Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
28 Reviews
12.60714345
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
November 15, 2013

more

November 15, 2013

Coalition to Salute Americas Heroes made an unauthorized charge of $60 to my credit card.
When I called the organization they said they would investigate this charge and get back to me and they never did! Finally, the credit card company said they would refund the money, but now I need to wait
the one to two month investigation period.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

File the appropriate paperwork with the Better Business Bureau and stop making unauthorized charges to people's credit cards.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unlikely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 2, 2013
8 people found this review helpful

more

June 2, 2013
8 people found this review helpful

As a vet with concerns for scams I checked the IRS990 for this organization. President got 362,000 1n 2011. Income over 16 million, a small fraction of which goes to vets, while 6 million was spent on mailings out of 8 million for all "program expenses"...where does the rest go?

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give the money to vets, and not send $1 bills in the mail.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

No

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 10, 2013

more

February 10, 2013

After reading so many negative comments, where there is smoke, there reakky is fire! The computer world is doing us in. I must receive a mailing froom CSAH twice a month. It's on automatic mailing! If they send a nickel or a dollar to everyone they mail to, they are p..sing away a ton on $. With Mr. Chapin in trouble, I feel we are being bulldozed and this organization should be wiped out and not be allowed to draw on the innocent elderly who are in the firing line of solicitations. I firmly believe it falls into the SCAM category. Shame on them!!!! Get them out of business!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unlikely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 28, 2013

more

January 28, 2013

I recently learned that this organization is on of the many that use the funds to line the pockets of the president. They've appeared before congress. They use the donations to solicit additional funds by sending pricey packages with money enclosed. I will never donate to this organization again. I had my own suspicions but after a google search I was appalled at all the reviews. Not to mention thir failure to comply with the BBB.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 8, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
October 8, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

I have tried repeatedly (mailing back 14 requests so far) to have my mothers name removed from this organizations solicitation list. So far each request has been ignored and we keep getting expensive packets (color photos, cash, self-addressed stamped envelopes). These materials obviously cost a fortune to send, but even after repeated prompting "no one is home" at this apparently less-than-efficient charity "front." We feel it is unethical to continue to send materials after being repeatedly asked to be removed from the list. It is my feeling that the Coalition should spend more money on our servicemen and less on mailing me information that goes directly into the trash. I would not recommend this fly-by-night organization to anyone.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

No

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 10, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
August 10, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

Mr. Chapin, ex-President of this "charity", is under indictment in the Help Hospitalized Veterans case & if convicted belongs in jail. General Singlaub, who is paid to allow his name to be used as front-man for this "charity", deserves to be publicly outed to the military families used as bait to enrich the founders of this despicable get-rich-quick scheme.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unlikely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 30, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

June 30, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

Disgusting. After reviewing the latest tax return available on Guidestar, I'd like my money back. It's not a lot of money to some folks, but my $135 was intended to help vets - not be wasted. It looks like less than 10 cents on the dollar goes to help vets. These people should be in jail.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Spend at least 90% of money raised to help vets, not to raise more money.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

No

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What would you tell others about this organization?

Donate elsewhere.

February 13, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
February 13, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

I agree with the first post. I give to a lot of veterans organization as a retired military person. I'm not going to say they all don't do some good in some way but you still have to be careful. When they are only getting a one star there is a reason. Their operating expenses are way out of line with what they are actually giving out to help the vets. There are a lot better ones out there to give to,do your research.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

No

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 6, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
May 6, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

Its disappointing to hear reviews that misunderstand the total $ figure directed towards our wounded veterans. The bottom line is these guys support badly injured soldiers thru direct financial aid and equally important through programs that support, benefit and educate our injured troops some indirect and some direct ie. public awareness campaigns and serious workshops that cater to our troops in ways I had not understood before. I took a look at their financials too. Of course I was very interested in the numbers and that’s why I was eager to speak with one of their veteran spokesman when he came to my area for a meeting with a corporate sponsor for their conference they hold each year. The corporate sponsor fell through but I was able to help out. Hear is one of the most important things I learned that I had not understood as clearly as I would have liked to: Aside from emergency aid they approach aiding our wounded vets for the long term by bringing together the personnel,logistics and everything else needed for serious educational workshops covering benefits, services, insurance, healthcare, financial support, career counseling and employment opportunities. They mainly do this at their Road to Recovery conference each year but their public awareness helps with this too. We know these injured troops are getting a bad shake at the hospital and when they get out they’re forgotten about. They’re left to fend for themselves and no amount of gift baskets, bottles of water or blankets will get these guys back up on their feet the way the Coalition to Salute America’s Heroes does with their programs. Are there costs associated with the organization, logistics of such a huge production bringing together hundreds of vets, families, specialized staff, caretakers etc. and public awareness programs? Yes. Is it worth it? I think yes.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Supporting them.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Focus on bringing costs down. I understand direct mail costs a lot to raise money for the troops and it works, but I'd look into trying to reduce costs while still keeping donations high.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

What specific problem, purpose, priority, or project prompted your gift?

Road to Recovery conference event

Why did you make your donation at this time?

It was as good as time as any

What would you tell others about this organization?

That I donated too them and I think they're doing much needed work

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

April 27, 2011
7 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
April 27, 2011
7 people found this review helpful

Last year I tried to get ahold of SAH to change the credit card I was using to make auto. donations. No email on the website. And when I finally got ahold of someone they said all they could do was cancel my credit card, not change it as they don't work for the organization directly. I finally through painstaking searching found an email address in an attempt to change my credit card and after multiple attempts was never answered. So I finally just cancelled my payment.
I can not trust the efficiency of an organization that is this disorganized.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Administration

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

See above

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers