Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
23 Reviews
1234.956525
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
June 30, 2013

more

June 30, 2013

I have been impressed again and again by the life-saving work that Collateral Repair Project has done over the years! With such a small staff, they are doing so much to meet the basic needs for food and shelter for Iraqi and Syrian refugees. I consider it a privilege to support their work with a monthly donation.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 29, 2013

more

June 29, 2013

I have personally witnessed the work that is done my this charity in Amman. I went with one of the founders to visit a few of the recipients of their work. It was heart-breaking to see their situations and hear their stories. As a result of their connection with the Collateral Repair Project, they were rescued from situations that would have only become increasingly worse. Also, I believe they no longer felt they were alone, which psychologically gave them hope--something they clearly needed as well. The various programs that CRP provides are imaginative, creative and offers interesting activities to every age group-it is amazing that so much is provided with minimal funding.
The members work tirelessly, and their commitment is very evident to those who know them.
I hope this will help to gain their organization more recognition so donations will increase, the need is great and I have seen the impact of their work. As I mentioned earlier, so much is done with the funding they do receive, not a penny is wasted.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

June 28, 2013

more

June 28, 2013

What an amazing organization. They do so much for so little. I know every dollar I give them gets put to use. Their overhead is small, as is their donor base. They could always use more help for the important work they do. Iraqi refugees have been abandoned. This is a disgrace. This organization sets about to try to do some repair. And now with thier expansion into working with Syrian refugees, it is even more important. Amazing, life changing work for a few amazing folks!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Get them a better source of income

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 28, 2013

more

June 28, 2013

The accomplishments of this grassroots organization have impressed me since the beginning! Two or three women, starting just with their urge to somehow make up for the enormous injustices of the destruction of Iraqi society, have done amazing things. Their slide presentations are eloquent. I have no doubt that the social and financial support they provide for the refugees in Amman, Jordan, are literally a lifeline for the individuals and families they serve.

The dedication, resourcefulness and staying power of the Collateral Repair Project staff and volunteers
are truly admirable. This is a way of life for those who are on the ground in Amman, responding to the
needs they see with energy and determination.

I am proud to donate to such a worthwhile organization, and I have used contributions to the group
as a way to honor family members on their birthdays.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would find secure financing of their work.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 28, 2013

more

June 28, 2013

I love the Collateral Repair Project. It is hard to imagine people more committed to making change in this world than the Director, staff and volunteers at the Collateral Repair Project.

After a lifetime of working in the nonprofit field, I would say they have renewed my faith in the
ability of nonprofits to actually put the people they serve first and foremost. Besides the no frills management, no massive overhead, no unnecessary expenditures their absolute dedication and hands on approach to helping some of the world's most forgotten and desperate people is commendable and to be admired.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 28, 2013

more


1 previous review
September 21, 2012

I believe CRP is a very special charitable organization. It is run with absolute openness, wise frugality, and respectful compassion. It seeks to preserve, as other reviewers have stated so well her... more

June 28, 2013

CRP has formed personal relationships with the refugee community in Amman and because of this network is able to respond quickly to emergency situations. Please read my longer review of CRP that I posted in 2012. CRP is still doing an outstanding job of stretching its donations for maximum benefit and to literally keep food on the table for the most destitute. CRP remains a unique haven for those who have lost everything and have no other place to go for help. Your donations make CRP's work possible. Please view CRP's wonderful work--helping YOU help Iraqi and Syrian refugees-- and almost daily updates on Facebook.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 21, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I believe CRP is a very special charitable organization. It is run with absolute openness, wise frugality, and respectful compassion. It seeks to preserve, as other reviewers have stated so well here, the dignity of the Iraqi refugees it serves and to help them rebuild a sense of community as well as help, as funds allow, with life and death needs. I just wanted to highlight the CRP’s community/resource center. The Center offers a lot of practical learning opportunities (ESL, cultural understanding, computer literacy, experience in running a micro-business, lending library, art for kids, kids’ self-defense classes, etc.) as well as simple social activities for all ages. These do wonders in helping Iraqis begin to heal and regain self-confidence and hope after they have endured so much violence and deprivation. Often the CRP team taps the talents of the Iraqi refugee community itself for leaders or instructors, who earn a small stipend for their services. Productive, valued work helps rebuild self-esteem and dignity, as well as supply much-needed income. Sasha and her team are amazing in their insight, ingenuity, sustained inspiration, true empathy and kindness. You can see this clearly as you follow their day-to-day activities on the CRP Facebook page. I don’t know HOW Sasha and her colleagues find the time to keep this information up to date so charmingly! Their Facebook page gives you, among other things, almost immediate and complete feedback on how your money is being spent. Sasha uses this simple tool to bring together all of us around the world who love CRP to share in its daily activities, from a brief clip of the kids doing karate chops to a feast-day meal for single men to a teen art class to pictures of Iraqi women managing the Hope Workshop selling their crafts in one of Amman’s traditional markets—YOU are there! We also become aware in a very natural way—just like when your neighbor needs a cup of sugar!—of the daily struggles, needs, and joys of the Center and the Iraqi community there. They become a part of us. We are then able to respond with real empathy to a call of need because we KNOW the need is real. Any amount is welcomed—after all, $3.75 feeds one person for a week! I wanted to mention, too, Sasha’s anecdotes of daily happenings at the CRP a—they are wonderful, poignant, sad, and informative all at once—and some even give us tears of joy. These personal stories broaden our minds and hearts and “put us there.” Rest assured, you will not regret giving to this wonderful group! The CRP group will see to it that your money is stretched to its maximum! Whether you contribute to overhead costs (without which CRP cannot even open its doors), to specific activities or needs, or to occasional funding drives, I’m sure Sasha has a list at the ready of ideas just waiting for your help!!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 24, 2013

more

June 24, 2013

I found CRP through friend recommendations and love the fact they are vrass roots and take care of the basic needs, I truely beieve until awi have food in our belly and a safe roof over our heads we can't begin to see the larger picture and problem solve. The updates make it feel very personal

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 24, 2013

more

June 24, 2013

Excellent organization that helps a variety of refugees with virtually no overhead. As a donor, I've been very pleased with how CRP makes use of its funds. They go directly to very poor refugees though buying them food, clothing, and heating. I will continue to fund CPR, and encourage other to do the same.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 23, 2013

more

June 23, 2013

CRP is a very unique and special organization in Amman, Jordan. Most of the larger organizations working with refugees pass out assistance from time to time without building relationships with the families they serve. Building community and relationships are very vital elements in CRP's mission. Our community center welcomes individuals and families from any nation and/or sect and delivers fun and educational activities to help them both interact and begin the healing process. Our food voucher and emergency assistance programs deliver valuable assistance to the most vulnerable refugees who receive no other aid whatsoever. As refugees continue to stream into Amman from Iraq and Syria, the aid network has certainly become taxed, yet refugees coming to CRP are offered a respectful and a supportive community in a way that no other organization can.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 23, 2013

more

June 23, 2013

I am very grateful that CPJ is there to do the work that they do, with compassion and love. Hearing about some of the terrible injustices that people on the other side of the world face, often leaves me feeling as though there isn't much that I can do, but through CPJ I know that even the few dollars that I can afford to send will be spent wisely and stretched far.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

change nothing,

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers