Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
23 Reviews
1234.956525
Write A Review
June 28, 2013

more


1 previous review
September 21, 2012

I believe CRP is a very special charitable organization. It is run with absolute openness, wise frugality, and respectful compassion. It seeks to preserve, as other reviewers have stated so well her... more

June 28, 2013

CRP has formed personal relationships with the refugee community in Amman and because of this network is able to respond quickly to emergency situations. Please read my longer review of CRP that I posted in 2012. CRP is still doing an outstanding job of stretching its donations for maximum benefit and to literally keep food on the table for the most destitute. CRP remains a unique haven for those who have lost everything and have no other place to go for help. Your donations make CRP's work possible. Please view CRP's wonderful work--helping YOU help Iraqi and Syrian refugees-- and almost daily updates on Facebook.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 21, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I believe CRP is a very special charitable organization. It is run with absolute openness, wise frugality, and respectful compassion. It seeks to preserve, as other reviewers have stated so well here, the dignity of the Iraqi refugees it serves and to help them rebuild a sense of community as well as help, as funds allow, with life and death needs. I just wanted to highlight the CRP’s community/resource center. The Center offers a lot of practical learning opportunities (ESL, cultural understanding, computer literacy, experience in running a micro-business, lending library, art for kids, kids’ self-defense classes, etc.) as well as simple social activities for all ages. These do wonders in helping Iraqis begin to heal and regain self-confidence and hope after they have endured so much violence and deprivation. Often the CRP team taps the talents of the Iraqi refugee community itself for leaders or instructors, who earn a small stipend for their services. Productive, valued work helps rebuild self-esteem and dignity, as well as supply much-needed income. Sasha and her team are amazing in their insight, ingenuity, sustained inspiration, true empathy and kindness. You can see this clearly as you follow their day-to-day activities on the CRP Facebook page. I don’t know HOW Sasha and her colleagues find the time to keep this information up to date so charmingly! Their Facebook page gives you, among other things, almost immediate and complete feedback on how your money is being spent. Sasha uses this simple tool to bring together all of us around the world who love CRP to share in its daily activities, from a brief clip of the kids doing karate chops to a feast-day meal for single men to a teen art class to pictures of Iraqi women managing the Hope Workshop selling their crafts in one of Amman’s traditional markets—YOU are there! We also become aware in a very natural way—just like when your neighbor needs a cup of sugar!—of the daily struggles, needs, and joys of the Center and the Iraqi community there. They become a part of us. We are then able to respond with real empathy to a call of need because we KNOW the need is real. Any amount is welcomed—after all, $3.75 feeds one person for a week! I wanted to mention, too, Sasha’s anecdotes of daily happenings at the CRP a—they are wonderful, poignant, sad, and informative all at once—and some even give us tears of joy. These personal stories broaden our minds and hearts and “put us there.” Rest assured, you will not regret giving to this wonderful group! The CRP group will see to it that your money is stretched to its maximum! Whether you contribute to overhead costs (without which CRP cannot even open its doors), to specific activities or needs, or to occasional funding drives, I’m sure Sasha has a list at the ready of ideas just waiting for your help!!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 23, 2013

more

June 23, 2013

CRP is a very unique and special organization in Amman, Jordan. Most of the larger organizations working with refugees pass out assistance from time to time without building relationships with the families they serve. Building community and relationships are very vital elements in CRP's mission. Our community center welcomes individuals and families from any nation and/or sect and delivers fun and educational activities to help them both interact and begin the healing process. Our food voucher and emergency assistance programs deliver valuable assistance to the most vulnerable refugees who receive no other aid whatsoever. As refugees continue to stream into Amman from Iraq and Syria, the aid network has certainly become taxed, yet refugees coming to CRP are offered a respectful and a supportive community in a way that no other organization can.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 22, 2013

more

June 22, 2013

I've been associated with this grassroots organization since its inception in 2007. I've watched it grow and witnessed first hand the invaluable work it has done for the hundreds of refugees it has assisted. From emergency assistance to educational and social opportunities, CRP reaches throughout the refugee community in Amman, Jordan. CRP is regarded as a top-notch resource, providing vital services with honesty and respect while preserving the dignity of those it serves.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers