Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
57 Reviews
1234.982465
| 1 ... 3 4 56 |
Write A Review
October 23, 2012

more

October 23, 2012

I went to school in Boston, but I felt confiident about moving 1,000 miles to Milwaukee because I felt confident about this organization. Colelge Possible's numbers are staggering: 98% of students earn college admission after increasing their ACT scoresby an average of 21% through the high school program. 57% of students will graduate from college within six years and will ultimately give back more to society in both tangible and intangible ways. It's this record of excellence and the results-driven approach of College Possible that makes me proud to serve here. College Possible does some noble work, and it does it very well, which shouldn't surprise anyone whose met the quality individuals they select for their corps. I am constantly imrpessed by the idealism and work ethic of my fellow corps members, and they remind me that moving out to Wisconsin was a very good decision indeed.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Unsure

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 23, 2012

more

October 23, 2012

I have served with this program fora little over two months now. I went into it not sure exactly what to expect, and so far have never felt happier about the work that I do. While my job is challenging in that it is mainly technology-based, my students are responsive, and greatful for our help every day. They take the time to tell me just that, and I couldn't ask for more from my job. Just knowing that I've had enough impact for them to express their gratitude make this one of the most meaningful things I've ever done.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 23, 2012

more

October 23, 2012

The first time I herd about College Possible, I thought it was a great idea and a great mission. When I interviwed to be a coach at College Possible I found their work even more inspiring. Now that I work with College Possible I can say that their organization is more than just inspiring, it is organized, efficient and results driven. The people who serve for College Possible are the ones who make all this happen and they truly uphold the mission, culture, and success of the organization.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 23, 2012

more

October 23, 2012

As a current AmeriCorps VISTA for College Possible, I've been nothing short of thrilled with my experience. I recently graduated from a 4-year college in May so, aside from a summer internship, this is my first "entry-level" position in the real world. College Possible produces astounding results for our work in assisting low-income students with college access and success, and is an incredible place to serve. College Possible really strives to harbor a comfortable, fast-paced, and fun work environment for both AmeriCorps members and the leadership team. The leadership team invests an incredible amount of trust in each cohort of AmeriCorps members, giving us a high level of responsibility and the chance to develop excellently relevant skills that most entry-level positions don't get to experience. I'm continually working one-on-one with the leadership team to better myself as an AmeriCorps member, a College Possible volunteer, an example to the students we serve, and an individual.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 10, 2012

more

July 10, 2012

I am an alum of this program since 2007 from Harding Senior High School. I joined in 2006, when it was still called "Admission Possible." It was a wonderful experience for me and my friends that I went to high school and college with. We still keep in touch with our coach. She was a wonderful role model to us, and also such a motivator. She was our second mom, and even throughout our senior year in college she came to visit us, because our college was also the same one that she graduated from. I definitely recommend this program for all and every single youth, it will help you find your college, scholarships, and improve your ACT scores. TWO THUMBS UP FOR "College Possible."

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2007

October 1, 2011

more

October 1, 2011

I am an alum from Roosevelt High School and have since then gone to college and continued to professional school. Coming from a refugee family with little support in western education, I found Admission Possible to be one of the most beneficial programs I have ever been a part of. They helped tremendously in ACT preparations through personalized sessions where the AP coaches went through each subject with us, hitting the high points and making sure that student knew what they were doing. AP also provided practice exams that gave me a good idea of what to expect on the exam. Then during senior year, it was the college application help that got us going. I have realized through participating on student panels and talking with students that having the program made me a much more knowledgeable person about the whole college application process. My parents and extended family couldn't help me because I'm one of the first ones to go to college. My friends were just as lost as I was, so having AP there to help guide, inform, and encourage me was very inspiring. Now, I am more self aware and take the initiative to control my future. Through AP, I have continued to develop a confidence that is needed. Now I understand what it really means when people tell you that "knowledge is power." Thank you, AP, for your support. Just like you, I will also have a future of helping others. --Charles Vang, Roosevelt High School Class of 2006, Macalester College Class of 2010, University of Minnesota Medical School Class of 2014.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

so many ways. I not only was able to get into a great college, but AP also helped me in developing myself through being knowledgeable about what I was doing.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

make it LARGER!!! Programs like this really do help students without resources find a way to get into and pay for college. From what I have seen, AP runs on a solid foundation. Even with the short service terms for their coaches, they find a way to make sure that everyone knows what they are doing and to do it well.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

How did you find this group?

They came to my school to recruit students. I also heard positive reviews about the program through my schoolmates.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

September 29, 2011

more

September 29, 2011

Joining Admission Possible was one of the best decisions I made in high school. My Admission Possible coach was very helpful and motivated me to study for my ACTs and helped review my college entry essays/ applications.

Being a part of Admission Possible made college more accessible and
in doing so, i was motivated to apply to college scholarships. I am a proud Admission Possible Alumni, they made it easier for me to reach my goals - I am now a proud Mechanical Engineer.
September 29, 2011

more

September 29, 2011

AP really helped me prepare for college and for the ACT. I would totally recommend AP for everyone.
September 29, 2011

more

September 29, 2011

I was a student in high school when I received help from Admission Possible to get into college. They helped me prepare for the standardized tests, applications, essays, and interviews that got me accepted into the college I wanted and now have a B.S. degree in. I would recommend them to anyone and everyone in need of help or who would like to become part of this amazing and selfless team!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2004

September 28, 2011

more

September 28, 2011

I served at Admission Possible for over 5 years, as an AmeriCorps member and on the Leadership team. I look back at those years as some of the most rewarding and meaningful in my life so far. The organization is truly driven by passionate, results-driven people. The culture of Admission Possible is contagious and I believe people genuinely enjoy working there. Service members are given flexibility, ownership over projects, and are acknowledged for going above and beyond. It is rare to find a place so driven by a mission.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

As a service member, I personally saw 32 students earn admission to college. That would not have happened without the support, training, and structure provided by the organization. As a Leadership team member, I saw hundreds of students' lives changed because of the commitment of the AmeriCorps members. They do anything to help their students succeed.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I think Admission Possible has made great attempts to work closely with the families of students, but success has been hit or miss. It's an area to continue to build on and seek advice from experts in the field.

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers