Possible was serious about getting me into college. I realized I had established a strong relationship with my mentor, who encouraged me to be my best. With his help, I was able to shape my college and scholarship application to represent who I am, what I've accomplished, and what I plan to do in life. Before I knew it, I was graduating from the Admission Possible program, with college acceptance letters from all five of my college choices.

I walked into Admission Possible hoping to improve my ACT score. What I discovered was a group of friends that shared the same academic goals. I discovered that a winning college essay comes from the heart and soul, and does not always come from an A+ paper written in english class. Most importantly, I met a mentor that was genuinely interested in my college endeavor. Instead of giggling when I told him about my college choices or telling me how difficult admissions would be, he focused in on my eyes in a moment of silence and then in an understanding tone he said, "okay" and nodded. To me it was important that he lived in the same neighborhood as I did, and knew what it was like to grow up in my community without proper parental or financial support. In short, Admission Possible taught me that I was not alone in my pursuit for a better life. Without them, I can't imagine where I would be right now.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

How did you find this group?

They came to my high school and talked to students.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

September 27, 2011

more

September 27, 2011

As a sophomore in high school, I had no plans on going to college. I didn't think it was possible for a low-income, first generation student to go to college. Joining Admission Possible in for my junior and senior years changed my life. They showed my that college is possible for anyone and everyone given the resources they need. Admission Possible prepared me for, and signed me up to take the ACT, apply for financial aid, apply to and actually get in to the college of my choice. As a now sophomore in college, I credit my success to Admission Possible as a whole and the wonderful coaches they employ. I am now a social work major hoping to make a difference in people's lives, like Admission Possible did for me!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Preparing for and taking the ACT's, college preparation, getting into and actually going to college.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

have there be more advertising within high schools. Have more high schools participate.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

How did you find this group?

I found this group through advertising posters at my high school.

What, if any, change in your life has this group encouraged?

This group made it possible for me to go to college, which in itself changed my entire life!

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

September 27, 2011

more

September 27, 2011

I was a high school student with Admission Possible from 2002-2004. Although I always knew that I would go to college, Admission Possible really help me see all of the college opportunities in front of me. Not only did they help me apply for college, but they actively advocated for me with college admissions representatives. My biggest college dream was to get into the Carlson School of Management at the University of MN, and my coaches worked so hard to make that happen. It really helps to have someone there to support me, no matter what my goals were. My parents pushed me to go to college, but they had goals set up for me. Admission Possible made it possible for me to really follow my dreams; and again, they believed in me and my dreams.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

high school, as Admission Possible helped me get into college. Not only that, but they continued to work with me and my progress while I was in college, helping me with financial aid, professional development, and anything else. I graduated from the University of MN in 2009.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

have a bigger focus on helping students succeed in college and helping them find a job after college.

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers