Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
30 Reviews
1234.766675
Write A Review
January 7, 2014

more

January 7, 2014

The Twenty-First Century Foundation was one of the first donors to invest in the emerging work of Coastal Women for Change. As the lead program officer for the Foundation, I was impressed by the intelligence, strength and resolve of the indigenous leadership. This was particularly important after hurricane's Katrina and Rita hit the region because the government and corporate decision-makers were starting to determine the future rebuilding and redevelopment of the area with little local community input and feedback. Coastal Women for Change inserted themselves at key decision-making tables while also meeting the basic needs of residents putting their lives back together. I was also impressed by their willingness to collaborate and support the work of other organizations. I am proud to be associated with the organization's beginnings.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Help them strengthen their capacity to raise funds and diversity their income streams.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Likely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2008

December 23, 2013

more

December 23, 2013

Coastal Women for Change (CWC) is one of the organizations that I and my company participate as a volunteer. As a person whose on several board, I must "pick and choose" the boards and events that I assist with. CWC has Great programs that serve the senior citizen population and children. The Backpack Giveaway services at least 4 counties in MS and no one include people from out of town is turned away. The Senior Citizens' Thanksgiving dinner serve seniors who may not get a Thanksgiving dinner. Along with other programs throughout the year. There are also educational activities like teaching the children to grow fresh vegetables and computer classes for the seniors. All these services are offered in a community of the underserved. The leader Sharon Hanshaw is consistently involved getting CWC involved with other non-profit organizations and activities. I have enjoyed volunteering and donating to this organization.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Expand the board to include people in key organizations and place that could help with more fundraisers.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 23, 2013

more

December 23, 2013

This organization touches real people in need in a neglected part of south Mississippi. Its leader has stretched her presence from local into national and international disaster, environmental, and human rights settings. Help them stay on the game.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 28, 2010

more

Review from Guidestar
July 28, 2010

In response to Hurricane Katrina, women in the diverse community of East Biloxi began to organize, sharing information and resources to help their neighbors survive the homelessness, hunger and job loss that followed the storm. Across cultural lines, this group of African American, Vietnamese and Caucasian women have become a formidable force for social justice, as they advocate for recovery, and provide a strong network for the youth and elderly of the community to thrive.

Photos

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Calling national and international attention to the practical effects of climate change and the forgotten plight of Coastal Mississippi post-Katrina. Affecting local community development policy in the cities where they are active.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers