Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
37 Reviews
1234.972975
Write A Review
October 1, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 1, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I lost my cairn of 16.5 years on August 28, 2004. Little did I know that my Sissy was born on the same day. I went to the web looking for sites about grieving and came upon Col Potter Cairn Rescue. I filled out an application, but really wasn't serious about adopting until I saw Sissy fka Almond on the website and her birthdate. Well that was it. They did an extensive background search, checked references, etc. On December 4, 2004, Sissy became ours. I met a bunch of wonderful people through this group, especially the foster parents of Sissy who i am still in contact with and others. Thank God for these people who save and rescue Cairn Terriers/Mixes. Without them these dogs don't have a chance. I highly recommend them.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 1, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 1, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

What a great nonprofit! They first and foremost objective is to help cairns in need. I am a volunteer and also rescued one of the dogs after fostering him! We just couldn't let him go. The volunteers with the group are very special, kind and thoutful. Every need is taken care of and usually above and beyond. I couldn't think of a better group.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 1, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 1, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I have been a Col Potter foster parent for a few years. I needed help then and still getting it today. The leaders, Mentors and all Volunteers are always at your email or phone to help you out. Not only all the wonderful and different dogs I get to care for but all the forever parents that have become my forever friend. I have to thank Col potter org. all the time for all this.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Unsure

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 1, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 1, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I discovered Col. Potter Cairn Rescue Network when we decided to adopt a companion for our cairn terrier, Chewy. After adopting Walter, we started volunteering with Col. Potter in order to "pay it forward" and also because we were so impressed with the organization. We started out doing some transportations and since then have fostered ten Cairns. We were honored to help them on their way to a forever home. As a volunteer I am even more impressed with the workings of Col. Potter as an organization. The board of directors is very involved and many work directly with the volunteers. Col. Potter is very open with their policy and procedures and with unfailing patience explains them both to their volunteers as needed. The intakes, fostering and matchmaking process is a well-oiled machine and handled in a very fair and professional manner. And there are NO paid employees - NONE! Every penny of every donation goes directly to helping cairns in need. I am very proud to be a part of Col. Potter and I recommend them whenever possible.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 1, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 1, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

We adopted a Cairn from this organization in April 2011. Riley had belonged to a breeder but had been in a foster home for a couple of months before we adopted her. I can't say enough about this organization. From the application process through the adoption and post adoption coordinators, everyone was friendly and professional. Foster homes help socialize the rescues and prepare them for their forever homes. The matchmakers make sure that you get the right dog for your family situation. Riley has been a wonderful addition to our family. I was so impressed with this group, I decided to become a volunteer.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

March 30, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

March 30, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

My name is Linda Bagley and I am a volunteer with Col. Potter Cairn Terrier Rescue, www.cairnrescue.com .

I came across your website and saw your page on helping our rescue.

As part of the Promotions team we are very open to any avenue that we can find to raise money while
raising awareness to adopt and not to shop. Our organization places approximately 300 - 400 cairn terriers in forever homes every year. We turn no dog away. As we are a breed specific rescue our dogs are cairn terrier or cairn terrier mixes.

When I say we turn no dog away that means even if they have medical conditions. Our objective is to raise money to rescue cairns and get them the medical treatment that they need, be it basic or emergency surgeries. This is a common occurrence for us as 1/2 the dogs we take in are from puppymills and kill shelters, the other half are owner surrenders.

Here is the story of Miracle, http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VzRwhNYe_IU .

Before and after pictures of many of the dogs that we have rescued
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xlDGGokAWxo

We are approximately 800 strong, everyone playing an intricate part, be it foster home, blanket auntie, transports, our list of volunteers sometimes do double duty. We have no building, no kennels, just people working out of their homes all across the US and parts of Canada communicating over the internet.

We are looking forward to hearing from you as to what kind of a partnership we can form to raise money. I never want to think we will ever have to turn a dog away, not during my lifetime. Thanks so much for this opportunity. If I haven't overwhelmed you enough here are some stories from families that have adopted our rescues, http://www.cairnrescue.com/adoption/stories.php

To us it doesn't make sense to rescue a dog and keep it locked in a kennel. Putting dogs in foster homes so that they can learn what a loving home is is the only answer.

Saving just one dog won't change the world, but it surely will change the world for that one dog.


Linda Bagley
Port St. Lucie, FL
Foster Mentor & Foster Home
Promotions Group/Grants Group
Mom to Dude, Redford, Miles, & Oliver


"Until one has loved an animal, part of their soul remains unawakened."

"Be who you are and say what you feel...
Because those that matter... don't mind...
And those that mind... don't matter."

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 30, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
March 29, 2011

In 2008 our oldest cairn died of heart failure leaving our 6 yr. old cairn, Tigger, extremely lonely and our family grieving for the loss of our wonderful companion. We decided that our family needed... more

March 30, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I continue to be involved with the wonderful organization of Col. Potter Cairn Rescue Network. We decided to become a foster home for rescued cairn terriers in 2010. Fostering is one of the most gratifying experiences. It is truely amazing the comprehensive vetting and care Col. Potter provides for each one of their rescues. Col. Potter will take a cairn that no other rescue wants because of health issues, and fully vets them and gives them the chance to be happy and healthy cairns in a loving forever home.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 29, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

In 2008 our oldest cairn died of heart failure leaving our 6 yr. old cairn, Tigger, extremely lonely and our family grieving for the loss of our wonderful companion. We decided that our family needed another cairn and started searching cairn rescues. We found Col. Potter Cairn Rescue Network during one of our web searches. After checking out their web-site and reading all of the information we could on Col. Potter, we applied to adopt one of their cairns. We were so totally impressed by how thorough they were. This group makes sure that every one of their cairns is placed in the proper home -- the right cairn for the right people. After the adoption of our wonderful Wiggles was complete, we decided that we would like to give back to this wonderful rescue organization as is is 100% volunteer and it takes a lot of time and energy to do all that they do. We became volunteers in Jan. of 2009 and help in different capacities. I can't say enought good things about this rescue organization. If anything needs to be done for any rescued cairn, then it is done, no matter how much money it costs.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Being a volunteer and a foster parent, I've seen unhealthy an very scared cairns become the most amazing confident and healthy cairns who are placed with wonderful forever homes.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

There are no changes I would make. I would love to see more monetary donations so that we could see even more cairns rescued.

March 30, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

more

March 30, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

We are so impressed with Col. Potter! We brought our first Cairn, Rusty, into our lives from a breeder. Rusty is wonderful and the breeder seemed like a nice person who claimed she only bred her dogs once a year for her kids' college fund. Who knows? We always talked about finding Rusty a playmate and constantly looked in the paper and online. My husband stumbled across Col. Potter. Long story short - we adopted Pepper. Every volunteer who worked with us throughout the adoption was friendly, responsive and genuinely concerned for the welfare of the Cairns. They exercised "due diligence" in determining whether the adoptor and the adoptee would be a positive match. Pepper is the perfect match for our family. We feel as if we have a special "bond" with her foster parents - they were great matchmakers and we are grateful. Without a doubt, we will adopt more Cairns from Col. Potter when the time is right.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

adopting Pepper in January 2011

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

none

March 29, 2011
3 people found this review helpful

more

March 29, 2011
3 people found this review helpful

We bought a Cairn in a pet store many years ago. She was an awesome little dog and lived with us for almost 18 years. We got a couple of dogs from a shelter after she passed but we really wanted a Cairn again. I searched for many hours on the internet and finally found the very beginnings of Col. Potter. We started fostering shortly after 9/11 and we are thrilled with fostering. It's a way to 'make up' for having gotten a dog from a pet store which we now know is a terrible way to acquire a dog (ALWAYS go to a rescue or shelter). We've fostered over 60 Cairns since then. We've adopted two of our fosters. We enjoy having different dogs in our home and we think our dogs enjoy that as well. Every one brings something different to the relationship. We laugh, we cry, and we totally enjoy fostering and working to help Cairns in other ways as well. There are many different ways that people can help, join us and find your way. You'll be so glad you did!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Fostering, adopting, helping in many other ways over the internet.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Have more volunteers to share the joy of helping Cairns in need. We always say "There are more at the door" and there are so if you want to volunteer, jump in - the water's fine!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

I've learned lots of new things, I've got lots of new friends, I'm very happy to be doing what I'm doing.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

Wonderful!

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

March 29, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

more

March 29, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

I wanted to let you know we adoped the PERFECT 5 year old Cairn Terrier from Col. Potter. If pet shops and breeds did their homework like the Col. Potter organization did to see if we were good adoptive parents, there would be alot less animals that need rescuing. The love and attention given to every individual pet is unconditional. I will go back to Col. Potter anytime to adopt another loving pet and refer as many people as I can to do the same thing. Save a life!!!!! I love this organization and will always be a supportive voice.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

They have brought so much love back to our home after losing 2 long time pets to old age.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Want to get more people involved in pet adoption and supporting this wonderful organization.

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers