Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
74 Reviews
1234.972975
Write A Review
September 19, 2013

more

September 19, 2013

I have been a donor and avid supporter of College Possible since it was first founded by Executive Director Jim McCorkell in the Twin Cities 13 years ago. It is the gold standard bar none!

Not only is the idea behind the organization strategic, brilliant and life-changing for so many low
income students who wouldn't otherwise have access to higher education, but it creates lasting and systemic societal change. It is a win for the students and their families, a win for those lucky and talented enough to serve as staff an on the boards, and it is a win for our communities and our economies long term.

I have worked in the public sector, the private sector and now own my own business. In my 25+ years I have not seen another organization - locally or nationally - take measurement and results (providing a serious return on investment and constantly improving that ROI) - as seriously as College Possible. It is the gold standard when it comes to ensuring that it delivers results and is continually evolving and improving.

College Possible is beyond impressive. It should be in every school and every state. And more nonprofit organization's could look to College Possible as the gold standard for how to lead and achieve.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Only grow it faster nationally so it can serve more students and have even greater impact.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 19, 2013

more

September 19, 2013

College Possible has a team that is passionate about making a difference for the children they are trying to help. I hear stories of students and how sometimes it may be hard to deal with some students because of that students circumstances, but the co-workers that I work with continue to try despite the challenges.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

As of now I would not change much.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 18, 2013

more


1 previous review
June 11, 2013

I am incredibly proud to report that 31 of my students will be attending college tuition-free this fall. This amazing outcome would not be possible without my students' hard work and the support of t... more

September 18, 2013

Great organization. I love that we follow students through college and don't just ship them off on their own.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 11, 2013

I am incredibly proud to report that 31 of my students will be attending college tuition-free this fall. This amazing outcome would not be possible without my students' hard work and the support of the College Possible program. I have learned so much about the college admission process, scholarship applications, and financial aid this year, and I will use this knowledge in my future career as an educator. Hooray!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

only organize some things in the office that have no impact on our students. :-)

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 18, 2013

more

September 18, 2013

Upon researching positions available on the AmeriCorps website, I happened to come across College Possible. Within a few hours after reading through College Possible's website, blog, and seeing personal stories from both students and Corps members, I found myself scrambling to get in touch with folks who could vouch for me with recommendation forms, writing personal essays, and submitting application requirements in time for the early application deadline.

Little did I know that the efforts I was making on a cold January day would lead to where I am today. Serving with College Possible has truly been an eye-opening experience in the worlds of higher education, poverty/low-income, and non-profit organizations. I never guessed that I would have the opportunity to be doing such meaningful work with a non-profit organization shortly after college. Each day, I find myself working on projects, taking the lead on tasks, researching data, and supporting students in a way that I only thought was possible by holding a high-level position in the admissions office of a university, for example.

I am very excited to see what my remaining service year has in store! "1-2-3-COLLEGE POSSIBLE!"

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Expand College Possible to numerous other sites across the nation. However, what is really neat is that College Possible is already working to make national expansion a reality, with four current sites and the potential for many more in a matter of years.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 18, 2013

more

September 18, 2013

College Possible is amazing. Truly. I have had the opportunity to work with college students from across the nation. Helping students advocate for themselves has been one of my favorite parts of my time with the organization.

Providing that extra reminder or phone call to motivate a
student has been so rewarding and I am so grateful for the work that College Possible does!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Expand it across the nation! More people need this program!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 18, 2013

more

September 18, 2013

College Possible is an organization that succeeds due to its carefully-created system of support, its innovative approach to college access and community involvement, and its incredible team of individuals who consistently strive for improvement day in and day out. You can tell that those who laid the foundation of this organization spent a serious amount of time and energy in discovering what really works in the field of college access and success. On a personal level, it is truly amazing to serve with people who exhibit such positive and idealistic traits on a daily basis. Additionally, it's equally encouraging to witness an organization that is so in touch with the students of today.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

More collaboration and more publicity!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 18, 2013

more

September 18, 2013

I've never worked somewhere where I've felt more supported. Not only am I attached to the mission of this organization, but we are actively making a difference in countless lives each day. This is a model that truly works, and is a sure fire way to demolish the achievement gap.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 18, 2013

more

September 18, 2013

Serving with College Possible has been life-changing for me, and I can already see the ways my service will change the lives of my students. College Possible is results-driven, and being able to measure the work we're doing is instrumental in providing the best possible instruction to our students. Because they are so focused on making measurable change, we service members are able to gauge our progress and support each other in a more informed way--which is so wonderful! I'm so honored that I was given the opportunity to serve, and I look forward to the future with College Possible and my students.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 18, 2013

more

September 18, 2013

College Possible is an awesome place. Just about everybody that works there is super optimistic and idealistic about their goal of helping low-income students graduate from college. It is really all about the kids, and College Possible shows it by everyone maintaining their focus on helping students directly through the college process from start to finish. It is all about results. In the end, College Possible only succeeds if it helps a high school student that wanted to go to college succeed in that dream. I can't really think of a better organization when it comes to directly impacting people's lives in a meaningful, sustainable way.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Expand it! As long as it can stay true to its mission, and retain a degree of autonomy at each step in the organization, all College Possible needs is to grow.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 18, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 18, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I was introduced to College Possible at a career fair. I had no idea what I wanted to pursue post-graduation. I decided to apply to College Possible as a way to give back while I did some soul-searching. I come from a low-income background and was the first in my family to attend/graduate from college so I definitely believed in its mission and the work it was doing. Little did I know that I would also discover something I was extremely passionate about. I am currently in my second year of service and words cannot express what this organization means to me. I see the impact it has on our students and the communities we serve every day. I wish I could have been a part of College Possible as a high school student, but I am really glad I am able to be a part of it now as a service member. If I could do this for life, I would be more than happy to.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers