Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
30 Reviews
1234.766675
Previous | Next
Write A Review
January 15, 2014

more

January 15, 2014

I was fortunate to have the opportunity to spend a week with CWC's Executive Director in 2011 at Stone House Retreat Center in NC. It was wonderful to hear her share her experiences with founding CWC but also sustaining the orgamnization and its programs. Her efforts to raise herself up after Hurricane Katrina and then to support other women in need are amazing! I understand the plight of sustaining a small nonprofit organization. It's a constant challenge. Hats off to Sharon Crenshaw and all the people who support her.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

N/A

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

January 15, 2014

more

January 15, 2014

I have had the pleasure of working with CWC for more than five years, and as a nonprofit and advocact expert, I have never witnessed a small group have such a profoud impact in the community and the Gulf Coast region. CWC and its fearless leader, Sharon Hanshaw, are a testament to how passion coupled with tenacity can drive positive change. I am constantly amazed and inspired by their accomplishments and vision, and will forever remain a loyal supporter.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

expand its capacity to reach more people and help to change policy.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 15, 2014

more

January 15, 2014

Mississippi gets least money per person from foundations than any U.S. state. Coastal Women for Change helps low income residents of the Gulf Coast, which despite its many casinos has much unemployment and poverty. Operating on a shoe string budget, CWC has an annual school supply giveaway in the summer, help distribute toys and books to poor families during xmas and an annual senior appreciation dinner. CWC also works with at-risk youth at the local juvenile jail.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 13, 2014

more

January 13, 2014

I am inspired by Coastal Women for Change ("CWC"). This organization of dynamic women develops the leadership of women to be community leaders in Biloxi, Mississippi and work to overcome social inequities. CWC works for climate justice, gender and racial equality, governmental accountability, quality public education, and health care with the wisdom of knowing that these are not "issues," but are rights that have been denied. For this reason, CWC's work and accomplishments focus on defending and advancing these rights to ensure that women and women-led families live with dignity.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

take the time to document the challenges and victories of Coastal Women for Change.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 11, 2014

more

January 11, 2014

The Biloxi Branch NAACP office was the original location for Coastal Women for Change (CWC). I as President of the Branch served on the original board for CWC. CWC began after Hurricane Katrina as an organization designed to keep the Women in East Biloxi informed about the rebuilding process in Biloxi. Ms. Sharon Hanshaw was elected as Executive Director for the organization. She lost her house and business in Katrina. Ms. Hanshaw and CWC have done a tremendous job in the community. They have started several programs such as Computer Training for Senior Citizens, Thanksgiving Dinner for Seniors, a Community Garden. They are also very supportive to other organizations such as STEPS, Biloxi NAACP, Miss. Center for Justice, Save Our Schools Coalition, Second Liners Mardi Gras Club and many of the local Organizations. They have personally supported the Biloxi Branch NAACP through memberships, working with our youth branch, developing programs, supporting our Freedom Fund Dinner and Awards Program and Chairing our Mother of the Year Program which is one of our major fundraisers. This organization is still needed in our community and definitely keeps the Women in our community involved and informed about the issues affecting East Biloxi.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Help them to raise funds to keep them viable and affective.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers