Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
29 Reviews
12.68966345
| 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
February 10, 2013

more

February 10, 2013

After reading so many negative comments, where there is smoke, there reakky is fire! The computer world is doing us in. I must receive a mailing froom CSAH twice a month. It's on automatic mailing! If they send a nickel or a dollar to everyone they mail to, they are p..sing away a ton on $. With Mr. Chapin in trouble, I feel we are being bulldozed and this organization should be wiped out and not be allowed to draw on the innocent elderly who are in the firing line of solicitations. I firmly believe it falls into the SCAM category. Shame on them!!!! Get them out of business!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unlikely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 28, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

January 28, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I recently learned that this organization is on of the many that use the funds to line the pockets of the president. They've appeared before congress. They use the donations to solicit additional funds by sending pricey packages with money enclosed. I will never donate to this organization again. I had my own suspicions but after a google search I was appalled at all the reviews. Not to mention thir failure to comply with the BBB.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

January 20, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

January 20, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

The Coalition to Salute Americas Heroes is by far one of the biggest blessings in our lives!! They have done so much to help our family!! My husband was injured (nearly lost his life) in the war in Iraq and our family came on some very hard financial times, the coalition stepped up and paid an unbelievable amount of bills ALL that we had due and past due! Over $10,000! Gave us our lives back!! After doing all of that they then sent us a $500 gift card!! The BLESSINGS they given us can NOT be put into words!! I will never stop singing the praises of THE COALITION TO SALUTE AMERICA'S HEROES!! Thank you for all you do to help those who put their life on the line to protect our freedom!!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

November 28, 2012

more

November 28, 2012

I don't know everything there is to know about Coalition to Support America's Heroes, but I do know they have been a great help to my family. My Partner is a Combat Vet. They repaired his vehicle for free, would've cost $2500. They also sent money for Thanksgiving & Christmas. We are in a financial slump right now so this charity has been such a blessing to us. Again, I don't know the ins and outs of how they operate, but we are grateful for their work.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 28, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
November 28, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I am a disabled vet. About a year ago I fell into unexpected financial hardships. My truck was DEAD and i had no idea what i was going to do or how i was going to go to work every day. The coalition to salute americas heroes helped me pay for needed repairs on my vehicle, allowing me to continue living my life w/out having to stress about logistics. I am still pleasantly surprised at the speed of which my "claim" was processed, and by the help i received from the representatives i spoke to over the phone . 2 days after i contacted the coalition to salute americas heroes, my truck was back on the road and I was back to work. Thanks again guys. You truly made a difference in my life, for which I am very thankful.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 10, 2012
7 people found this review helpful

more

October 10, 2012
7 people found this review helpful

If you think that this 1 organization is a scam I can give you the names of several more. The biggest problem in this country right now is the fact that senior citizens are preyed upon by these people and when they give, they get more responses to give more. I have a family member in an AFC with dementia who prior to living there wrote literally thousands of dollars worth of checks to these kinds of 'charities.' She practically blew through her savings and was basically told by the USPS in her town that she had to figure something else with her mail because the volume of mail was so overwhelming they couldn't put it in her PO box. When I changed her address she continues to get mail, albeit not the volume she was receiving. When I checked in to this I found out that there are lists of names out there being sold on the open market for a price. I just want someone to tell me how we can stop this. Thanks for the time.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 8, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
October 8, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

I have tried repeatedly (mailing back 14 requests so far) to have my mothers name removed from this organizations solicitation list. So far each request has been ignored and we keep getting expensive packets (color photos, cash, self-addressed stamped envelopes). These materials obviously cost a fortune to send, but even after repeated prompting "no one is home" at this apparently less-than-efficient charity "front." We feel it is unethical to continue to send materials after being repeatedly asked to be removed from the list. It is my feeling that the Coalition should spend more money on our servicemen and less on mailing me information that goes directly into the trash. I would not recommend this fly-by-night organization to anyone.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

No

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 2, 2012
11 people found this review helpful

more

September 2, 2012
11 people found this review helpful

I have just received at least my fifth request for a donation from this charity, mailed under the aegis of Maj. Gen. John K. Singlaub, and including as usual a $1 bill. I have repeatedly asked them to remove my name from their mailing list, to no avail. I am a relatively low-income retiree, have been giving more than I can afford to worthy causes for years, and simply cannot afford to add yet another. I also object strongly to the dollar bill inclusion as a blatant use of "moral force" to try to coerce a reply, return of their cash plus a healthy contribution! I would add that I'm concerned they may be taking in an undue amount of money because they are playing on the public's sympathy for veterans, and this is a powerful draw.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

repeated and unwanted mailings requesting donations, with no response to my requests to take me off their mailing list. Having just checked your lower-third rating I'm beginning to consider them as pretty close to a scam.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

eliminate it or see that at least 75% of their intake goes directly to the veterans they claim to serve. I would also want them to stop sending cash with their fund requests.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

How did you learn about this organization?

unsolicited direct mailing

August 10, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
August 10, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

Mr. Chapin, ex-President of this "charity", is under indictment in the Help Hospitalized Veterans case & if convicted belongs in jail. General Singlaub, who is paid to allow his name to be used as front-man for this "charity", deserves to be publicly outed to the military families used as bait to enrich the founders of this despicable get-rich-quick scheme.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unlikely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 16, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
July 16, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

After reviewing mailings sent to my elderly mother from this organization, I cannot believe the depths to which they stoop to further their scam. If there is a report, review or news article that is positive towards this group I haven't been able to find it. Perhaps the comment in a Congressional hearing from the Coalition to Salute Americas Heroes founder that "they would go out of business" if the public knew the truth about their organization speaks volumes about this operation and their tactics.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers